Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Lovely staff, very comfortable, game drives good and good very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious and Functional

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: The Facilities were great the eating area near the animals was incredible. Coffee and tea in the room was welcome.
Cons: The early morning safaris were cold. Blankets would have been welcome as well as some hot tea or coffee.
Location: Sun city was a good excursion.
We had a great time. The Staff was friendly, the rooms were spacious, the facilities were great and the food was delicious. Could not fault it at all. A memorable holiday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2018 by Monicad, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review on your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate all feedback received from our esteemed guests. Please accept my apologies that there were no blankets on the Game Drive. Our Head Ranger will be addressing this with all Rangers as all trucks have blankets as a standard. They also serve Tea and Coffee on the mid way stop. I am pleased that you were able to receive such amazing service from our staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung soon. Warm regards Monica da Encarnacao Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great authentic experience

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Be sure to book the dinners and safaris in advance because they book up
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by Monicad, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I am pleased to see that you were able to have such a wonderful experience with us in the tranquility of the bush and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung soon. Warm regards Monica da Encarnacao Guest Relations Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sf

Least accommodating hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2017
This hotel experience was terrible. Upon check-in, the staff was rude and not accommodating of my reservation I had made in advance demanding I pay even more than already paid online. They then tried to trick me into switching to a far lass nice room when I did not agree to the additional charge. On top of that, the room was dingy, the food was gross, and when I came back from dinner there was a bat in my room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Monicad, Hotel Management
Dear Kylie, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent experience with us. I would like to apologize for the manner in which your check-in was handled. It is unfortunate that our policies do not allow for more than 2 Adults in a room. We will be re-iterating this policy with all our staff members to ensure the above situation does not occur again. The Management team handling your complaint were merely following procedure; however I do apologize if they came across as being rude. I will be addressing the matter with them personally. Being out in the bush we do unfortunately encounter instances where the animals find their way into rooms. I understand your sentiments in not wanting to return however, we do hope that you are able to afford us another opportunity to experience Bakubung at it's best. Warm regards Monica da Encarnacao Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Quiet bush retreat

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Had difficulty finding the lodge.sign post from main road was non existent and was not prompted by GPS. Accomadation was excellent.Food was excellent and grounds and pool were well kept.Game drives were average and Boma meal was just adequate and not as good as lodge. In fact it made for a long night. Staff were helpful and pleasant and TV service was excellent making for a relaxing and pleasant experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Monicad, Hotel Management
Dear mike, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We truly appreciate all feedback received from our esteemed guests. I do apologize for the fact that you did not thoroughly enjoy our Boma evening, I will be sharing your comments with our Executive Chef for further investigation. Your comment regarding the signage has been noted and we will address that as a matter of urgency. Thank you once again for your feedback. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung soon. Warm regards Monica da Encarnacao Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2017
The most amazing experience in the most amazing accommodations EVER!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Monicad, Hotel Management
Dear Jamey, Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review on your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate all feedback received. I am delighted to see that you were able to have such a wonderful time with us in the tranquility of the bush and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung soon. Warm regards Monica da Encarnacao Guest Relations Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awefull smell

Posted Oct 18, 2017
The staff were great, unfortunately I did not experience a good stay. The smell of raw sewage was overwhelming at meals near the restaurant. Construction started very early around 06:30/07:00 am right next to our room with loud equipment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Monicad, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Expedia. Please accept my sincere apologies for the sewerage smell as well as the noise from the construction. Unfortunately we experienced a burst pipe during your stay with us. I do hope that you are able to provide us with another opportunity to experience Bakubung at its best in the near future. Warm regards Monica da Encarnacao Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by Joanna

Fabulous family safari

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous family safari! Incredible animal sightings rob- we really enjoyed ourselves.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017
Dear Joanna, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. I am delighted to see that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and that you had wonderful animal sightings. We ll look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung soon. Warm regards Monica da Encarnacao Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by Wonderful family holiday from North West

Lovely Bakubung family stay

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
A great return to Bakubung after two years. Great booking and rates, wonderful property, great staff, fresh and delightful food, wonderful Pilanesberg game drive, and beautiful animal viewing front foyer.. thanks Team Bakubung. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017
Dear Wonderful family holiday, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We truly appreciate all feedback received. I am pleased to hear that you were able to have such a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed our amazing food. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung soon. Warm regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Amazing Safari experience!

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Wonderful Hotel, wonderful stay, will recommend to all. We were a big group and we were taken care of right away! Food was covered with great hospitality. Room service was excellent, everything was perfect! Their safari was alao truly asventurous. We saw all big 5 on the 1st safari itself! Definately recommend this hotel to all!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Monica, Hotel Management
Dear Dhru, Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing experience with us. I am delighted to see that you were able to have such a wonderful time with us and that you were lucky enough to see all Big 5 on your first game drive. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung soon. Warm regards Monica da Encarnacao Guest Relations Manager