Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

secluded and remote

Posted Aug 31, 2016
The hotel is good, it has the basic amenities required, food, shower and a bed. The staff are helpful, particularly the night staff. The main issue is that it is very remote and you need to hire a car . But if like me your not an experienced driver you may find it daunting. You will need to hire a taxi and pay a high price to do just that. If you are looking to rest and stay away from the touristic side of Italy then I recommend it. If you want a place close to all the tourist sites Amalfi, Sorrento then it is a little too far away for that. The menu at the hotel could be improved to offer more variety and breakfast could be a bit less starchy.
5 out of 5
by Yaron from Binyamina, Israel

a well located nice hotel with great views

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay at Sant'Angelo Resort & Spa was very pleasant. We are a family of 5, and although we ordered a single quadruple room with an extra bed, the hotel was kind enough to give us 2 rooms for the entire duration, which was much more convenient. The rooms were nice and clean, with a beautiful view from the balconies. The hotel itself, and especially the gardens, look very nice and well maintained. The kids just loved the swimming pool. The hotel is very well located for touring the area (we paid visits to Mt. Vesuvius, Pompei, Amalfi, Sorrento, Capri) The reception stuff were helpful and gave us good tips for our Capri visit. The only disadvantage I can think of is that the hotel is located in Piemonte which is a little village a few kilometers uphill from the main roads, meaning that without a rented car it is very difficult to get in and out of the hotel, and even with a car it takes ~20 minutes to get to the starting point of most tours.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Benidorm

This Hotel should not have a 4* rating

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: The public areas of the hotel are nicely kept. But no information or directional signs to help locate the facilities.
Cons: Everything Better rooms This is advertised as a Spa Hotel, the Spa is only open by appointment and took us 4 days to find no signage anywhere.
Location: The location is right up in the mountains and a car is a necessity. It is also by no means quiet with dogs barking and fireworks all night.
We actually paid extra to have a "Superior Double Room" On being given our key and taking one look at the room which had paint flaking both in the bedroom and bathroom area, a mirror actually being held in place by sticky tape, no tea or coffee making facilities but a fridge was available. The so called double bed was actually just two single beds pushed together with a large sheet over. It was painfully obvious that this was NO superior room, on asking about 4 different members of staff if it was which they all said yes to, a phone call was made to Expedia who got us moved to a different room but was not a lot better, just on the other side of the hotel with a distant sea view. Although there was a average size terrace off the room there were no table or chairs provided to actually sit out there......on request they provided facilities for one. 2 plastic glasses were provided (but never changed during the whole 10 night stay). No shower gel was provided for the entire stay, only one shower cap (booked for 2). Not a single picture in the rooms but wall hooks where they obviously should have been. Not a single bit of information about the hotel, ie no list of meal times and absolutely no tourist information on the area to be found in the entire hotel which was very strange. Even a Gideons Bible would have been something! Food - The breakfast menu did not change in the entire 10 days, bread, ham and cheese with a few bit of fruit, no toaster to toast the bread.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the price not close to the beach

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Nice clean hotel Very good value Small uncomfortable beds Hotel is on a very noisy road Breakfast is included but limited items Free parking , you will need a car to get anywhere , this hotel is a good base if you want to drive to different locations 40 minutes to the closest beach. Very nice staff .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston

Beautiful views over the Bay of Naples

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Quiet and peaceful
Cons: Poolside snack bar, outside dining
Location: Good access via motorway to Amalfi, Sorrento, Naples and Pompeii, once out of the villages
Well away from the noise and activities of Naples. Quiet and restful. Staff very helpful and polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Inspiring views of Vesuvius

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff; location and easy, short journey time to different places in the area, good facilities, GREAT views of Vesuvius.
Location: Amalfi coast (we ate out in Furore) with Amalfi and Positano in relatively easy reach, Pompei and Vesuvius visits.
We stayed 2 nights visiting Pompei and the Amalfi coast. The Sant Angelo hotel and spa is perfecty placed to visit both, with the hotel situated 30 minutes by car from each. The room we had was a good size for a family of 4 with amazing direct views of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. It was quiet and restful, with swimming pool and good aircon to help escape the heat. Staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay memorable and made a very good recommendation for a place to eat out on our last night.
3 out of 5
by John

So So Hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was very nice, but the staff was unhelpful and often surly. Wifi was spotty, the breakfast was not very good, the beds were uncomfortable. The hotel is out of the way of everything, but fine if you have a car to get places.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

How is this hotel 4 star? Come on

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Only stay here if you are renting a car. Otherwise you are basically stranded in the middle of nowhere as Pimonte is a dying town. The public buses are so unreliable and never turn up or are hours late that every day we walked over an hour to Agerolla as the walks from here along the coast are good and the buses actually run here because people actually want to visit this town. The breakfast was really rubbish. The WiFi was really good and the room was big and the bathroom was nice with a big bath and separate shower. These are the only good points. The staff were unhelpful, and we spoke Italian well and they are still unhelpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from London

Nice hotel, a bit out of the way but quiet & clean

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Our stay was very pleasant, we only used the hotel as a base to go to other areas. It was clean and relatively comfortable although the bed was a little too hard. If you are thinking about staying here a hire car would be a good idea. Even though there are quite good bus links going to various places that stop outside the hotel, a lot of our time was taken up by travelling on public transport. If you are going to use public transport you must buy a ticket from reception before you attempt to board. The hotel has one feature above all else that was much appreciated and that was a man named Antonio. He works for the hotel and on a number of occasions came quite out of the way to pick us up when we had missed the last buses/trains.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2012 on Hotels