Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convient and comfortable hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff and comfortable, large room.
Cons: Very little.
Location: Roman theater is a short walk away but was closed when we were there. The Duomo and Palazzo with a bell tower were interesting.
Located on a primary street about 2 blocks from the town center near the Roman theater. Attractive hotel which was convent and a school. Room was large and comfortable. A lot of traffic exits the adjacent city gate in the morning which can be a problem on a street side room if you sleep late. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff spoke English and answered all of our questions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Lovely hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Lovely hotel within the walls of this beautiful city. Staff was very accommodating. Free parking at base of the hill, with a number of stairs to climb up, so plan on the exercise! There are parking spaces for loading luggage just outside the gate. We had a room facing the street and had no problems with noise even with open windows, but it is off season.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent and reasonably priced hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Look no further: This is a wonderful small hotel in lovely Volterra. Room was spacious and the shower was the best we had in Tuscany! Continental breakfast and fine cappuccino included. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful (especially Jenny!). We would happily return to La Locanda. Highly recommended. (Note parking is permitted only outside city walls.)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good location small room though

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Receptionist very helpful, when we asked for wine glasses gave us bowl grapes and strawberries nice touch. Breakfast good. Great location within walls. free parking in public area but 230 steps. Had economy room very small. hairdryer not the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Orbitz
We have a beatiful rooom. The stuff was proactive and always ready to help you and even run the mile extra.
4 out of 5
by Jacqueline from California

Favorite hilltop town- Volterra

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff. Wonderful restaurant on the piazza.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
Booked through hotels.com but hotel did not have the booking. Disappointing as we wanted and booked a balcony room and there were none available.
5 out of 5
by Gregory from New York

Location, location, location

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels
Staff very accommodating and great breakfast. Fantastic location.
4 out of 5
by Ian from Canada

Great Location

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels
It's all about the location. Could not ask for better, inside the walls of the town. Parking was an issue, no free lot close to hotel and a very small pay lot at €18 per day nearby. Room was small and dated but clean and comfortable. No public areas and included breakfast was lousy. Staff was very friendly but not that helpful. Able to walk anywhere in minutes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels