Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Trevor

Traditional style rooms, great food.

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
For a taste to what living in old China may have been like, this hotel is a good start. The rooms are in original buildings and reflect the ancient age of the place. Traditional, not a modern five star, soulless hotel. Food is exceptional. The same chef has been in residence for 13 years and the meals were first class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing

Excellent Boutique Hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2017
My family and I (2 adults, 3 children) stayed one night in a family suite, which we found to be very spacious and comfortable. Nice historic property. Hotel staff were very friendly and some spoke English. We enjoyed one Chinese style dinner and one Western style Breakfast, both very good.
5 out of 5
by Frederick

Authentical historical hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is amazing. A very well preserved authentic historical building. The services is top notch. The food at the restaurant is very good too, so we had dinner here on two nights. My only complain is that the wifi is slow at night when all the guests are back at the hotel and using the bandwidth.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
Very different and quaint , tiny rooms and v basic bathroom nice restaurant helpful staff v good english spoken
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Charming, great atmosphere

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Charming, great atmosphere. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Westerners should be prepared for small bathrooms with just ok showers. Good restaurant on site. Perfect for 1-2 night stay in Pingyao
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Traditional courtyard house - a step into the past

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: The Yide is in the old walled city of Pingyao. You can explore the whole area on foot. You buy a ticket which gives you entry to many small museums.
There are twenty odd rooms set around various courtyards. The traditional courtyard setting offers a unique experience where you feel you have stepped into the past. In our room, a large 'kang' style bed took up most of the space and the rest of the furniture was also traditional - an unforgettable experience. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The restaurant serves good food.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Bristol

Real China..........

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great placer to stay in Pingyao. Very historic and authentic Chinese courtyard conversion. Closest to the real china we had hoped to see. Exceptional staff and very good catering
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel!

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Authenticity - architecture, experience Staff Location Cleanliness
Cons: Nothing
Location: Good location. Close to everything. We loved wandering the streets off the main drags. The tiny Catholic church is charming - a pink ceiling!
The Yide is one of the most wonderful hotels we have stayed at in our travels throughout China. The location is just right - off the beaten path, but close enough to the action. The staff was amazing - cordial and warm, attentive to our needs and pro-active in helping us with our plans. The room was clean, spacious and authentically China. We especially loved the kang bed. We would highly recommend the Yide.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A traditional experience of what a wealthy family

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: The old traditional style of the buildings and rooms.
Very old style but clean and neat. Staff all spoke relatively good English and were very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Friendly, helpful. Historic building, great area, good restaurant too