Ratings based on 1,694 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clarion, PA

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Wonderful and easy check-in process. I have been to this hotel twice and each time, the hotel staff have been extremely nice. The valet parking is convenient and an easy process.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, the location is great for attending events at PPG Arena, there is onsite parking, the restaurant was excellent, and the price was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Stayed for two nights, very comfortable and convenient. You get a cookie when you check in, which I left on the counter by mistake but I hear they're delicious. We blew a fuse in our room, a maintenance man came up right away to fix it. No complaints.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester NY

Very close to the PPG Paint Arena.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Valet garage parking. Lobby. Water bottles in the room.
Cons: So much florescent lighting. Would have liked to have a sink in the living room area of the suite.
Decent hotel. Facilities are old, but you can see that updates have been made. Beds were comfortable. Rooms were clean. Would have liked to have more furniture in our suite living room. The couch was a good 15-20ft from the tv. Both the tvs (living room and bedroom) did not have a signal when we checked-in on Friday around 4pm. We reported the issue at 6pm to the front desk. Reported the issue again to the front desk on Saturday around 10:30am. They were finally fixed when we returned to the room at 7pm. The workout facilities are wonderful. Larger room, lots of equipment (treadmills, elliptical, free-weights, medicine balls, great lighting and lots of mirrors. Pool area was nice and clean. Did have to ask to have towels restocked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great value for cost

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: The staff was excellent.
Cons: The apparent remodel was poorly done.
Location: Strip district, Carnegie museums, Science center, PNC Park, Steeler football, Pitt University, Andy Warhol Museum...
While we were initially excited to be staying at a Double Tree by Hilton in downtown Pittsburgh so close to everything, we were disappointed upon check in. The only parking is valet parking in a garage below the hotel. Drop off in front of the lobby is not really possible as it is on a busy street with no pull in. The hotel itself seem to be in disrepair. One storefront is papered over, although the hotel's 7/11 is still operable. There is a pool. however the condensation on the ceiling dripped freezing cold water on our heads as we swam. Our first room had a clogged toilet and we had to move. Both suites we were in had what seemed to be an old bathroom that had been drywalled in. The only bathroom in the suite was terribly small. The only towel shelf was in the shower. Our family of four was hard pressed to get ready for our day in this small bathroom. The showerhead would not stay on one setting. The hall light flickered when it was in the off position, which spooked out daughters. Breakfast is not included. However, we were comped 4 buffet breakfasts for our troubles. Overall it seemed that the hotel had been poorly remodeled. All of this being said, the staff was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located for our purpose to attend PPG

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Near PPG which was awesome. Connected to 7-11 very convenient. Many minor issues. Sink wouldn't drain, husband had to fix toilet, secondary door lock broke, etc. would stay again but would have expected these minor things would have been taken care of. No microwave was inconvenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

amazing location and hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2017
My stay was wonderful from start to finish. I asked for a high floor room with a view and got it. The front desk was friendly and extremely helpful for navigation and recommendations of places to go in the city. There is also a complimentary shuttle to near by places; I recommend this but only if you ask in advance since it was being used everytime I wanted to utilize it! Overall clean and modern room and comfy bed. I would definitely stay here again :)
5 out of 5
by RAMON

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Looked Great and then went down hill

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: The warm cookie - nice beds and pillows
Cons: Everything else. When I called the front desk the response was less than helpful.
Room looked great - had trouble with the electrical outlets. The deal breaker was 15 minutes of running water to take a barely warm tub. The 2 long hairs that I found were rather disconcerting since I have very short hair. However, the mold on the soap dish was the deal breaker.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Room was spacious and staff was friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is staying in downtown Pittsburgh.