Ratings based on 823 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near hospital.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
My Mother was in the hospital just a few blocks away so it was very close to walk to and so I didn't need to rent a car. There were plenty of restaurants in the area as well and when it rained one night, I utilized their shuttle service (Henry was great). The room was nice and the small bar in the hotel was perfect! I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wheeling, Wv

very neat stay

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: The hotel was very clean and neat, a small shower and toilet area, but enough. The shuttle service provided was great.
Cons: Nothing
Location: close to eatery's and all Pittsburgh that you would want to see and do. Shuttle service provided to much of the city
When you arrive the staff was friendly and explained everything about the Priory. Location is great to get around town, but off the main drag.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Hanging out with the monks

Posted Dec 22, 2016
This small hotel has lots of charm and character. Continental breakfast had some nice additions (hams and cheeses, fruit) to the usual and the breakfast room featured a radio playing classical music rather than the noisy TV we are accustomed to blocking out. Hotel guests may have a pretentious philosophical conversation in Pittsburgh's smallest bar, Monk's, or read the complimentary Pittsburgh paper by a fireplace (which may or nay not be faux). Rooms are fine and comfy. The only downside might be that the free parking lot across the street fills up quick, but they do have an overflow lot around the corner. Location is not next to anything touristy, but things are an easy 5 to 10-minute walk away, like the affiliated bakery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Couldn't ask for anything more

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Clean, accessible, complimentary parking
Cons: not a thing
Location: Already did
Perfect location for an event at PNC or Heinz Field, or for anything downtown. Clean, spacious room with all the amenities of a high-priced chain hotel. Very easy access, yet safely tucked in on a side street. Complimentary & SECURE parking directly across the street from the front door makes this a great hotel for a stay in Pittsburgh. Unfortunately, I arrived after dark and left in a driving snow storm, so I didn't get to see the city (that came highly recommended), but The Priory is my place to stay the next time through.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

A very interesting experience

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: the boutiqueness
Cons: it could be smack dab in the middle of Pittsburgh, but then they would charge three times as much
Location: In an area called Deutschtown. Settled by German immigrants. Nice condos and a few restaurants. Not a shopping destination.
My mother-in-law lives in a small apartment on the north shore of Pittsburgh. Typically we stay at a large chain hotel in the north shore area. Very nice because downtown Pittsburgh is a walk across the river. This time, we decided to wing it and stay in a boutique hotel, The Priory. The hotel is a former monastery that has been renovated. Our room was spacious and clean with windows overlooking the road. The morning breakfast was excellent. We walked up to Max's Allegheny restaurant had had a very nice German meal. Had we wanted to, we could have walked down to the river and into Pittsburgh. But it would have been a hike and it was cold. The hotel has a shuttle (that we did not use) that would have taken us downtown, had we asked. And would have picked us up when we needed to be picked up. The staff were very helpful. As it turns out, I only booked for one night and we intended to stay two nights. When we checked out they mentioned that they were unaware that we were going to stay two nights, but when they saw our luggage in the room the second day they assumed that we were staying and rebooked us at the same rate for the second day. They have a small parking area across the street which we were able to use, but my guess is that during busy times it is full. There is another parking lot just around the corner from the hotel that you have to use to room key to enter. No big problem. There were very many historical artifacts and the small bar was delightful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Close to downtown.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Nice hotel. Neat old building turned into nice hotel. Shuttle very convenient and helpful driver. Very good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel close to the inter-city.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: The staff, van to Alleghany General Hospital (AGH), restaurants, meetings.
Cons: Faster internet. They provide Dry cleaning but not Laundry service. However, they took care of my laundry for me.
Location: There are excellent restaurants in the area. Check-out "Restaurants" and ":Thinks-to-do" on TripAdvisor
I have been traveling for over 30 years, this is the type of hotel I like to find when I can. It has meeting rooms, is privately owned and staffed with people who care about your stay.In this case my wife had surgery at Allegheny General. Not knowing when she would be released, they coordinated my check out accordingly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great Hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Hotel has a ton of character and I always look forward to staying when I am in Pittsburgh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Beautiful old building. Friendly staff Not far from good restaurants. Easy parking
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels