Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

October in this hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Staff were pleasant and helpful
Cons: The Pool was closed which was rather disapppoiting
Location: Its very well located with several restaurants and cafes in walking distance.
Room and facilities ok, bar a tad expensive but the same the world over.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Not a true 4* Hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Gardens were nice, plenty of seating areas and it was nice that it had table tennis and football table, albeit only 1 of each !
Cons: The decor and the swimming pool
Not sure why this hotel is rated as a 4*, because it is very dated & is well overdue and in need for having a makeover in more ays than 1 (decor & furniture are very drab) Although the swimming pool is a great size, the rules that everyone has to wear a swim hat, that you either have to purchase or have with you isn't very inviting to say the least. The staff who managed the pool were not very friendly, a little abrupt to say the least and generally didn't make your time spent around the pool very enjoyable. Too many rules, can't jump in the pool, can't play any games, had swim lanes for people who just wanted to swim lengths, so for any children this wasn't a fun area to be in which in my opinion is what a family goes on holiday for to be able to spend family time together in water - a bit of a kill joy and disappointment. Also be warned that this hotel allows pets to stay, now I love animals but I don't love or appreciate small dogs that continually yap. Luckily we were only staying a couple of days so we just put up with it ! Because we only stayed a couple of days we didn't have time to use the main restaurant so only used the main eating area for breakfast. Food was generally ok, not an overall amount of choice, but would not rate as being 4* quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

excellent location

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Well situated, close to Pisa, Livorno, Lucca, Florence and very short distance from the sea.
Cons: Nothing
Location: See above
Very close to the sea, olympic size swimming pool, pleasant reception, bar, garden.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto canada

Close to many restaurants and the old town

Posted Sep 18, 2016
I spent 1 week there hotel is placed in a nice area parking is underground good restaurants are minutes away on foot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location and pool, but requires investment

Posted Aug 23, 2016
My family have stayed at this hotel on more than 6 occasions. The hotel has gradually deteriorated in terms of decoration, customer experience and staff turnover. On this occasion our room was unfit for use because of poor maintenance within 2 hours of our visit. The receptionist was very helpful and moved us to another room but it was avoidable and embarrassing. Time for significant investment or we will not return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Nice private beach by the hotel, easy to get to Pisa!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Front desk staff was very helpful with all of our needs. Mario the bartender was amazing! Make sure to visit Ristorante Martini for the best local Italian cuisine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Great pool, OK hotel, Nice Beach

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: The pool is good and large enough to not feel crowded. lots of poolside loungers available. Good breakfast. Close to beach. Beach towels provided.
Cons: Beach lounger allocation per person would be better than per room. Tea/coffee making facility sorely missed after long day out touristing.
Location: Good for beach, also waterpark nearby - didn't try it though. Turn right out of entrance for cheapest local gelateri.
Stayed here for 5 nights as we wanted to combine beach holiday with city visits. Bus stop is 2 mins away, gets you to Pisa for 2 Euros. Trains easily booked for Florence & Siena - booking easy to do on machines at station (don't forget to validate your ticket at the platform machine as hefty fine if ticket is not stamped). 50m pool is clean and was never crowded - my swim keen kids loved it. Private beach section accessed via the pool is nice but lifeguard does tend to be a bit draconian in allocating loungers. It's two loungers + 1 umbrella per ROOM even if you have 4 people staying so beach towels needed for family to sit together. Also he picks the location. Breakfast was good variety of continental pastries, cakes(why?), rolls, fruit etc and there is plenty of it. Cooked side tends to be limited to scrambled egg plus warm bacon or sausage but a big fry up has less appeal for us in hot climates so never an issue. The local eateries are a bit limited in variety and tend to be expensive compared to central Pisa for example, but there is a great paninotec nearby which does fresh sandwiches made to order which is good value for money. Conad supermarket is 10 -15 lminutes along main road and is good for fresh Ciabatta and pasta salads if you like light lunches. Aircon worked OK but was a bit noisy. We had some noise disturbance from late night karoake bar in nearby group of shops so you might want to request room away from the main entrance or possibly higher up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

great beachside site

Posted Apr 13, 2016
easy access to the beach, and easy to find. (mostly) friendly staff, and (in season) the facilities are fab.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Excellent location. Huge facility and grounds.

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Beach access is incredible! Room was adequate but needs upgrading. Facility was once grand but is suffering from being understaffed and neglect. Found a great restaurant around the corner: Piropo.