Ratings based on 814 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Security

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Cons: The demeanor of security personnel.
I'm a business traveler and Marriott Rewards member; was staying here for Christmas holiday in the area. Unfortunate interaction with hotel security - people across the hall were rowdy and I was ok with it cause it was the holidays; sounded like they were playing some sort of card game and drinking and as you expect, people are going to be loud. I received a knock on my door from security while I was on the phone and in my boxers. I looked through the peephole and asked to see a badge; the security responded that I better open the door now or they would call the police to enter the room. I opened the door and they told me to "keep it down, we can hear you out in the hall" ; I explained that I was on the phone and ready for bed so I think they had me confused with the room across the hall. It didn't matter, they said just to keep it down what I perceived was an authoritative tone..their security so I expected as much. In any event, I put my dress clothes on and went to the front desk to complain to the manager, She said she would talk to them. Always had good experiences at Marriott but disappointed at this stay. Facility is fine and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chespeake, VA

Wouldn't stay there again

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Nothing really. It was a terrible experience.
Cons: Customer service, breakfast. The vent from the heat/AC unit blew directly onto the bed making for a very uncomfortable sleeping experience.
Location: NA
I never look up amenities when I stay at a hotel because they aren't that important to me. Generally when I stay in a hotel it's because I am on vacation to be out and about doing things. The things I need in a room/hotel are pretty standard. I was disappointed to find no in room safe for valuable, a pool but not hot tub (never seen this before) and no mini fridge for my leftovers. The safe and the mini fridge have become pretty standard for hotels and would definitely expect it from a high end chain like Marriott. On our first night we had VERY noisy neighbors. Quiet hours started at 10 AM and the noise began around 10:30 (we were already in bed because we had a very early morning). I called the front desk 3 times: 10:30, 12:00 AM and 1:00 AM to complain about the noise and NOTHING was done about it. The people were having some type of party, they were yelling up and down the halls, slamming doors and using the noisy ice maker until 2:30 AM. When I complained the next day the manager was apologetic but not forthcoming with anything to make it up to me. I had to repeat multiple times that this unacceptable and he eventually offered us breakfast to make up for it. The $50 breakfast voucher was for a continental breakfast that was sparse and cold. I have had better at hotels that offered it complimentary to all guests. The dining area itself was freezing cold and we had to keep our coats on to eat breakfast. I would never stay here again. There is more but I am out of space
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Put me in a room that connects to another. Can hear regular conversations through door. Room is also above pool and is noisy from that direction. Found a couple bugs on the sheets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Posted Dec 23, 2017
It was a good overall experience. Comfortable room and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Great Place to Host an Event

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: The service teams, location and layout
Cons: Every additional item for hosting a meeting is an extra charge, some of the more basic things like a flip chart could be included.
Location: Never got out except for Burgatory. Great Shakes. The Restaurant at the Hotel is also very good.
I recently had to conduct a training event in Pittsburgh. From the time we made the enquiry, the response and attention to detail was excellent. The events and catering teams were amazing and no request was ignored. We had especially large equipment coming in and they allowed us access to get the goods in even in the bitter cold and snow . Everyone was super helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Good location

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Wasn’t bad except for almost no hot water for shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh PA

Too close for comfort

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Walls are thin I could here people above me in the bathroom and water running down the inner wall Could not get room cool enough and it is winter!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel but heating system doesn't work

Posted Dec 12, 2017
I've done one of these reviews for Expedia before and emailed them but no one contacted me to provide further customer service. The check in was fine and when we got to the hotel room it was nice and clean. Nice staff and definitely nice room! Good location, not too far from PPG arena for the hockey game. It was good to go back on the road from there since the highway was nearby. It has nice amenities but unfortunately was not able to use them. The only problem was that I got a room with a king bed and sofa bed and there was no sofa bed. At midnight my husband and I wanted to go to sleep but the heater wasn't working and we called the front desk and two security officers came and said they can only switch us to another room. We got switched to another room (mind you this is the middle of the night). We got to the new room and it was bigger and it was the room I was supposed to have. But then we found out there was no Mini fridge so the things we have previously had to go to waste since there was no fridge. AND in the middle of the night the room went cold and the water was super cold when taking a shower. Really unfortunate since I used over 16000 points on this hotel !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Excellent Staff and Restaurant ROCKS

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Got check-in after 9 pm on a Sunday, and the staff was exemplary in settling in this weary Traveller. Four HBO channels, super comfy room, and a Bacon Cheeseburger that knocked my socks off. Sometimes I have trouble falling asleep in hotels, but not this one, slept like the dead. Definitely a Gem in the Marriott crown. Thanks for taking such good care of me!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin, tx

Very nice and helpful person at front desk

Posted Dec 3, 2017
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The shuttle bus to the airport was on time and the driver was very nice.