Ratings based on 1,767 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2016
This is a beautiful hotel with great amenities, excellent service, and central location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic and beautiful

Posted Jan 8, 2016
I only have two comments; the view was poor at best. There other was the room layout, the bed actually blocked the path into the bathroom. The floorplan does not support two beds very well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Posted Jan 4, 2016
The omni is beautiful and everyone is always very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, Pa

Fantastic Old Fashioned Hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2016
We only live 20 minutes from the city, but decided to have a little getaway from home. I had never stayed at this hotel before, but they had a great rate for the night so we thought we would try it out. It was worth every penny. My wife was even able to get a private massage right in our room. The William Penn reminded me a lot of the Waldor Astoria in New York City. Overall it was well worth it and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a high class luxurious yet affordable place to stay. All the staff was extremely friendly. Best of all, if you choose not to valet park your car, the garage across the street from the hotel is a flat rate of $5 a day on the weekends. We will definitely stay at this hotel again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: The staff were incredibly friendly and the hotel was decorated beautifully for the holidays. It was a great place to stay with a 1 year old.
We stayed the night over while driving across country. The hotel was elegant and the staff incredibly friendly. The rooms were large and the beds comfy. It was also very quiet which helped us put our 1 year old to bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2016
The hotel was within walking distance to Consol Energy. In addition, it was within walking distance to the New Year's activities downtown. Very charming older hotel. I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DuBois, PA

New Year's Eve celebration

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: "Old World Charm"!
Cons: We've been staying at the William Penn for close to 30 years. Some attention needs to start to paint, etc., in the rooms (not in any common areas).
Location: Downtown Pittsburgh-no need to say more!
Went to Pittsburgh for ice skating and "First Night Celebration"! Good time had by all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous, affordable hotel in Pittsburgh

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: Would have liked free wi-fi, but you can't have everything. Also, the front desk was not forthcoming with information about street parking.
Location: Pittsburgh is a wonderful old post-industrial city. We enjoyed the Pittsburgh Zoo and Aquarium and shopping in the nearby Strip District.
Our two-night stay at the Omni William Penn was a total pleasure. It is a beautiful, 99-year-old building right in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh -- perfect location for those who prefer to be in the city, near the action. Entering the lobby felt like stepping into an Edith Wharton novel with the massive chandeliers, ornate furnishings and grand piano. We arrived on Christmas Day and they upgraded us, for free, into a larger room, and even brought me and my wife a folding bed for our daughter to sleep on, at no extra charge. The room was huge, with a walk-in closet almost as big as some hotel rooms I've stayed in. We opted not to pay the wi-fi charge, but otherwise no complaints about the price of this hotel. A memorable experience that helped make our brief stay in Pittsburgh more special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicely decorated for the holiday

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Decent location. Nicely decorated. Clean rooms. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Cons: Confusing/conflicting information from the hotel staff regarding wifi and parking.
Overall, my stay was nice. The hotel is a bit older with that “older hotel smell” but it was clean and beautifully decorated for the holiday. Minor issues I had included a server at the pub-style restaurant who was forgetful and a bit unprofessional but it was better than searching the city for dinner on Xmas night. Another issue was wifi – I attempted to sign up for the Select Guest program for free wifi but got an error message 3 times. It said on the website that perks apply to the next qualifying stay anyway so I quickly signed off the wifi in less than a few minutes. We were charged $10 and the young lady at the front desk said I should have been able to sign on for free despite what the website said. Didn’t make any sense to me but she reversed the charge after I explained what happened, which I appreciated. Last, the valet informed us of the parking options ($34 valet with in/out privileges or $19 self parking down the street with in/out privileges). We opted to self-park. The attendant at the garage said they are in no way affiliated with the hotel and we had to pay each time we left the garage. Luckily, the garage had a special holiday discount price and street parking was free over the weekend...so the cost was less than what the valet had told us. The rooms are clean with some toiletries provided. Didn't have time to check out the speakeasy downstairs but it seemed pretty cool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Great hotel loved it the staff really took care of us