Ratings based on 1,244 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly Hotel close to the centre of Pisa

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, always willing to help
Cons: You won't get gyms, and swimming pools etc. here as the building location (and age) wouldn't allow it.
Location: Convenient location about 10 minutes walk from the Tower.
Friendly staff in a nice central Pisa location. Rooms are traditional and well maintained throughout your stay. The hotel is located in a resident only street so quiet, as not open to all traffic, although guests are allowed to drive on the street. The Hotel has reasonable Wifi, nice breakfast, and the breakfast area becomes a bar from 4pm until midnight. Hotel can also do laundry and t here is some parking. Prices were reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay in the heart of Pisa

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The staff were unusually helpful; in one case one of them loaned me his cell phone to call a US nuber so I could deal with a problem I was having with
The Hotel Bologna offers a very nice place to stay in Pisa. Walkable from Pisa Centrale, and a very short stroll from Corso Italia, Pisa's "main street" and pedestrian mall. I had business at the university and walked everywhere. The hotel has an unusually nice breakfast buffet with many choices and good quality. My only criticism is one of ventilation. My room had a window onto a light well, but Pisa was still warm and quite humid, so I could have used better ventilation (I couldn't get the A/C to work).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel in a good location.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Large modern bedroom, comfortable bed, very clean. Good location. Excellent breakfast. Nice lounge area, tastefully decorated.
Cons: The bathroom was a bit small, particularly the shower area. Quite expensive but then Pisa hotels seem to be.
Location: Close to train/shuttle to airport. Short walk into old town. Interesting gallery (Palazzo Blu) nearby. Only downside at times a bit noisy (bus route).
This a very good, comfortable hotel, in a good location (close to train station and the PisaMover to the airport, and a short walk across the river to the old town). We stayed 3 nights and would return, if the opportunity arises.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Room 211....again

Posted Sep 1, 2017
I have stayed in this hotel 5 times over the years and always seem to get room 211. Whilst the breakfast is great, the room always clean and the location of the hotel really good, the bathroom is like a small cupboard. The smallest ever shower and toilet space and I am not a small bloke so its a bit of a squeeze. The air conditioning also never works. Now, in March this not so much of a thing, but in August in 36 degree heat, it really is. Come on Expedia and Hotel Bologna, stop with the 211 thing! Returning at the end of September, please can i have a different/better room? 6th time lucky???
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Mutton dressed up as Lamp

Posted Aug 30, 2017
I'm not going to go in to all the details, but basically this is not a 4 star hotel. I left this hotel yesterday and I am now staying in a 3 star hotel and the 3 star is much much better. The website and all the photos are REALLY well done because when you get to the hotel it is no where near as good as how it presents online. But this does result in buyers remorse. Rude staff as well. Plus other stuff I won't go into. My best advice would be to try another hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel near the key attractions in Pisa

Posted Aug 25, 2017
This Hotel is a hidden Gem. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious. The furniture is not new but is clean and comfortable. The Hotel has parking, breakfast which is included is a self service buffet but is excellent for European standards. You can also have your breakfast in the inner courtyard. There is a Hotel to train/airport shuttle every half hour.. the Hotel is 15 minutes walk from the Leaning Tower of Pisa. Overall I liked this Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Breakfast was fantatic

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The breakfast buffet was worth the €18. There was fresh squeezed orange juice, delicious breads, bacon, eggs, pancakes, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Good location, pretty good hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Where it was.
Cons: The wifi. It frequently faded out.
Location: You can walk everywhere that you'd want to see.
The location was great. I walked to all the places I wanted to see. Eight minutes walk from the train station. The accomodations were good. The room was small but comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Maybe not Four Stars

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Staff, in the main friendly and helpful
Cons: Breakfast over priced at 12 euro per head. Guests should be asked if there were any problems during their stay. There may be points worthy of mention
Location: This hotel is well placed for centre, railway station ( for trips to Florence) and walking distance of main tourist attractions.
If you book through Expedia ( or any of the 'internet' companies) do you get one of the hotels 'lesser' rooms ? Our room was adequate but not, in my view worthy of four stars. Some rooms (see hotel website) have two huge windows, ours had one , in a corner of the room which overlooked a wall and the balcony ( we didn't have one) of an adjacent room- not good for privacy ! On arrival staff were friendly and helpful giving us the lowdown on restaurants etc. There was a well stocked mini bar in the room which, after you've seen prices elsewhere locally was not overpriced ( that'll be a first then) When we first walked into the room there was a strong smell of drains. Not unusual for the streets of Italy but you don't expect it in your hotel room. There was a 'plug in' air freshener in one of the sockets which would suggest a known problem. Aircon worked but lacked efficiency. We were disappointed not be asked on departure if we had found everything to our satisfaction as by our experience that's a pretty standard question to departing guests. So, a clean comfortable hotel which for us was easily three star but maybe not four.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Krakow, Poland

Nice,quiet hotel, good location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Small but clean bathrooms. Decent breakfast.