Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales, UK

Escape to the bush

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: Beautiful views, comfortable accommodation and generous hospitality
Cons: While they offer wifi, don't be mislead. It's very slow and patchy. And there are only 2 plug points in the rooms. One of which wasn't working
Location: The Pilansberg reserve is beautiful and the game drives were wonderful
Tshukudu Bush Lodge is beautifully situated and luxurious.
5 out of 5
by Paul from Gentofte

Very fine lodge

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
THE moment we steped in THE lodge area, we felt so much Welcome. THE lodge and THE surrounding area was more than great, we especially Like that this lodge only accomondate (I Think) 12 cabins which made it so private and you Got to meet THE other guests. THE food was very good not to mentions THE guides, which was very informative and helpful in Any matter. THE only thing I miss, was a better wriiten Direction in how to get there by car. We did get lost a few times, as THE car rental Company was out of gps. So a better direction with a better Map, would have done a Big different, as instead of taking 2 1/2 hours from Johannesburg it tooks us almost 4 1/2 hours. I would love to come back to this lodge at any time.
5 out of 5
by Patrick from Los Angeles

Zebras, Lions, and Elephants in your backyard

Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
We LOVED it!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Fantastic memories of Tshukudu Lodge

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Everything
We stayed at the Lodge in December 2014 for 2 nights. What an amazing experience. The game drives were fantastic. Our guide Shawn was very good and we were lucky enough to see Lions , Elephants, Giraffe, Leopards and Jackals. I cant recommend the game drives enough. The rooms were lovely and the service was good. Loved that all the drinks in the mini bar are free. Highly recommend Tshukudu and will treasure our memories from our time there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lacking service + too expensive

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
Considering the price and comparing it to other lodges I have stayed, the service provided was absolutely substandard. The guides were nice, the lodge staff never smiled (actually they rather frowned) which made one uneasy whenever asking for something. The food was the worst I have had in South Africa. Don't get me wrong - it was edible/ok, but far below any food I had in restaurants all across South Africa. Even the breakfast was cheap. It is the most beautiful lodge with a great view in the park, but I would spend my money going somewhere else. The guide made some strange decisions and, among other things, took us to a horrible parking lot for sundowners instead of suggesting that maybe we go back to the lodge for sundowners, providing us with a nicer view and more time to prepare for dinner. All in all a disappointment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from baildon, UK

Excellent bush lodge overlooking plain and waterho

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Beautiful location. Excellent rooms. Great staff.
Location: LocTed on a ridge looking over a waterhole and plain. Gold courses, casino and restaurants in Sun City about 20 minutes away
A truly wonderful experience from start to finish. Beautiful location, superb service and unforgettable game drives. Luke, our ranger, made sure that he passed on his passion for the wildlife in the park and was also a superb host along with Shawn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Still open until 2015 - renovations on hold

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: There are only a few cottages so we felt so spoilt on our honeymoon! The game drives were awesome thanks to Shawns knowledge and 18 yrs experience
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beautiful national park
Don't miss this beautiful hotel in your next trip to South Africa. Shawn looks after her guests like we are old friends with old world charm! The food, accommodation and game drives were amazing!
5 out of 5
by Mike

Excellent stay, the people made the difference

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels
Great lodge, excellent staff. Evan, Joy, did a fantastic job.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Safari

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Our 3rd visit, and it was just a special as before. Fantastic game drives and a very special place to experience Africa.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Florida, USA

Great African Safari Experience

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: Great view, excellent service, intimate
Cons: Nothing
We visited the lodge in early October with our 21-year-old son. The lodge sits on a hill overlooking a valley and a waterhole. The atmosphere is luxuriously wild and intimate. There are six guest cottages, a nice veranda, a fire pit area and a swimming pool. The view is spectacular. We saw 50 to 80 wild animals in the valley below the lodge at any given time. Impala, zebra, wildebeest, giraffe, kudu, chimpanzee and others were seen. The routine at the lodge is to get up at dawn have a cup of coffee and then go on a game drive. Ralf did a fantastic job of showing us all kinds of animals on the game drives. We saw lions, rhinos, chimpanzee, giraffe, crocodile, hippos, birds, impala, kudu, and many more. They serve you a great breakfast after the morning drive. The mid day is free for reading swimming or lounging. The evening game drive is cool because you get to see lots of animals after dark. The food, drink and hospitality at the lodge is first rate. If I go back, I plan to arrive in time for the evening game drive, probably spend two nights and might even bring a large party to rent the whole place. There is no where to exercise except going up and down the stairs. Overall a spectacular place that is highly recommended.