Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

awesome

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Very friendly , efficient helpful staff. Great rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Allentown

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Very nice lobby/bistro
Cons: Check the drains - they clog up over time!
Location: Visited Univ.of Pitt and shops/restaurants on Walnut Street.
Were it not for the loud A/C and slow drain in the shower, I would have rated this hotel a 5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Nice hotel- good location.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Staff is very friendly and helpful, stayed there for a Rolling Stones concert at Heinz Field
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2015
nice hotel, great location, quiet, with in waling distance to shops and restaurants. Shuttle service is a great plus. will stay again ,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great Location, Friendly staff

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Location: Pamela's diner and a shopping street 15 minute walk. Waffalonia for breakfast. Market Square, Primanit Bros. University of Pitt, Carnegie Melon
Stayed Memorial Day weekend to attend Mets/Pirates games. Stadium is about 3 miles from the stadium but is in a good location to walk to eateries and some shops. All of the staff was very accommodating and pleasant: the valets, reception desk, the Bistro, Bar, Managers, etc... The first night when we brought our bags up to our room, we had the cart in the hall and the door ajar and the manager was walking the hall and knocked on our door just to let us know the door was ajar. I thought that was very conscientious. The food in the Bistro was very good and the staff was helpful with any directions or places to eat. The room was a larger size and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ann from Clear Lake Texas

Shadyside Marriott

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Pros outweigh the cons

Posted Apr 27, 2015
We were in town for a wedding, so it was important to us that we had shuttle access. The shuttle runs 24 hours a day, on call except in the morning when the regular runs are at 9:30am and 10:30am. They will drive you to within 2 miles of the hotel (which includes the Carnagie Museums of Natural History and Art). The drivers were great. That balanced out the $18 charge (including tax) to park our car in their lot, where valet parking is mandatory. I have two girls who think sleeping on sofa beds is the best. so I went with that option. I was offered this room with the full knowledge there would be two people sleeping on it... and it was a twin sofa bed. Luckily they are small and young, so it was fine for us, but bear that in mind when choosing your room! The room itself was definitely on the small side, but it's in Pittsburgh, so I could deal with that part. The pool was nice. We felt safe walking around with our kids. If you're operating in and around Shadyside, it's definitely a good option. We recommend Ritter's Diner for breakfast around the corner... it was fantastic!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Cons: The breakfast facility. Also, more soundproofing from the street noise.
While there are some good things about this hotel (such as its location), we were disappointed overall. The rooms were standard (nothing special), and they were not very sound proof. (Lots of street noise). The most annoying experience was the breakfast in the morning. There is a small counter in the lobby where one supposedly can order breakfast, but the staff was too small to handle the number of people who wanted breakfast. We waited over 30 minutes after placing our order and then cancelled it because we had to leave for an appointment. Many others who were there also complained about the breakfast service. The hotel should just do a self-serve rather than this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry for the issues you experienced in our Bistro. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Best, Alex Starr General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central location for visiting Pittsburgh

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: New, clean modern rooms. Fantastic lobby & cafe!
Location: Shadyside shopping, touring colleges in Oakland and the city proper is close-by
Loved looking around Pittsburgh and suburbs north and south. This was a great central spot for our visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice hotel, quiet and close to CMU

Posted Apr 4, 2015
It was very easy to book over the Expedia. Check-in and out were quite easy and convenient. We had a good time.