Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from N.Carolina

"Resort" is misleading

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Clean, quiet, plenty of activities both in the hotel and on the State Park grounds.
Cons: Updating room decor, food quality, bar service.
Location: Plenty to do on the Park grounds -- golf, swimming, trails, horseback riding, archery, nature center, fishing...Surrounding areas don't contribute.
This State Park is full of fun things to do, well-maintained. The McKeever Lodge was comfortable but in need of updating; since the Park is miles from any urban area, visitors are without options for dining/snacking. We found the food to be only fair and wished we had brought some snacks/drinks with us as we couldn't easily obtain either when we arrived.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belmont, MA

Great place for families!

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: The spaciousness of the rooms and the helpfulness of the hotel staff.
Location: The park resort is near the college town of Athens, WV (Concord University). There is also a Drive-In Movie Theater not far from the park.
I recently stayed at the Pipestem Resort Lodge with my 3 young grandchildren and teenage daughter. Our room was spacious (two queen beds and a roll-away) and comfortable. The kids were busy the entire weekend -- horseback riding, mini-golf, both the indoor pool and outdoor pool, and their favorite -- the tramway ride down and up the mountain. Pipestem is a beautiful park where the deer graze freely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from groveland,ma

awesome view

Posted Aug 4, 2015
We loved the place. It is like being at Grand Canyon except the view is mountains,brooks & sky. Great for a family.....many things to do, & dining inexpensive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Which lodge?

Posted Jul 6, 2015
There are two lodges, the one in the picture and the one at the bottom of the valley. A seven minute air tram ride to get to the bottom. Not the easiest for moving luggage in and out or coming back to room late.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: The large swimming pool was perfect. (heated!!!!)
Cons: I could hear the people in the room above me. That is one thing I did not like.
Location: visit family and friends
The hotel was nice and rustic. The price is what won me. I loved the idea that there is a swimming pool and fitness center in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wv

Was close to home but seemed far away

Posted Jan 23, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. Very nice indeed.would like to go back again sometime
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Time with family...priceless

Posted Oct 14, 2014
This a a great place to relax and enjoy your family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville NC

Quite tranquil

Posted Jul 14, 2014
We just loved the resort. It was beautiful, relaxing, quite. We will stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unfortunately this is not a hotel for elderly.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: There is a multitude of things to do.
Cons: Get rid of the steps which is impossible
Location: There is a lot of small old towns with original structures that are too be admired. It is one half an hour from the White Sulfur Springs.
This hotel is not for a person in a wheelchair. There are steps everywhere and very difficult for elderly to get around. We loved the tram ride down to the resturant, however accessing required a lot of steps and my husband requires oxygen so we had great difficulty. The view from our balcony was unbelievaby beautiful. Our first room was a view of the playground but the staff changed us after I told them I had requested a mountain view room. We loved our experience there but unfortunately we will not be able to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Renee from Charleston, WV

A Wonderful Resort Nestled on Rolling Mountains.

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Views were Spectacular!
Cons: Can't think of anything to add.
Location: Concord College, Bluestone Dam, Drive-in Theater,
Have stayed at Pipestem Resort about 4 times. A lot to do. We always go horseback riding (rates very reasonable) Indoor Pool & Outdoor Pool. My husband plays golf, loves the 2 courses. Really good home-cooked food in the Blue Ridge Dining Room. Rooms are clean & sufficient. Balcony views. Staff is excellent. Wildlife everywhere! Everything needed is right there. But if needed, Princeton & Athens is 20 minutes away. Overall experience was outstanding.