Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Go for it

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Very nice, great location, and attentive staff. Within the city walls and easy to walk to anything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Hotel with parking

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Parking and location, and price seemed right.
Cons: Ice machine for coolers and a bigger shower.
This hotel is just inside the gate of the city but still in the ZTL zone so make sure to give hotel your cars plate number. I had one day reservation and added a extra day to see the town. Hotel is within a 15 min uphill walk to town center. I stayed because I had a car and needed to get rid of it a couple of days so this hotel worked fine for me. If coming from train station it's to far for me to walk. Breakfast was good, pool was fine and rooms a little smaller than I had hoped. If I go back with a car again I will stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good for couples

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Excellent stay made extremely pleasant by the very helpful staff and nice rooms and great breakfasts. I would recommend this to a friend. My only request would be for coffee making facilities in the room. Other than that it was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, friendly/helpful staff!

Posted May 13, 2013
Pros: staff, pool, location, parking
Hotel San Lino is the place to stay if traveling to Volterra! Great staff, comfortable rooms (some better than others), GREAT pool area- quiet & relaxing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location inside the walled city.

Posted Aug 2, 2012
Pros: Location & pool
Cons: Odor in bathroom, but if was fixed promptly.
Location: Perfect for walking everywhere
This hotel is located inside the Volterra town walls and is in a fantastic location to walk to everything. It is one of the few hotels that have a pool and air conditioning. Both were very appreciated due to the hot weather we had when we were there. The hotel and our room were very nice and well maintained. Our room was a good size for a hotel located in an ancient walled city. The hotel also has a very rare parking garage. The have limited spaces so you most reserve a spot ahead of time. One caution, the streets/lanes are not much wider than a golf cart path and should not be driven on by anyone but the most experienced confident driver and a small car. One complaint was we had a odd odor appear in our bathroom after our showers on the first morning. We mentioned it to the front desk on our way out for the day and she assured us if they could not take care of it they would move us to another room. It was not necessary, they had the issued cleared up before we returned that afternoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Parker from San Francisco Bay Area

Great hotel, great location, no complaints

Posted Jul 15, 2012
Pros: Nice pool, great location, cool to stay in converted monastery.
Cons: No complaints.
Location: Excellent location.
Great location, inside the wall. Converted monastery. Very nice place to stay. Wireless was not working in part of the hotel, staff was very helpful, they relocated us. Tech was out to fix the part that was down the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Vicenza, Italy

Great Location but parking not as it appears

Posted Aug 25, 2010
This is a quaint hotel inside the medieval walls of Volterra, Italy. Cannot beat the location, as far as I'm concerned. We were able to walk absolutely everywhere. It's a bit "run down" in the hallways of the hotel, but the room was comfortable for 2 adult women & made up for the hallways. Great air conditioning (a "must" in Tuscany in August). The pool area was very clean & exactly like the photograph. The staff was excessively friendly & helped us immensly. The only issue I had was that I chose this hotel based on the availability of a private parking garage. I have a LOT of experience traveling in Italy & understand the value of safe/good parking. The description of this hotel (both Expedia & its own web site) states it has a private parking garage. It does, but you have to call in advance to book a spot. This must be done SEPARATELY from booking the hotel. I was disappointed in this fact. That said, I will stay at this hotel again. Location is A+ & the staff is lovely. I'll just make sure to call in advance for that special parking spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rosenheim, Bayern

Super - idealer Städtereise-Ausgangspunkt

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Am schönsten war unser Zimmer mit Balkon/Terrasse oberhalb des Pool-Innenhofs: Ein eigener sonniger Rückzugsort, ruhig und mit toller Aussicht.
Location: Hotel liegt am Eingang zur Altstadt von Volterra. Ausflugsziele innerhalb einer Autostunde: San Giminiano, Siena, Florenz, Pisa, Cecina Mare uvm.
Haben im August 2016 dieses Hotel als Ausgangspunkt für unsere Toscana-Entdeckungsreise gewählt. Das Hotel ist familiär, der Service persönlich und in allen Fragen stets hilfsbereit, unser Zimmer war sauber und sehr schön. Der Pool ist schön und ruhig. Das Frühstücksbüffet beinhaltet alles, was man erwartet und bietet gute Qualität. Man kann auch im Restaurant zu Abend essen, wobei das Menü wirklich überzeugt hat. Das Hotel bietet außerdem einen eigenen Parkplatz. Bei Anreise mit dem Auto sollte man diesen gleich mitreservieren (Extrakosten!), da nur begrenzt Stellplätze zur Verfügung stehen und das Parken in Volterra sonst schnell kostspielig und kompliziert wird. Insgesamt ein sehr schöner Aufenthalt mit einem sehr guten Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Schönes Hotel in Altstadtnähe

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Gutes Frühstück, Kaffee in ausreichender Menge und gut!, unaufdringliches Personal, dass auch nicht lauthals mit Buffetaufräumen anfing, obwohl man noch am Essen war und auch sehr kulant mit der Zeit war! Topp!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rovigo

Gradevole, all'inizio del centro storico

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Camere con arredamento datato, bagno piccolo con aspiratore rumorosissimo e poco efficace, letto accettabile: pulizia buona; garage adiacente, 11 euro;luoghi comuni belli, personale simpatico.