Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, relaxing and extremely accommodating

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The best part was that you started and ended your day within the park.
We loved our stay at Tshukudu. The staff was amazing and accommodating; we barely had to think of anything while we were there. Your field guide gives you a wake up call to ensure you are never late to a game drive and off you go to see some amazing creatures. The field guides are extremely knowledgeable about the area, all animals and birds and the hotel. If there is something they can't answer, they will research and get back to you by the next meal or drive. The hotel is small, quiet and relaxing. From your private villa's balcony you see many different types of wildlife - the location couldn't be better within the park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
A fantastic and secluded place to stay that lets you be at once with the outdoors and animals. Staff and guides were amazing, we had close encounters with animals and the room was perfect to spend time in and relax. Food was superb, would definitely recommend the place and would love to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales, UK

Escape to the bush

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: Beautiful views, comfortable accommodation and generous hospitality
Cons: While they offer wifi, don't be mislead. It's very slow and patchy. And there are only 2 plug points in the rooms. One of which wasn't working
Location: The Pilansberg reserve is beautiful and the game drives were wonderful
Tshukudu Bush Lodge is beautifully situated and luxurious.
5 out of 5
by Paul from Gentofte

Very fine lodge

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
THE moment we steped in THE lodge area, we felt so much Welcome. THE lodge and THE surrounding area was more than great, we especially Like that this lodge only accomondate (I Think) 12 cabins which made it so private and you Got to meet THE other guests. THE food was very good not to mentions THE guides, which was very informative and helpful in Any matter. THE only thing I miss, was a better wriiten Direction in how to get there by car. We did get lost a few times, as THE car rental Company was out of gps. So a better direction with a better Map, would have done a Big different, as instead of taking 2 1/2 hours from Johannesburg it tooks us almost 4 1/2 hours. I would love to come back to this lodge at any time.
5 out of 5
by Patrick from Los Angeles

Zebras, Lions, and Elephants in your backyard

Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
We LOVED it!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Fantastic memories of Tshukudu Lodge

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Everything
We stayed at the Lodge in December 2014 for 2 nights. What an amazing experience. The game drives were fantastic. Our guide Shawn was very good and we were lucky enough to see Lions , Elephants, Giraffe, Leopards and Jackals. I cant recommend the game drives enough. The rooms were lovely and the service was good. Loved that all the drinks in the mini bar are free. Highly recommend Tshukudu and will treasure our memories from our time there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lacking service + too expensive

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
Considering the price and comparing it to other lodges I have stayed, the service provided was absolutely substandard. The guides were nice, the lodge staff never smiled (actually they rather frowned) which made one uneasy whenever asking for something. The food was the worst I have had in South Africa. Don't get me wrong - it was edible/ok, but far below any food I had in restaurants all across South Africa. Even the breakfast was cheap. It is the most beautiful lodge with a great view in the park, but I would spend my money going somewhere else. The guide made some strange decisions and, among other things, took us to a horrible parking lot for sundowners instead of suggesting that maybe we go back to the lodge for sundowners, providing us with a nicer view and more time to prepare for dinner. All in all a disappointment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from baildon, UK

Excellent bush lodge overlooking plain and waterho

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Beautiful location. Excellent rooms. Great staff.
Location: LocTed on a ridge looking over a waterhole and plain. Gold courses, casino and restaurants in Sun City about 20 minutes away
A truly wonderful experience from start to finish. Beautiful location, superb service and unforgettable game drives. Luke, our ranger, made sure that he passed on his passion for the wildlife in the park and was also a superb host along with Shawn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Still open until 2015 - renovations on hold

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: There are only a few cottages so we felt so spoilt on our honeymoon! The game drives were awesome thanks to Shawns knowledge and 18 yrs experience
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beautiful national park
Don't miss this beautiful hotel in your next trip to South Africa. Shawn looks after her guests like we are old friends with old world charm! The food, accommodation and game drives were amazing!
5 out of 5
by Mike

Excellent stay, the people made the difference

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels
Great lodge, excellent staff. Evan, Joy, did a fantastic job.