Ratings based on 1,887 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice Historic Landmark

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness
Location: Great location
Excellent, hotel easy 5 star. Location is perfect to go anywhere. Churches very close
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Nice location but terribly DIRTY

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Came from DC for an event at Consol Energy Center and the location was perfect. Unfortunately this hotel is very old, in need of some remodeling and desperately needs to be cleaned. There was old candy next to the bed, crumbs on the carpet, hairs all over the bathroom, and stains on the duvet cover. 4 stars really?? I don't think so and not when you drop $400 a night for a room. We will have to find a different hotel if we ever come back to Pittsburgh
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo NY

Upscale hotel...drop car at door and explore Pitt

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Our third visit. Never disappoints. Road trip from home to catch Pirates series. Plenty of cultural options as well as sports.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Fort Myers, FL

Nice historical hotel in downtown.

Posted Jun 8, 2016
My son and I enjoyed the hotel and it was in close vicinity to the Consol Energy Center, the reason we stayed at William Penn Hotel because it was in walking distance with the Pittsburgh Penguins game at the Consol. Loved the hotel and all of downtowns old buildings. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: The room was clean and the staff was very helpful
Cons: their vending machines on a couple of floors did not work which was frustrating
My room was situated easily to elevator and I was able to navigate my way around very easily
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pa

Good downtown hotel

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Location Speakeasy lounge Starbucks inside the lobby
Location: Restaurants, Heinz Hall, The Benedum are all a short walk
Very nive room and efficient staff. This is in downtown and within walking distance to everything. Had a great view of Mellon Park (my favorite place in town) from our room The she Speakeasy lounge is Great for a cocktail.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2016
Excellent location in Downtown Pittsburgh. Friendly staff and a nice and elegant hotel stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, bad value for money

Posted May 3, 2016
For the near 400$ a night there should have been wifi included and breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Opulent hotel!

Posted May 1, 2016
Grand lobby welcomes guests, with a Stafbucks and several hotel restaurants, it's a great place to stay! Clean and spacious rooms with all of the amenities! Easy drive to the PITT campus! Will stay here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Historic William Penn Hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Historic charm
Cons: don't make patrons pay for coffee at the Starbucks in the lobby. Provide in room or give a Starbucks voucher.
Location: Walking distance to many attractions. We enjoyed Capital Grille 3 blocks away.
Elegant old hotel located in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh. Beautiful lobby with quaint bar, well appointed albeit small rooms and a nice fitness center.