Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chandrabhanu from Melbourne, australia

Fantastic hotel

Posted May 3, 2012
Pros: Character and position
Location: Right where you arrive in Volterra and close to the Piazza del Priori
The hotel is so close to the bus stop and the car park, which makes it easier for you to get to with your luggage. It is also literally next door to the Piazza del Priori and the Etruscan Metropolis, which I can see from my window on the 4th. Floor. The staff was very pleasing and helpful without too much fuss. Check- in was over within 2 minutes. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere, and also some history. The English writer D. H. Lawrence stayed here when he was visiting all the Etruscan sites in 1927. The hotel is walking distance to all the main attractions in Volterra, and there so many wonderful restaurants nearby serving typical Tuscan cuisine. Had a really wonderful stay in Volterra.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Great location, reasonably priced with wi-fi and breakfast included.

Posted Jun 17, 2011
This hotel is in a great location in the centre of Volterra. We went there for a wedding and the hotel was 2 minutes walk from the Volterra Town Hall. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and reasonably priced with wi-fi and breakfast included. One negative we found were the towels provided were quite thin, so if you have luggage space take your own towels with you!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Great location

Posted May 17, 2011
Great location and easy access to shopping and restaurants. Hotel is comfortable although beds are very hard and tile floors are cold and amplify noise. Breakfast is good with plenty of room. Stayed there twice now and would go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Great location

Posted Nov 8, 2010 on Hotels
This was our 2nd time to stay in this hotel. The hotel was fine, room was fine. Buffet breakfast wasn't great but we came back to this place as the location is brilliant, right beside the main square. The highlight was definitely the stunning view from the balcony of our room. Great value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anonymous

great location

Posted May 11, 2010 on Orbitz
You have to pay for parking, but the underground parking lot is close to the hotel. The hotel does have an elevator and a restaurant. There is also a good restaurant next to the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2009 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Very Disappointed

Posted Sep 4, 2009 on Hotels
It was nothing like I had expected...I was like a hostel with its own private bathroom. The only great thing about it was the location
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great if you speak Italian - but still good

Posted Jun 20, 2009
This is a nice, convenient, and comfy hotel right at the entrance to Volterra. The included breakfast was generous in its choices and delicious. The staff was curteous but spoke little English -that's not actually a complaint. The bus stop is a few hundred feet away. Most rooms have pleasant balconies.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Niguel, CA

Just Kind of a Bummer

Posted Dec 6, 2008
Let me start out by saying this hotel was clean, the bed was comfortable, and it is right next to the main parking lot and bus station for Volterra which was very nice. Also, I think it's important to say that I did just come from the beautiful Hotel Maitani in Orvieto. But there was something about this place that just bummed me out. The staff was not very helpful or friendly, the breakfast was kind of gross, and there was this unidentifiable noise that wasn't the elevator but sounded just like it always going on. I'm sure other people would like this place, but I just wasn't feeling it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Västerås

Fin utsikt

Posted Jul 21, 2008 on Hotels
När man sitter på balkongen och tittar ut över landskapet så känns det helt rätt. Hoteller ligger innaför stadsmuren så när man kliver ut genom dörren så är man där. Två dar i Voltera är nästan en för mycket men om man tar en tur runt i landskapet så är det ok. En flaska vin och se solnedgången från 4:e våningen samt detta lanskap är helt ok