Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Italy

Games, room for improvement

Posted May 7, 2017
The problem was our Game Guide (Adolph). Average driver, unable to allow us time for photos, poor (unexisting) tracker. We saw interesting animals thanks to other Guides calling him. Apparently no commitment... Wrong day or wrong job?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Amazing luxury. Stunning location

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Wonder full peaceful place. Staff and service excellent and friendly. Classy room. Beautiful outside shower
5 out of 5
by Harold

Superb in every respect.

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderfull.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Beautiful hotel in Pilansberg

Posted Jan 17, 2017
We had an awesome time at Shepherds Tree, the staff were so friendly and our guide for the game drives was very knowledgeable. The meals and facilities were every thing we needed and wanted.
5 out of 5
by Chris

Spectacular Game Lodge

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Staff excellent and cuisine truly wonderful.... As good as any 5 star hotel in the world which is staggering considering location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Game Lodge

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here based previous reviews, Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge is more expensive than many other lodges, but for us this was a once in a lifetime trip, so we decided to go the extra mile. We didn't regret that decision at all. From arrival to departure, all the staff were totally committed to ensuring we had a perfect stay. The all-inclusive food was of superb quality, although three wonderful courses for breakfast, dinner and supper can lead to a little overeating!. The bedroom was of very high quality, with a massive, very comfortable bed. We had room 1 which is nearest the lodge itself, but still feels totally isolated. Some of the lodges are further away, but a buggy is always available if you don't want to walk. The game drives were great, we were fortunate there were only 4 of us in our vehicle, so we were able to take full advantage of the ranger's knowledge. We only went on two drives (evening and morning), but still saw a wide variety of wildlife. As 'newbies' to game drives, we didn't know what to expect. We went at the end of November, when the temperature was in the low 30s (Celcius) during the day. The advice was to bring warm clothing, which seemed a little strange, but we hadn't appreciated the cooling effect of being driven at 30 to 40 kph in a totally open vehicle. Early morning, and late evening, some additional layers were required. We didn't bring any 'special' clothes or repellent, neither were needed.
5 out of 5
by Joanna from Johannesburg

Exceeded our expectation!

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Shepherd's Tree Game Lodge exceeded all our expectations! We truly loved the experience and my children (10 & 9) have asked when we are next going back. The lodge itself is beautifully appointed, the décor refined and very appealing. The staff are attentive and friendly and the standout for us was the excellent cuisine. Chef Hennie, a true master of his craft, impressed us daily with the delights coming from the kitchen. The children menu was spot on encompassing all the things that kids love. The game drives were excellent - although mornings are very cold in winter - but it was exciting and we had excellent viewing, most notably a wonderful leopard sighting. We look forward to planning our next trip to Shepherd's Tree.
5 out of 5
by Nick from NYC

First time safari

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
First time safari and chose Sheoherds Tree based on size and location. We're more than pleased as staff was very accommodating and game viewing Was amazing..
4 out of 5
by Kevin from New York

Great experience

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great for couples wanting to relax and connect with nature. There are two safari runs each day: early in morning around 5am and one in the afternoon around 4pm. Each run can be approx 3hrs. This is nature so each run is unpredictable in terms of what you'll see. We were lucky enough to have a lion pride walk across our path but that's not always going to be the case. The accommodations were great but be prepared to deal with ants and other mini bugs in your room. Remember you're on a game reserve. The outdoor shower was amazing and the overall views were breathtaking. No TV's in the room and the wifi can be spotty but was told it was being upgraded so maybe it'll improved by time you read this review. Finally, have cash handy to tip.
5 out of 5
by Marshall from Boston

Bush Luxury

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great Safari Lodge. No issues with our stay