Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is a hotel with history

Posted Jun 26, 2017
A hotel with a history that has been upgraded! Beautiful pool and garden, friendly service and wonderful sculptures dotted around the grounds. Basic room booked but it was a suite! All staff lovely, loaned a voltage converter, allowed an extra hour or so in our room. Would recommend highly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Grand Hotel & La Pace Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Fran, Lovely to read your nice comments and thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy to hear that your experience by us was positive. We hope to see you again in the future and send you our warmest regards. Grand Hotel & La Pace
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Great location. Great staff.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Magnificent, grand spa hotel. Excellently trained staff but not stuffy. Great restaurant but spendy. Only problem is the noise in some rooms, with loud bars across the street. You have to close the French doors but then the room gets too warm. The hotel has the computerized temp control and we were unable to get the room less than 26° C. This was never resolved but we were willing to overlook this because of the otherwise excellence of the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Very Disappointing

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: The location is very central and close to the railway station
Cons: Complete refurbishment and replace most of the staff
This hotel is very grand but also very tired and very much in need of refurbishment. We have stayed in other old grand hotels in Italy but at least the common areas are well looked after, not here. A few of the staff were really nice and helpful but the vast majority just didn't seem to care - something very surprising in Italy. We travel to Italy at least twice a year (three times this year) and the service at this hotel is the worst we have ever had.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Huge, desolate feeling hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
I perhaps came on the off-season, but the hotel was incredibly huge, but desolate. Felt a little eery being there. The hotel was in good conditions, but felt a little like it used to be a grander place. The main town in general felt this way. The old Montecatini town up on the hill was gorgeous though and very easy to get to.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Huge nostalgic hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Location: Smack in the centre and 5 minutes walk from the train station which brings Lucca, Viareggio, Pistoia and Florence within easy reach.
The Grand Hotel La Pace has seen better days but is peaceful and restful except for Friday night (don't know about Saturday as we had left by then) when loud music from nearby bars/cafes went on till very late. Our spacious double room had recently been refurbished art deco style with a huge bathroom and two basins. Surprised to find only one chair in the room but another chair was quickly delivered at our request. Reception staff were courteous and helpful. There was no room safe so had to use the reception desk's. The only restaurant open for lunch was at the poolside and had a very limited menu, with 75 per cent of the listed dishes "Unavailable". The wifi was free and reliable in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from halifax, canada

Charming hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Grand hotel is a great description. Beautiful building. We were in the older part of the hotel and loved it. The front desk staff was incredible. Always remembered us and were very friendly. Would gladly stay again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stay but wish I have gone when work had been

Posted May 17, 2015 on Hotels
Lot of work going on outside nice hotel would like to go back when upgrade work is done
4 out of 5
by MK from CA

Old World Charm and Grandeur

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels
I enjoyed the flavor of the hotel--its old world grandeur, large salons and fabulous spa! The ladies who work in the Spa are fabulous and I really enjoyed my spa treatments! I was a bit disappointed in my room. I had paid for a Junior Suite and wasn't given one initially. I had to go back to Reception and complain. Then, I was given another room and told I'd been upgraded to a "Senior Suite", which turned out NOT to be the truth! I saw their brochure and my room was shown as a "Junior Suite". I don't like that kind of misrepresentation!