Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chatham university interview

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Very accommodating and welcoming. I checked in at midnight and there was someone who greeted me with chocolates, muffins, and fruit juices. Very thoughtful if you have an interview in the morning. Parking lot was a little small but there was street parking. It has a very home like feel to it. Only stayed 1 night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by ShadysideInn, Hotel Management
Erwin, Thanks for choosing Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel. So glad your time here was good and you felt welcomed. Hope the interview went well too. Hopefully we'll see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F

Location AMAZING

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Although our experience was really great, their were a few things that didn't please me. Firstly, I was under the impression that the couch was a pull out queen. Wasn't happy to find out it was just a couch and my 30 year old brother had to sleep on a cot the whole trip. Secondly the plumbing was awful, there were several times where I was unable to turn the shower water on and then struggles to turn it back off. All things considered I would definetly return
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by ShadysideInn, Hotel Management
Meg, Hi, thank you for the review. We appreciate you letting us know about the plumbing issues you had. We have a full maintenance team on staff, and as you can imagine with the older buildings, and they hustle to service all 100+ suites. Never hesitate to reach out to our front desk to request service. As for the pullout sofa's into beds, it is definitely something under consideration for the next round of furniture renovations. We look forward to seeing you again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Good neighborhood and close to Frick and Phipps

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable and convenient
Cons: Parking is a bit scarce but manageable.
Location: Frick Museum and Phipps Arboretum are within a couple miles each. Decent small restaurants a block or two away.
First time stay and would go back again. Easily accessible and not in the busy downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by ShadysideInn, Hotel Management
Jim, Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed staying at our hotel and in Shadyside. Don't forget our front desk sells tickets to nearby attractions at a discounted rate to guests, so if you are back in town and need some, give us a ring.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Awesome suite in Shadyside

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Gorgeous suite, contemporary decor, everything looked brand new! Huge flat screen tvs in living room and bedroom. Fresh chocolate chip cookies when checking in and a welcome bag of goodies to take to the suite. Extremely clean and comfortable bed. My favorite place I've stayed in a long time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by ShadysideInn, Hotel Management
Kristen, It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay here. What a wonderful compliment that it is your favorite place that you've stayed in for a long time. Thank you for taking time to leave a review! Give us a call next time you are in town!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from State College, United States of America

Good location in Shadyside

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms.
Cons: Bathroom re-fit, replace old vinyl base boards.
Location: Just a short walk to the main boutique shopping district in Shadyside. Many bars and restaurants to choose from.
I stayed for just one night in a 2 bedroom suite with my family. The Suite was as described, not really like a hotel suite so much as a 2 bedroom apartment. It had lots of space and everything you would need, even for a longer stay. I don't know the history of this property, but I don't think it was originally built as a hotel. It certainly feels more like an apartment block. The apartment we had was clean and well furnished, and some elements had been updated, but there are areas, such as the bathroom that give away the age of the property. For the price, this is excellent value and I would definitely stay here again. Better than squeezing into a standard hotel room, and far less expensive than a real hotel suite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by ShadysideInn, Hotel Management
Nina, Thank you for taking time to leave a review. You are absolutely right, the hotel suites used to be apartments that the owners converted into large suites, that are more suitable for families or people just wanting extra room! You'll be happy to know we are about 1/3 of the way done renovating our bathrooms. Next time you stay put in a request for one of the refinished ones!! Cheers!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: excellent. staff was so friendly and helpful
Cons: elevator or someone to help carry bags
great. felt like home and was extremely roomy and comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by ShadysideInn, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 review. To help with your cons, be sure to ask for some of our friendly staff to help with bags. As soon as a guest requests help- our staff jumps on it!! Also we have two buildings with elevators, so you can always request to stay in one of them. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

convenient and good value

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Very conveniently located to universities. Good value for overnight stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by ShadysideInn, Hotel Management
Laura, thank you for leaving the review. We're happy your stay was convenient and a good value.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

great hotel great staff

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Location: Campus visit
Two words: try it. One word: Excellent. I would definitely stay with this hotel in the future. Great room, great staff. Everything is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by ShadysideInn, Hotel Management
I love those words!! We look forward to seeing you again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great location, great suite, super-helpful staff

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Cons: The bathroom could have been better.
Location: A major shopping and dining area was one block away from our building - tremendous location.
From the moment we checked in through our entire vacation, the staff of the hotel could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The suite was enormous, modern, and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was small and the shower was a little disappointing but the rest of the bathroom was clean and charming. Huge closet space! The location was ideal with lots of shopping and eateries within walking distance. Parking was plentiful and felt very safe. WIFI was excellent and the XFINITY television lineup was the same as home. Couldn't have asked for a better place for the reasonable amount of money it cost us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by ShadysideInn, Hotel Management
Duane, Thank you for the 5 rating. We are happy that you found our staff so wonderful and helpful during your vacation. They are probably our best amenity, second to our location! Thank you for taking time to leave a review
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent suites close to Universities

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms, proximity to Universities, safe neighborhood,
Cons: The breakfast bag that was included could have included some fresh foods instead of junky muffins, rice krispie treats and cheese crackers.
Location: Close to everything: universities, shopping, restaurants, even grocery store.
Great city apartments converted to suites with all the amenities of a hotel. Insides completely renovated and updated. Comfy beds. Plenty of parking. Close to restaurants and shopping. I stayed here with my three teenagers for college tours in Pittsburgh and everybody loved it. We used the fully equipped kitchen to cook both dinner and breakfast after shopping at nearby grocery store - Marketdistrict only a 3 min drive away. Our suite was so warm we had to crack the kitchen windows open on a 25 degree night but bedrooms stayed nice and cool. This was a great value and just what we were looking for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by ShadysideInn, Hotel Management
Anna, Thank you for the review. On your next visit, be sure to pick up an apple, we keep fresh fruit at our front desk for people that check-in that are looking for more fresh food items ;) I am so happy that you and your three teenagers were cozy in the suite, and enjoyed the use of the kitchen. Good luck on the college choice, and if you guys find yourselves back in Pittsburgh, we look forward to seeing you again.