Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Terrific Inn high on the hills

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The staff were very friendly, attentive, and accommodating. The sitting room and bar were nicely decorated and very comfortable places to relax.
Cons: The hotel suited us in all respects.
Location: Nestled between mountains and river. Charming and quaint old town - interesting architecture, shops, castles, distillery, theatre ...
Are experience was extremely positive. Our group stayed for two nights in rooms, both pleasantly decorated with very comfortable beds and pillows. One room had a very large bath tub which was perfect for a long hot soak. The hotel is situated away from the bustle of the town but in easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, etc. It is perched high on a hill and surrounded by similar older homes and inns with great character. The meals were very good and filling, especially the continental breakfasts combined with the traditional Scottish breakfast. A very good start to the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Anne , Hotel Management
Thankyou for a beautifully detailed review. It means more than I can say that you enjoyed your stay with us. We invest every resource towards that end for each of our guests and it means a great deal that we succeed. Best wishes for an enjoyable Summer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great staff!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
1 night stay for a wedding in Pitlochry, the hotel was cheap, clean, great location and staff were so kind and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Anne , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sending feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would hope to see you again on a different occasion when maybe you might have some time to get to know the wonderful town of Pitlochry. Best wishes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Short stay

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Received a good welcome Comfortable bed with good linen and pillows. Plenty place to store clothes and nice view from my room. However the style of shower in my room was difficult to use. Could not get a good flow of warm water Had dinner in hotel which was good and at a reasonable price. Car park available which is a bonus
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Owner, Hotel Management
Thankyou so much for sending a review. It's great to see that you have enjoyed your stay. We occasionally have an issue with external water pressure during busy periods. This alters the pressure of the cold supply. We persistently communicate with our supplier on this matter and things improve for a while. I really think this is an issue of the age of the supply combined with the logistics of supply in a rural area. I hopw this didn't detract from the rest of your stay, which you appeared to enjoy. We hope to see you again some time in the not too distant future?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saltcoats

Friendly hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Room very comfortable. Very friendly. Breakfast is a choice of exactly what you want rather than the usual set menu. Pitlochry theatre is worth a visit
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Anne, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sending a review. The detail is helpful and it means a great deal to us that you enjoyed your stay. Please visit again soon
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeenshire

Friendly and helpful staff

Posted May 5, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Friendly and welcoming staff.
Cons: Décor of rooms
Location: Pitlochry is in a stunning location with very scenic views. Lots of walking nearby
On arrival, it was clear that the hotel had seen better days - peeling paint and almost a hole in the entrance door. Staff were very welcoming and friendly, advising of things to do in the area. Guest areas seem to have been re-decorated recently and were bright and attractive. Unfortunately the bedroom was not the same. The bathroom was very dated with a cracked sink. It is basic accommodation which I feel is over-priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Anne, Hotel Management
Hello and many thanks for giving us an opportunity to address your concerns. Your booking was for two of our few remaining Economy Rooms. Upon Check-in, I sensed you were not happy with us and offered an upgrade. This was declined. The decor within our Regular and Premium rooms is far superior to the Economy rooms. These latter have not been refurbished at a time of economic distress when rather a good few folk highly appreciate the great saving on tariff, combined with clean and well-serviced accommodation. It causes us deep regret that this combination of factors did not find suitable favour with yourselves. We are gratified that you found us friendly.
5 out of 5
by david

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017
Thankyou very much for sending an evaluation. We work hard to cover the details that give our guests the best possible stay. This is always helped when we receive valuable feedback, such as yours. We hope we shall see you again very soon
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Very helpful staff. Clean updated room.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
This hotel is a bit of an odd mix of old and new. Some areas have been refurbished and updated nicely. Others are a bit tired looking. The manager went out of his way to be helpful, provinding advice, making phone calls for us, making sure we were comfortable. Good service helped us have a pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Anne, Hotel Management
Thankyou for your review. We are sorry that you felt that parts of the hotel were a little tired. Every penny we make goes back into the business, but we try to balance this with the costs to our guests. Sometimes the convenience to us all in booking online carries an invisible price tag that drives down the proceeds for investment. It's always a balancing act that we rather hope we keep in good proportion by referring constantly to reviews. We are therefore very grateful for your comments. Best wishes for a lovely Summer
4 out of 5
by Geoff

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Was strange that the hotel was in the middle of a housing estate.it was a ten minute uphill walk from town centre but the staff are great, so friendly. We had a standard room that was clean did the job for us. We would use the hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017
Many thanks for your review. It's great to know that you have enjoyed your stay and would visit again. Pitlochry is not exclusively a tourist town and . there is a residential area beyond the second line of hotels in which we sit. The beauty of the position of these hotels is that they command beautiful views overlooking the Tummel Valley.The walk to and from town takes between 3 and 5 minutes at an average speed . The elevation upon which most of Pitlochry sits, because it is a valley town, may slow some down if they are not used to slight gradients. it's great to know we'll be seeing you again. Have a fabulous Summer
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate for one night

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Nice view and comfortable bar. Staff are lovely.
Cons: Really needs some money spent to bring this place up to scratch.
Location: Good location and a short walk into the town. The Festival Theatre is a must.
Welcoming staff, but the room was very tired and needs a refurb. The lack of a shower was very disappointing and in 2018 a serious no no! The bulb in the bathroom omitted so much heat (possibly instead of a heater) it was unpleasant to be in the bathroom. Dust on the headboard was very unpleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Liked area where hotel was easy access to town staff very friendly and helpful would recommend to friends
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Anne, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. It means everything to know that you would recommend us. We hope this means we're going to see you again very soon? Best wishes.