Featured Image

Reviews of Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center

2.5 out of 5
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
3315 Hamlet Street, Pittsburgh, PA

Overall score and ratings

4.2

Very Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 439 out of 980 reviews
5 - Excellent 45%
Rating 4 - Good. 354 out of 980 reviews
4 - Good 36%
Rating 3 - Okay. 114 out of 980 reviews
3 - Okay 12%
Rating 2 - Poor. 50 out of 980 reviews
2 - Poor 5%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 23 out of 980 reviews
1 - Terrible 2%

4.3/5

Cleanliness

4.3/5

Staff & service

3.8/5

Amenities

4.2/5

Property conditions & facilities

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Good value
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Very quiet on a Friday night and I appreciated that the staff allowed me to check out earlier than When I indicated during registration.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Amenities
Room smelled like smoke. Refridgerator broken. Room very small. On the plus side.....elevator was fast.
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We enjoyed the shuttle driver the most. Her name is Karen. And we loved her.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
nice hotel for an overnight stay
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The shuttle service was great. The driver is fantastic! He stayed late to pick us up. Rooms were nice. Breakfast was good too.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Amenities
Daily shuttle service to areas within 3 miles was unique amenity and a huge plus. Missing a scheduled house cleaning service was not cool especially since it only occurs every 4th day. However, evening desk staff was helpful when alerted of the situation. She delivered new linens and towels and took away garbage.
Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Everything was ok.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group, Traveled with partner
Disliked: Staff & service
Our experience with this property was unbelievable. In July, made hotel reservations for our October trip to the Steelers game with several friends, many of whom we had not seen since before Covid. Everyone was staying in different hotels on Saturday night and we were meeting up for dinner. My husband and I arrived at the Hampton Inn just after check-in time and were greeted by the front desk staff with "you're going to hate me, but our hotel is overbooked and we have to move you to another hotel". Shocked, we asked where & she said, "you're really going hate me, but it's 30 minutes away by the airport". She presented us with a piece of paper saying our stay would be comped at the other hotel, and although we weren't happy about it, we went on our way. We got to the "new" hotel tucked away at the end of an industrial park, and immediately saw people drinking and doing drugs in the parking lot. I called Hilton's customer service, and spoke with a represented who was shocked this had happened, as apparently it's not proper protocol. He made a call to the Hampton Inn, and came back to tell us there was nothing he could do but pay for our stay at the "dope motel" (our words, not his). Ultimately, we missed dinner with our friends, and had to stay an hour away, which meant we had to drive an hour to the game the following morning. Our entire drive from home should have taken 3 hours, but we were in the car for over 6 hours on Saturday before we found a place to stay.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities
Good: Parking right in front of the hotel. Good selection at breakfast. Bad: we checked in at 9 pm and they had no room ready despite having paid for the room in advance; we had to wait 15 min for cleaning to be done. Our room was okay but the bathroom was not. If the cleaner can miss poop splashes on the toilet bowl rim, what else might have been overlooked? Also went to get hot tea downstairs (no tea in the room), and only realized the water from the thermos was not even lukewarm when I got back to my room. Very disappointing for a $275 room (that's before taxes and parking)
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Disliked: Amenities
Room was not ready at check in.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Robin the manager checked us in at arrival. She went out of her way to accommodate us.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Excellent location. Safe neighborhood.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Everything was great we were only there for one night for the Pittsburgh Irish Festival. The only thing I would suggest and found odd is the hours for breakfast could be a little longer especially with people visiting the city 6-9 is average times people are waking up maybe 6-11 would be better times.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with pets, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Staff was great! Room was pleasing and bed was comfortable. Lobby is small and no seating areas outside of the room.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Near the city
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice place
Clean and friendly
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice hotel
I’m happy how close it is to upitt and could see myself staying there again
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
too many people in the lobby did not wear a mask when they walked less than 6 feet near other people
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
The view was great
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Unfriendly staff. Check in issues due to Hampton's tech system and no apologies at all from staff while we waited 20 minutes to get checked in. When we asked how much longer the person snapped at us.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Room was comfortable. Property was well taken care of. Staff very helpful and friendly
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
The room had a very bad smell - it was probably the carpet that was old and stinky
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Business traveler, Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness
The location is great for what I needed, 5 mins to UPMC. The staff was not overly friendly, they literally stared at us with no smile. Garbage cans were overflowing all entire time, the one can was never changed in 3 days that we were there. Huge shoutout to Robin, she was so caring and understanding and went out of her way!!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Hotel room was clean. But the noise from AC was so loud that it was hard to stay asleep. Also there were a couple of big garbage bags left near elevator. They did not smell but unsightly. Overall, clean and nice facility. But could be better.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great hotel for U Pitt Visit!
We moved our daughter into an off campus apartment. This location was great for access to her apartment and to campus, Parking was convenient. Check in was easy with friendly staff. Will definitely stay again!
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Convenient location
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness
The staff was good and accommodating. The bathroom was nice and clean. The bed was terrible. Sloped down at the head end.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021

