Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Would consider going back to this hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2009
Hotel was fairly comfortable. Room wasn't terribly big though and bed seemed squashed into room. Bathroom in room was too small - too many things placed in too small a space. Room was on fourth floor therefore had wonderful views but I found the pidgeons moving about on the plastic roofing above the balcony very noisy. The staff were friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke

Not impressed

Posted Oct 17, 2008
As 2 other reviewers thought this was fine, we went for it but it was a poor choice. Cheap and cheerless! Family run was another attraction but really they were miserable! Only choose this hotel if you have little money and don't mind basic. Breakfasts also very poor. Down at heel is how I would describe the state of the hotel. It only had one saving grace - it was clean!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Very dissapointed, left early!!!!!!!!

Posted Sep 26, 2008
The hotel was not at all up to standard, We left earlier because of the bad condition of the hotel. The balcony was delapidated and the one very old and rusty chair was disgraceful. The breakfast was below standard. The hotel needs a complete renovation. Carpets, woodwork, bathroom and elevator are very old and not at all appealing. We would have left even earlier still had it not been for an appointment we had with friends arriving from Holland to visit us. Staff were very friendly accept for the manageress/owner who did not utter a kind word. Heard a number of German visitors from a group complaining as well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Don't stay at this hotel!

Posted Aug 21, 2008
We chose this hotel for its location in the heart of Tuscany and thought it would be an ideal base for exploring the surrounding area. However, what was otherwise a perfect holiday was spoilt by seemingly incompetent staff. When we first arrived at the hotel the receptionist could barely muster an "Hello" let alone give us any helpful information such as breakfast times. We took advantage of the location to take a 3 day trip to Rome only to find on our return that our belongings had been put into our suitcase and left in the eating area (I'd be loathe to call it a restaurant) and our room had been given to someone else. We were finally allocated another room - only after another guest was awarded the same treatment. This room was intended as a single room and not at all suitable for a couple. For the rest of our stay the bad attitude of the staff continued and we really didn't feel welcome there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from N Ireland

Very pleased we pickedthis hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2008
The hotel was ideally situated for visits to Florence, Pisa, Lucca since it was just 5 minutes walk to the train station (choice of two). The trains are the way to visit the towns mentioned and are great value. The hotel was very welcoming and comfortable. Staff were keen to please. The town is a pleasant place to stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Setauket, Long island, NY

Will definately suggest it to friends

Posted Apr 17, 2008
A comfortable small (24 rooms) hotel locat on 1 of 2 main piazzas in Montecatini Terme. May be too noisey for some but my wife and I enjoyed many pleasant "peasant" dinners with wine on the balcony overlooking this scene of activity. The continental breakfast was satisfactory though "real" American coffee had to be substituted for more Italian choices including chocolate drink. Ham and cheese sandwiches were seen to be pocketed by other guests as a "snack" for the road! Coffe in the lobby and drinks was welcome after a day of touring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Good hotel, perfect location

Posted Oct 6, 2006
Our 7 night stay at the Park Hotel Moderno was very enjoyable and contributed to an all round great holiday in Montecatini Terme. With zero knowledge of the area, we accepted the usual gamble when booking accommodation on line, however, we really struck lucky with this Hotel. The entrance and reception provides a excellent first impression. The front patio is attractively furnished, a range of flowers provides an abundance of colour and subtle lighting brings the hotel to life when the sun goes down. The main selling point of the Hotel is undoubtedly it's prime location. Not only does it directly overlook a beautiful and meticulously maintained park (hence the hotel name), but it is strolling distance of many restaurants, indeed there are two such eateries on the square itself - about 10 seconds walk from the hotel entrance. The area has 2 train stations (Montecatini Terme and Montecatini Central), neither are more than a 10 minute walk from the hotel - conveniently located if arriving with heavy luggage, and great accessibility for going on day trips to Pisa, Florence, Lucca etc. We'd recommend Park Hotel Moderno to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Port Talbot, South Wales

Good value for money, and good location.

Posted Oct 9, 2005
Good hotel to use as a base for exploring the area as it is located halfway between Pisa and Florence. The hotel is right in the town centre, with the supermarket approx 1 minute walk away, the main railway station and bus station about 5 minutes walk away. Also as car parking is a problem everywhere in Italy, there are quite a few places to park easily around the hotel if you have a car. The hotel is also well placed for exploring the area in the car, as the main junction for the autoroute is just up the road. The hotel has a central staircase and the rooms are all off a small landings on each floor, this can make it quite noisy when people are talking or going up and down stairs in the early hours. The buffet breakfast is the standard offering with cold meat and hams, cheese, bread, juices, fruit, cereals, yoghurt and coffee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ci ritornerei

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Sono stato per viaggio con la famiglia; albergo pulito, personale gentile e posto centrale molto comodo per tutti gli spostamenti nel paese. Ci ritornerei tranquillamente. Colazione non di mio gusto ma varia senza esagerare
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suisse

déception

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Le sourire de la réceptionniste
Cons: Tout
Location: Extrêmement bruyant
Chambre non faite à mon arrivée à 17h30. Mini lit en pente......