Ratings based on 839 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ridgewood, NY

Priory Takes Your Money

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Cons: The old building needs care. Too many items are broken down. It also needs a complete cleaning from carpets, mirrors, windows, and sheets.
Location: The neighborhood is unsafe.
The hotel was very accommodating to me arriving early. I arrived after 1 am. The neighborhood is desolate and unsafe. The old hotel needs care and updates. The front door was open and no one was at the front desk for a few minutes. A very polite woman Lorinda finally arrived and checked me in. She did request a credit card to charge an additional $50 for incidentals even though the hotel details indicates these additional charges are assessed upon checkout. As I entered my room, I noticed a pungent smell. The carpet has a large white stain and dark stains throughout. The chair also has stains. The mirrors are dusty and the bedsheets were stained. The room lighting is dim but you can see the stains on the covers. The mirrors were dusty as well. I did not enter any further. I called Expedia and explained how I found the room. I went down within 10 minutes and told Lorinda of the conditions of the room. I did not want to stay there. Because there was not a manager there that night, she could not process my refund but both she and the Expedia agent said it would be taken care of in the morning. I had to book my 3 night stay at another hotel. Tuesday, I had to call again to request the refund. The manager Amy stated she did not have any details and refused to grant the refund. After several attempts, she agreed to refund only one night though I never stayed there. I still have not received my refund for the $50 for incidentals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
The staff were friendly and helpful. The shuttle, and Michael the driver were two bonuses as he was incredibly knowledgeable and his love for Pittsburgh was evident. The hotel was clean, easy to find, and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando Florida

Great staff

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: The history of it
Cons: Bathtubs in the rooms!
Really enjoyed ourselves. Having the shuttle to get to places around the city was extremely helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairport NY

Great little hotel. Wonderful staff.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: All good
Small hotel with great court yard. Very friendly staff. Free shuttle is a bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Stayed when going to the Benedum in Pittsburgh. They have a complimentary van shuttle which was nice and very convenient! We will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by John

One of several great historic inns in Pittsburgh

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
This was my first time staying at the Priory. I've stayed at other inns in the area, including Mexican War Streets (also excellent) and the Mansions on Fifth (my favorite, and also now owned by the same family that owns the Priory). The location couldn't be better. Tons to do within less than a block, fun, funky neighborhood near a park, museums, bars, and of course Banjo Night at the Elks Club (don't miss it). I'll be returning to the Priory next week because I enjoyed my stay so much. The north shore location makes it easy to get around without hitting any traffic
4 out of 5
by Robert

Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was very nice except for the shower. It was very old and small for me at 6'1" 260.
5 out of 5
by Brittany

Beautiful Historic Hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was beautiful and the staff were so nice throughout the stay. The on site shuttle around the area was so convenient and useful!
5 out of 5
by Deborah

Cozy gem

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Great location for proximity to downtown core and sports events. The neighborhood is historic. it seemed like a deserted area when we arrived at night but is in a neighborhood with some run down houses and some nice historic ones. In walking distance to an independent supermarket and the hotels bakery which makes all of the fresh continental breakfast pastries and bagels. The city bus is close for access anywhere in city. Walkable as well. Loved the people working there. Very informative , friendly and helpful. Clean and cozy place. Felt like home. Very reasonably priced. I will definitely stay there again. Online pics don't do it justice .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel is in the GHETTO!

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Thte hotel is in the WORST part of toown! GHETTO!! THe rooms were old, smelly and not at all the BOUTIQUE experience you would have hoped to have. I would think that since your are risking parking your car in a HOOD, then at least there would be lighted parking, a security guard, cameras or something and they should compensate with quality if they are going to charge above 100.00.. The rooms are no better than a bad motel 6 I did not have a bad stay, but the hotel experience did not match the photos or the marketing.