Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The location, comfort, staff, breakfast
Cons: Internet in the room
Location: You will need a car to get there. Volterra is very near.
Great location, very well maintained hotel with a breathtaking view. The location is great - in the middle of Tuscany, although you need a car to get there. It was easy to find the place and very easy to get to Volterra from it. There is a big covered parking lot, just a couple of steps from it is the reception of the hotel. We arrived much earlier then the check in time but the nice lady at the reception was very kind and organized the room for us. It was a pleasant surprise to stay in a spacious room, super comfy bed, big and comfortable bathroom. The decor was very tasteful, classy and yet topical for Tuscany. The breakfast was very good - cold cuts, cheese, yogurt, fruit juice and more. The only down side was the Internet in the rooms - non existing. However, the connection in and around the lobby was ok. There was a renovation of the swimming pool going so I assume in a month or so it will be functioning as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ocala, Fl

Great place to chill.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Hilltop perch with 360 views, friendly atmosphere and peace and quiet. Couldn't tell the AC was on.
Cons: I was too happy to notice.
Location: Volterra nearest attraction, 20 minutes. Bikes to borrow. We were there for the Bocelli concert 20 minutes. Roam the country roads. Vineyards nearby
We were two tired travelers when we arrived and found this hotel the perfect tonic. The views of the Tuscan farmlands were so beautiful. There is a short drive on a gravel road, then paved up to the hill top where the hotel perches with 360 views. You can see Volterra on its mountain twinkling at night and its a short drive to explore its medieval streets. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was a good European fare, fresh fruits, baked goods, yogurt, etc. The restaurant had a nice selection and tasty chianti.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Location - overlooking the Tuscany mountains. Friendly staff Swimming pool open until very late Restaurant food and wine selection Price
Cons: Some things not working - aircon in my room not working and fridge in my parent's room not working.
Location: Location is beautiful. Very quiet and relaxing. I recommend you rent a vespa and explore the region at least for a day in it. A great experience!
It's a nice place. We were in a group of 5 across 2 rooms. One room was the quadruple one, which was really nice, lots of windows, nice bed, lots of space. The other room was a double room and it was super small and crucially had no windows! So if you are a bit claustrophobic be careful with the room you choose. Other than this, the stay was really good, food is good and staff is nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tuscan hills

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Situation
Cons: Additional shady seating. Air conditioning should be activated by the external temperature and not (so said Reception) on 1 July and not before.
Location: Volterra pleasantly uncrowded compared to Sienna, Pisa and Florence, and only 10 minutes drive away
Beautiful setting with typical surroundings in Tuscan countryside with distant views of Volterra. Perhaps not enough shady places for guests to escape from the midday sun - the best place occupied by staff in their afternoon break!
5 out of 5
by Brooke

Amazing views, photos don't do it justice!

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was a great find. It's in the heart of Tuscany and has an infinity pool with panoramic views. It is a short driving distance from the historical town of Volterra. I loved our experience there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

25th Anniversay Italy Trip

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Cinque Terra and local beach communites.
Chose this hotel while visiting Cinque Terra. The hotel sits above in the hillside and is remote and pleasant. The owner has a wealth of knowledge of Cinque Terra and surrounding areas. Train station to Cinque Terra about 15 minutes and owner has great directions. Fresh egss from his chickens are served for breakfast at your request. Small local Italian restaurant located nearby. This location is quite and away from the hustle & bustle. Where the locals live.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location and atmosphere

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels
We loved the atmosphere, the staff was wonderful, the food was great, and it was close to the sights. Negatives were the spotty Wi-Fi only in the lobby and the bed, although far from unbearable, wasn't very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kiarna from Australia

Fantastic Value for money!

Posted Jul 11, 2013 on Hotels
This hotel surprised us on arrival and was worth much more than the small price they asked. It's a quite resort like hotel with stunning views and a lovely pool. It's in a remote location but if traveling by car it's no problem! recommended
3 out of 5
by beth

Location Remote, facilities poor

Posted Oct 17, 2012 on Hotels
Ideal place to relax and unwind. The setting is peaceful and remote with 360 degree views of beautiful rolling Tuscan hills. Car is essential as the nearest town is 10km. Food is average and there are no facilities not even a bar, with the rooms only average. Not ideal for anyone with mobility problems, and do not consider unless you are a cat lover as they seem to have Access All Area's passes. However the staff are friendly and overall 3/5