Ratings based on 1,233 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rocky Hill CT

OK

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Good luck checking in with a US credit card using their automated check-in kiosks. It keeps asking you for your PIN number until you're lucky enough to spot one of their staff to check you in. Also, no iron in room, you have to go to the second floor to use a central iron for everyone. TV doesn't work and WiFi auto-disconnects you every 4 hours. The best thing about it it's that it's located in downtown close to everything and you can walk to most things in downtown Brussels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Nathalie Mpitidila, Hotel Management
Dear Jean-Paul, We are sorry that you didn't find satisfaction during your stay in Max Hotel. we try to do our best to solve the problem you have encountered. Thank you for your feedback. With best regards
3 out of 5
by Ashton

Mediocre

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Location of the hotel was quite good-Near the Grand place (1km).. Saddest part is they have this dumb self check in system which didn't accept cash. As I am a foreigner, I expected to pay in cash considering the unfavourable bank exchange rates. Also, there was no proper pillows provided. The hotel informed us that that's all they have (squarish pillow).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017
Dear Ashton, We are sorry that you didn't find satisfaction during your stay in Max Hotel. we try to do our best to solve the problem you have encountered. Thank you for your feedback. With best regards Nathalie Mpitidila
4 out of 5
by susan

Cheap, good location, safe, quiet

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great little hotel , excellent location, very comfy bed. You can walk everywhere and theres food all around. Pillows were weird, I would suggest picking up a cheap one at Primark around the corner. The room was very and clean, but it's getting a bit tatty and the walls and chair were stained. bathroom clean but the drains reared, the TV never turned on altho I asked 3 times, and wi fi only works if you pay extra for fast wifi. Love the little cafe upstairs, it has everything you want. The staff were wonderful.. easy stay, I would book again, I thought it was a tad expensive for one, but two sharing or groups it would be great. Bed was excellent and it was quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Avoid

Posted Mar 30, 2017
I booked this hotel because of its location and the good reviews I read. However when I arrived, the automatic check-in machine didn't find my reservation made via Expedia. Luckily it was the afternoon and an hotel guy emerged from a side-room and helped me check in and get my room card (after 30 minutes). The rooms are super small, with no chair and desk (I needed to work on my computer so this was a problem), and no place to leave your luggage. There is no shower gel or shampoo in the bathroom - you have to buy these from vending machines in the 1st floor. At night some people in other rooms were making terrible noise that prevented me from sleeping. The next morning I went down to have breakfast - you need to buy this from a vending machine, and the coffee is bad. Finally I was ready to check out and the automatic machine wouldn't accept my room card. Had to give it to the guy in the restaurant. In summary, next time I would just pay 20-30 Euros extra and stay in a proper hotel instead.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Room was cold had no heating, and they brought a broken heater?!?!?!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Comfortable minimalist hotel that covers all the essentials: very clean room, great location, comfortable and gives out free croissants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
same like always for the price I give this hotel 5 stars for the room, bed, cleanliness, view, and location. for reality, I can give this hotel 3 stars, not one as official rating a 5 star friendly staff, but don't expect a smile. location is close to everything: shopping, north and central station, metro and bus stops, historic and tourist area. no restaurant service and free Wi-Fi is too slow
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
Paying Euro 105 per night I expected to at least find some shampoo and shower gel