Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Allergic to the pervasive smell

Posted Jan 6, 2017
The hotel is beautiful and my room was gorgeous. But my room and much of the rest of the building had an odd elderly perfume kind of smell that put me off. I found that I was actually severely allergic to it, and got literally zero sleep the night before a job interview. To look at it is beautiful, but I will never stay here again. I can't sleep with some bizarre aroma I'm allergic to wafting about the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great Location

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Cons: Parking across the street is convenient but when they switch from weekends to weekdays they double charge you.
Location: Skip the hotel restaurant as there are lots of great option close by.
We try to stay here whenever we are in town. The staff is great and I love the whiskey bar in the lobby. My wife loves the concierge level amenities. Short walk to the river and plenty of great restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great city!

Posted Dec 31, 2016
In town for Steelers game. Nice people, great restaurants and pretty city!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Great Hotel close to Heinz Field

Posted Dec 31, 2016
There for the Steelers /Ravens game on Christmas day. The hotel has a nice fitness center and a nice breakfast buffet. Great way to start your day. STEELERS NATION !!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Very brief stay. Beautiful hotel, was taken over by a huge wedding. Food was good though and rooms were comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Very nice hotel. Close to Heinz Field and PNC. Enjoyed our stay, Will stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

First time stay at The Renaissance Hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2016
My husband and I travel to Pittsburgh at least once a year to watch a Steelers game, and have stayed at several different hotels. The Wyndham Grand, Marriott Extended Stay, and the downtown area. The Renaissance is my VERY FAVORITE! It is a beautiful historic hotel, with huge rooms. The beds are super comfortable and the staff is awesome. It also has Pittsburghs most renound restaurant in it, which is fabulous! (I highly recommend the shrimp and grits!!) The only thing I think would make them better is a shuttle service with a 5 miles radius. We had to take a cab to the Strip District and to Station Square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C,El Paso,TX

Nice hotel close to PNC stadium, Heinz Field,shops

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Great experience very friendly staff room was clean. Only complaint was It got a bit noisy, there was a party going on and our room was near the hall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great service, atmosphere, and surroundings

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: Bathroom exhaust did not work.
Location: It's in the Cultural District so there are lots of restaurants, bars, museums, and playhouses nearby; not to mention Point Park.
I always stay at this hotel. It's beautiful and has many amenities. The staff provides excellent service and is very helpful. The location is perfect..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

wonderful location

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Beautiful hotel close to many Pittsburgh attractions. Staff was friendly and helpful.