2/5 Poor

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Rooms were clean. Bed was back aching soft. During a period of no electricity there was only one small door for entry and exit. Lobby area depressing. Cramped breakfast area and no mask requirements in hotel. Expensive.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean rooms.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Staff & service
I booked a room for my family and myself through Expedia. My wife and middle daughter arrived in Pittsburgh to check in around 4 pm but were told they could not check in until I arrived. I was in Cincinnati at the time taking one of our other daughter’s to a soccer game and was not scheduled to get to Pittsburgh till next to midnight. My wife called me from the front desk and I asked to speak with the front desk person. I spoke with Brock who was extremely rude and unprofessional. He indicated there was nothing he could do since I booked the reservation through Expedia. He said if I booked through Hilton Honors that the issue could be resolved easily. Prior to throwing my wife’s I-phone across the counter towards my wife he said I would have to call Expedia to get the issue resolved. I tried reaching out to Expedia via virtual assist and by phone but with no success. My wife in the meantime called Hilton Honors and they were able to resolve the issue. Not that it was huge deal but when I arrived close to mid-night I was advised by my wife that the elevator was out for most of the day and our room was on the 6th floor. My experience with Brock at the front desk was so poor that I highly doubt I will ever return to this Hampton Inn. There are a lot of good alternatives to this property that are close to U Pitt and the medical school I would suggest you look into them.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
only one elevator out of two working. The last night that one elevator did not work. So we had to climb 7 flights of stairs. Nothing compensated.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Great hotel! Nice rooms and overall a great place to stay.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great, but overcharged for parking.
Everything was good. I will have to dispute the charge for parking though. Parking is $15 per night. But we were charged $60 for two nights!
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice hotel for two nights, friendly personal.
The room was nice, AC was loud but we got use to it. Bathroom needs update, the building not new. Desk personal, breakfast personal and others are nice and pleasant. The location is far from downtown, we had to take Ober back and forth, few were over $20. However, this hotel fits our needs.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Good location for Pitt and downtown Pittsburgh. Good view of River from window. Staff was friendly. Parking - got back to the hotel and lot was full. Cone saving a spot for a worker in morning, moved it so I could park in the main lot. I would think staff should park in the other lot not the paying customer. Lady at desk was very helpful though. Good stay!
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Mini vacation
Room was nice but small. Bathroom was updated and clean. Breakfast had good options. The location was very convenient to all parts of Pittsburgh.Only issue was the room had a very strong odor which was an unpleasant chemical/dog smell. Unfortunately, we paid a $50 additional deep pet cleaning fee for our dog that was not listed anywhere on hotels.com and felt they only used something to mask the pet odor from previous pet stays. They did provide pet bags outside but the only non paved area was a section with a lot of bits of trash and a few weeds, no grass.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Clean and well kept. Good size room, lots of parking.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It was all good....
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice hotel
Amazing stay
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
The location was great, we could walk to a variety of places, staff was helpful and friendly
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Hotel hallways had a musty smell. Bathroom lights were ridiculous…, but woman at desk said they mailed them the wrong bulbs so it’s not their fault.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I liked that it was close to Restaurants and The Carnegie Museum and Library as well.
Stayed 11 nights in Jul 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Amenities
Staff was courteous. Room was clean. Parking was easy although it cost $15/night. Breakfast was good but there was no water! I had to get a cup of water from the fountain in the lobby. The fitness center had NO water, towels or ear buds. The AC unit is motion activated as part of a "green" initiative. So if you leave your room it gets warm. The worst thing about Hampton and this hotel is the AC unit also shuts off during the night (while sleeping). I had to get up 4 times during the night and walk to the wall thermostat to activate it. Worst nights sleep in a while. Hotel manager said there is no override. I will not be staying at a Hampton with the "green" AC units again.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

1/5 Terrible

Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Staff & service
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Room wasn’t adequately lit and bathroom’s light seemed to have a blueish tint. Bathroom also had brownish red stains all over walls.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021