Ratings based on 429 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for college visits

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Satisfactory overall. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Lacks essential basics: kindness and cleanliness

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Many positives: free parking, good wifi, well positioned, comfy bed, kind receptionist at check in
Cons: The place needs cleaning, urgently, such a pity... and some of its staff need customer facing training...
Location: Consol Energy Centre is within a 20 min. walk. Downtown is also easily reached.
I am sorry to say, I was extremely disappointed. I am not one to make a fuss for a bit of dirt on the floor, but this place is outright dirty. A nice sign i nthe room says contact reception if something is not right, but the dirt, grime, dust and who knows what else accumulated in the air conditioning unit is not soemthing that could have been solved easily, years and years of neglect. Moreover, the unit was extremely noisy and would only work in one single mode: strong and noisy. I switched it off to avoid having to breathe that stuff and opted to open the balcony window: but it was blocked, and the dirt that had accumlated on and around it was awful. I then asked for an information at reception, quite confidently given the kindness of the receptionist who checked me in. But my simple request was unanswered, the lady did not even greet me, acknowledge me, looked at me in the face. I Googled my request. Finally, I had breakfast at the Panera place downstairs, I know not if this is at all connected to the hotel, for me it is, given I was pointed there for breakfast. The place is filthy, cockroaches swarming around me, remains of previous breakfasts on chairs, tables and floor. PIty, as there were positives: Free parking, excellent WIFI strength free of charge, very kind receptionist at check in, comfortable bed, easy to reach from motorway, well positioned for my needs (event at Consol Energy Centre) No, not terrible, just very, very disappoining.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

poor hygiene!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
I walked into the room. towels were thrown into the toilet. the toilet was not working. disgusting! they changed my room. I went to the next one and the door was wide open and the keys did not work. They changed my room again and the third room had dirty carpet with noisy neighbors. I barely slept before the interview the next day. Terrible experience!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Isolated problems

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Convenient to shops and dining.
Cons: More fans, better generator, anything, really.
There was a storm that felled a tree and cut power to the hotel, so it was in a brownout situation, generator only. The AC didn't work and the only fan that the hotel had was in the lobby. Satellite was out also, so there was no television. The elevator worked, but it was dark in there, so kinda creepy to use it. Eventually, we couldn't stand how sweltering the room was, and we tried to get ice, but the ice machines would not operate on the generator. We asked for a fan, but couldn't get it. We were invited to go to the lobby, where it was cooler, as there was a working television there, but that wasn't what we expected from a hotel. When I asked if I could simply pack up and go to another hotel, they offered to give me a different room, which was better than the one we were in. Still no TV, but the AC worked in this one. If I had it to do over again, I don't know that I would have chosen this hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Convenient shuttle

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Nice shuttle service, room bed was a little small.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auburn, WA

Nice hotel near Magee and University of Pittsburgh

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Cons: Since I have trouble with white noise, it would have been nice if the AC had a low blower setting or would turn off the fan when temperature was met.
I found the Quality Inn University Center to be a clean comfortable room. It is a basic hotel with a pleasant and efficient staff. The lemon flavored water and coffee are a plus. The location is wonderful if you are visiting a student at Pitt or need to be near Magee Women's hospital.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Too old, need a lot of maintenance and remodel before putting out for business.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Good location. Helpful staff

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Hotel Staff
Location: Hotel is close to University of Pittsburgh and CMU.
The stay was overall pleasing. We checked in at 3 and noticed that the A/C was making a noise. The staff member immediately moved us to another room. Both rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable. They do not offer breakfast but there is a Panera Bread on the first floor of the same building. There was a stand with lemon water in the Lobby which was perfect for a hot day. Hotel is close to UPitt and CMU.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, basic hotel.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Staff very friendly and helpful. Room is basic, but a great hotel and value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Good for the price.

Posted Aug 3, 2016
This hotel felt older. The rooms however were clean just dated. You could see that the bathtub had been repainted and several wall spots patched. They have kept up with repairs and tried to make it look nice. The door to the balcony was hard to open and close due to rust on the track. The staff was very friendly and parking was free. Overall a good deal for the price and located in a safe area. It was fine for an overnight stay.