Ratings based on 1,202 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, historic but tired hotel.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Only improvement is to refurbish the whole hotel.
Excellent location. Fantastic historic hotel suffering from fatigue. Our room suffered from damp encroaching through the walls and ceiling.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Do not stay in this DUMP

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: the staff agreed to discount my stay as the hotel was so below description
Cons: the whole hotel need rennovating from top to bottom
Location: Just dont stop in Pisa - take a tour there but its horrible to stay.
Basic - beyond basic. There were no plugs in the room and no hot water. The door didn't lock, the floor tiles were broken and jagged on the floor. The toilet smelled of urine and the noise of the scummy drunks was too extreme to sleep. The furniture was dilapidated and the coat hooks were hanging off the walls. Do not stay here it is not worth £10 you would be better off sleeping in your car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
This quirky old-fashioned hotel was a delight. Antique furnishings, clanky lift, wonderfully helpful staff, clean, airy ... We had a room on the fourth floor, and just across the big airy lobby was a lovely roof terrace. On the north bank of the Arno, it is easy walking distance from the railway station, the Leaning Tower, all that we wanted to do for our two days in Pisa. A lovely introduction to Italy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st. catharines Ontario

Great location

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Lovely old hotel with great character. We had a river view room which was exciting until we tried to sleep. A lot of noise from the street below
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good location but not quiet or comfortable

Posted Mar 29, 2017
I took my mum to Pisa for 3 nights to celebrate Mother's Day. The hotel is easy to find and is in a good location but it really wasn't very comfortable. The room and bed linen was very tired and worn. Like the tower, both twin beds were leaning / sloping/ and not flat. If you are staying for the weekend, be aware that music will be very loud until 4.30am and then house keeping my will slam doors all afternoon from 13.00. The reception staff were helpful but some of the breakfast staff had selective hearing and mum had to go to the kitchen to ask the manager for tea.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Not for someone looking for modern conveniences, but reasonably priced,very historical hotel in good location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Faded glory, can grow on you

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: You can tell that this hotel must have been really grand when first opened. The river view from the window was nice, especially at sunset.
Cons: Our hotel room door's mortice deadlock was difficult to open; it felt very worn. I worried about being locked in. Bathroom door would not stay closed.
Location: Central Pisa is relatively compact. It's not that far to walk to places. One of the bridges has just been re-paved and re-tarmacked, which is nice.
We have just returned from 2 days in Pisa (March 2017). We were previously in Pisa in Oct 2015 for a few days. Although we have only stayed in two hotels altogether, I think all hotels in central Pisa suffer from old age and lack of ultra-modern facilities or decorations. However the rooms are large and the ceilings are high, giving a sense of space that you would not find in England. Once you understand that Pisa hotels are all like this, then you would feel less disappointed. On the plus side the Leaning Tower has been fully restored and looks wonderful. You will get beautiful photos to show your friends. The Cathedral is being restored one section at a time, so you will have to choose your photo angles carefully. One note of caution, beware of pickpockets. Whilst wondering around looking at Leaning Tower etc, I felt I was being followed on two occasions. I was not robbed, but I saw someone's wallet on the ground outside the university library, and someone's purse in a gully.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Close to the river - noisy

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Hotel was fine for one night (clean, nice staff, plenty of character etc.) but very noisy - the local residents apparently party all night! Only luke warm water in the shower so not somewhere to stay for long.
5 out of 5
by Sophie

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic stay at a real one off hotel! Staff were really welcoming and helpful. Room was fantastic - a real treat.
5 out of 5
by kaye

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels