Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Nice!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: friendly staff, spacious double room
Cons: Kitchen could be improved, too many fruit flies
Location: great location!
This is my fifth time I stayed there. Reasonable rate. walking distance to many resturants and stores.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st louis

Horrible, lying staff.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: get another hotel
started off with Kumar telling us we had no reservation, When we (not him) got hold of Expedia, he "suddenly" finds it. Room's air conditioner is intermittent, Kumar says if it is not on when we get back we can switch rooms It is not on at 11:30 when we return, Kumar is not there, Nassir(?) says there are no more rooms and he will contact air conditioner maintenance. we wait 45 min, call front desk, front desk says to wait a bit longer, 20 min later I go down to lobby. Desk person says air conditioner repair is not available and he will find us a room. 20 min later he has a non-smoking room. I tell him we booked this hotel specifically for smoking rooms. He tells us to go ahead and smoke although there are signs all over the room saying if we do there will be a fine attached to our credit card. I call front desk and ask if he has the authority to guarantee us there will be no charge for smoking in the room, he says he does not. We ask for refund, he says he will get us one. next day there is no credit to my credit card. We call Expedia, they call, get Kumar who yells at them and hangs up on them. After 2 hrs on my cell phone, Expedia cannot get The Microtel to make any statements concerning this incident and they finally grant us the refund.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oopsy..not again

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Not what we had hoped for. Rooms were pint sized and smelling musty. Tiles were moving in bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

affordable

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Bed, price, and cleanliness.
Cons: Who ever was staying in the room next door constantly banged drawers, slammed doors, talked loudly, and it really kept us from sleeping
Location: lots of shopping
Room was extremely clean and nice for a one night stay. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in and the tv and room decor updated. Free breakfast was awesome. Check in office staff not very friendly, but checkout was ok. The people staying in room next to us constantly made noise and it bothered us and woke up many times in the night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from obx nc

Bed skirt was foul but bed was fairly new

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Cleanliness and could have had something sugar free for a breakfast option
Location: Shopping and dining
Towels were stained not sure if washed at the right temperature
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halufax, PA

Not the best, nor the worst.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
So so. Staff didn't seem to know where an extra blanket could be found. Room needed minor maintenance (toilet refilled every few minutes. A/C could not be adjusted.) But it was clean and comfortable. And we slept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Sep 19, 2016
This hotel is clean, cheap, and conveniently located.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just OK for an overnight stay

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Location and free parking.
Cons: Friendlier staff, especially front desk! Cleanliness of the lobby and breakfast area. Better breakfast. Fridge in every room.
Location: Close to the highway - near airport. Lots of restaurants and shopping.
Greeted by a very not-friendly front desk person - no welcome of any sort - for a service industry, not a good first impression. Room was OK and clean. Didn't realize that a room with 1 queen bed does not have fridge or microwave. All we had was a small coffee maker. Breakfast was just OK - could be a better. We had stayed at a Super 8 hotel on the way down to North Carolina which was 100% better than this Econo Lodge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great value for money!

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Room was clean & bed was very comfortable.
Location: Has a few different shopping centres & restaurants close by.
Breakfast was good for a continental breakfast - had the choice of cereal, toast, bagels and batter to cook your own waffles. Would highly recommend this hotel for value for money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Experience cost cutting mentality of management

Posted Aug 26, 2016
The staff seems to have no training in hospitality. Instead of experiencing a warm welcome, I felt like I was trespassing their property. We asked for an extra blanket and the front desk said they will call back. They never called nor did we receive a blanket. The cost cutting was evident at the breakfast. The size of cupcakes was laughable. There are very little options on breakfast. Why even bother to advertise free breakfast?