Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid this hotel. Filthy.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
...just filthy. Stay elsewhere. Not a "no smoking" hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Jessica P., Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking time to rate your stay. I am sorry to read you were not happy with your stay. You are correct...we are not a no smoking hotel. We try to accommodate both smokers and non-smokers. I am sorry if you were inconvenienced by this. Please remember us when making any future travel plans.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Nice hotel only for one night

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Nice hotel for the price for one night. Excelent shuttle to and from the airport "note: dont look for a Super 8 shuttle, look for the Globe shuttle". Bathroom sink clough. I reserve with the expedia option "reserve now, pay at the hotel" and the Super 8 charge me the amount a night before I arrive. This is a problem with me because I wanted to pay with another credit card. At checkout I meet Nick the boss, excelent person. The location was good. Quiet area. The A/C unit worked well. Wifi difficult to connect. Microwave in my room, no refrigerator. Simple breakfast 4am to 8am, coffee, cereal & pastries. Elevator working. Nice hotel for the price for one night. Excelent shuttle to and from the airport "note: dont look for a Super 8 shuttle, look for the Globe shuttle". Bathroom sink clough. I reserve with the expedia option "reserve now, pay at the hotel" and the Super 8 charge me the amount a night before I arrive. This is a problem with me because I wanted to pay with another credit card. At checkout I meet Nick the boss, excelent person. The location was good. Quiet area. The A/C unit worked well. Wifi difficult to connect. Microwave in my room, no refrigerator. Simple breakfast 4am to 8am, coffee, cereal & pastries. Elevator working. Nice hotel for the price for one night. Excelent shuttle to and from the airport "note: dont look for a Super 8 shuttle, look for the Globe shuttle". Nice hotel for the price for one night. Excelent shuttle to and from the airport "note:
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Jessica P., Hotel Management
Dear R Mendez, Thank you for taking time to rate your stay. I am so pleased to read that you were so happy and satisfied with your stay here . Please remember us when making future travel plans.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Check the details

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: details on the website.
The website says 24 hour shuttle. I called and was told 24 hour shuttle. But when I arrived, I was told no shuttle between 2 and 4 am and I needed to be at the airport at 3:30. The staff made it work and got me there because I had called and was told they could (I even gave them the time I needed to leave). But you should not advertise what you do not offer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peebles, Scotland

A terrible experience

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Only the location. The continental breakfast was OK but nothing to write home about.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Close to the airport (if you know what shuttle to use!); close to a Sheetz convenience store and several restaurants -- and that's about it.
My stay in room 204 at Super Eight Pittsburgh Airport on April 10, 2017 was a disaster on a scale I had not experienced in at least a decade. 1. I was not told that the Super 8 airport shuttle would be a “Globe” shuttle due to an outsourcing arrangement with Globe – EVEN THOUGH I called the hotel several days in advance specifically to find out how their shuttle service worked! As a result, I stood like an idiot for 45 minutes in the airport’s courtesy van loading area until a driver who had passed by me several times finally told me what van to look out for: not exactly a good experience for a senior citizen. 2. The check-in procedure was a further, albeit minor disappointment. The receptionist was professional enough, but only just: stone-faced, forbidding, robot-like, so I wondered if he had smiled once in his entire lifetime. 3. And then the room – oh my God! The refrigerator didn't work. The air conditioner didn't work. The knob controlling the hot/cold water flow in the bath tub and shower came off. The grab bar on the wall above the tub was loose, it also came off, and (to add insult to injury) I discovered it was not the original part: it was a plastic tube that had previously been used in the center of a thick roll of paper or fabric or whatever. Now, just imagine what could have happened if someone had grabbed this tube, fallen, and sustained a serious injury when it came off: the hotel could have been sued for $100,000 or (probably) more. Great!
4 out of 5
by Gretchen

Ok for the price

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
The room was ok.. the bed is super hard though. WiFi works well. Fridge and microwave included. Although the floor I stayed on was non-smoking thereally was an odor of smoke throughout the building.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Kelsey, Hotel Management
Dear Gretchen, Thank you for taking time to rate your stay and we apologize for any inconvenience. Your feedback is very important so that we can become aware of any issues that may need improvement. We have addressed this issue of the smell of cigarette smoke with our housekeeping department and assure you that we have taken the necessary steps to resolve this issue. We have rooms for both smokers and non-smokers and are diligent when deodorizing our rooms and common areas. We hope that you will keep us in mind when making any future travel plans. Best Regards, Jessica P.
4 out of 5
by Valerie

Not so impressed

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself really needs some work to it. The girls at the desk as we checked in and out could not be any better. Great Employees! (Maggie and Jessica)but the condition of the hotel itself need a lot of maintence. Heater didn't work in one room. Had to get extra blanket and space heater plugs didn't work VERY POOR the other room coffee maker didn't work had to get another bathroom fan dudnt work and the shower drain was so slow and dirty debris coming from shower head VERY POOR again. I sure we will not be staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Kelsey, Hotel Management
Dear Valerie, I am so sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your stay. I apologize for the inconveniences you endured concerning the heat and the shower. I assure you those problems have been addressed and fixed. Thank you for taking time to rate your stay...your feedback is important so that we can address any issues and then correct them. I do hope you will think of us when making any future travel plans and give us an opportunity to show we have resolved the problems you mentioned. Best Regards, Jessica P.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, Pa

Room 209 a disaster, bathroom floor very dirty

Posted Mar 15, 2017
This was the worst stay I've ever had. Floor stained very badly, fecies on the toilet bathroom floor a mess. Crackers under the bed crumbled. Only stayed because the weather was horrible and it was next to work, never again.
2 out of 5
by Danielle

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Kelsey, Hotel Management
Dear Danielle, Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay at our hotel. Best regards, Jessica P.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Kelsey, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for taking time to rate your stay while at our hotel! Best regards, Jessica P.
5 out of 5
by Marlin

Pretty good

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Really clean rooms with the exception of the bathroom sink.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Kelsey, Hotel Management
Dear Marlin, Thank you so much for taking the time to rate your stay. I apologize for any inconvenience with your bathroom sink and assure you that concern has been addressed. I hope you will stay with us again in the future. Best regards, Jessica P.