Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Nice resort hotel, on the beach.

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Cleanliness, pleasant staff, wonderful pool, golf cart rentals, etc., etc., etc.
Cons: Expedia letting people know about the shuttle flights out of Belize City to Placencia.
Location: They have many water sports to include: fishing, snorkeling, diving, paddle boarding, Kayaking, ETC. They also have golf carts to rent.
Very nice experience. Felt pampered the whole time. It is a very nice place to stay. The staff is very pleasant and aims to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. We did rent a car, because I didn't want to wait 7 hours for a 3.5 hour shuttle drive. Didn't need a car, due to golf carts that you can rent to go into the village. We weren't told about the 45 min shuttle flight on Tropic or Mayan Air. There is a small air strip approx 20 mins from hotel & hotel will pick you up there. My only complaint would be the mosquitos and sand flies. I was bitten all over, even though I used bug spray. I guess I didn't use the extra strength spray.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nickel & Dimed

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Hospitality, management, the menus, the website.
Location: The best part was the day trip to Xunantunich.
Let's begin by saying that the property itself is beautiful. While the stretch of beach its on isn't really for swimming (lots of seaweed and murky water), the palm trees, the lounges, the pool are all lovely and offer hours of relaxation in the sun. And the staff (mostly waiters, cleaners, beach attendants, etc.) work their butts off for you. But the management side is clearly absent, or lacking in vision. Aside from my own complaints, every day I saw other guests complaining to the staff about the ridiculous rules of the place (towel tickets, for one). Upon arrival, Iseenee (sp?) didn't so much greet us as handed us our key cards and sent us on our way without any real introduction to the place. I asked for a map. She gave me one without a key (so there were lots of numbered buildings but I had no idea what they were). The food at the place is mostly sub-par (though there is a woman who cooks at the pier who is wonderful). Be VERY clear with your food orders and don't take anything for granted. And they nickel and dime you every step of the way. No meals are included (they don't make that clear on their website). In fact, nothing is included aside from your room. I've stayed at better places which at least included a few drinks, but not here. Bring lots of bug spray.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from guatemala

placencia 15 sept

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Cons: room maintenance!! food service!!! electicity prices for the marina and dockage!! are way to expensive!!
we come to this hotel very often! because we use the marina as well!! i think that the maintenance has gone terribly down!!!! as well as the food service!! it usually has great food but the kitchen takes way to long!!! the prices for the electricity and dockage are absurd when we compare to the competition nearby!! roberts grove!! they shoul pay attention to this!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: good food
Cons: Tennis courts were bad and the concierge service was very good
The water at the beach was not swimmable, to dirty and muddy and seaweed ridden
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego California

Can't swim in the ocean due to all the seaweed

Posted Feb 25, 2017
up and down the coast. Frankly if I had known about the Seaweed problem I would never have gone. You can swim in the ocean if you want to take s boat ride over an hour sometimes two hour ride. We were the only two people in the entire property. And yet they charged us $50 to be in a room with the second bed. And the grounds were pretty well-kept except trash cans around the units, laundry and other equipment That could have been way. The price we paid was definitely not worth the experience. Very overpriced. They would only take you by shuttle to the village twice a day. The times they would take you and pick you up we're very inconvenient and there really wasn't anything to do in the Village and didn'thave anybody to really tell you what you should do in the village. So you get to the village and you have to spend five hours there with nothing to do but sit in a coffee shop. The swimming pool was in need of maintenance and other places around the property looked a little shabby. By far the worst experience was the restaurant. The food was extremely overpriced for what you get and really more of a two or three star restaurant. They served us what look like boiled snapper with Jack Daniels barbecue sauce. Wierd. Anyway… Overall disappointing experience. I think if the price of been more reasonable or expectations would have been lower.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Disappointment

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel accommodates those who want pure relaxation ! There are no activities on the hotel premise, there is only one restaurant, the menu is the same everyday. It is on the beach, but the water is so murky that no one attempts to try bathing in it. THe MOSQUITOES were atrocious...I was bitten all over and lived on Benadryl to stop the itch---great way to enjoy a vacation...NOT !!! Would not go back to this hotel again !!!! The employees were not friendly, hardly smiled. The bed was uncomfortable. The room temperature was difficult to control. No ventilation in the bathroom---not even a window, and when you have a small room the stink penetrates and lingers. Overall, DISASTER !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montana

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Great stay!!! Great tours. Great food at the restaurant. Great service
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing service; a little nickled and dimed

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
This place is incredibly beautiful, but just a bit over-manicured perhaps. Felt like were were in South Florida, not Central America. The staff were SO service-oriented (especially Michael at the front desk), but having paid $400+ / night for our room, the $5 Paddle Boarding and Kayaking, the $20 shuttle ride into Placencia Village, the $15 deposit for pool towels, etc. kind of cheapened the magic. Other than that, the property is incredibly well-maintained (really uncomfortable bed, though) and the food in the restaurants was top shelf. Peddle bikes were free, so we peddled to the Maya Beach Bistro everyday for Happy Hour on the beach -- super fun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very nice hotel with good staff

Posted Nov 25, 2015
The place is great EXCEPT for the sand flies. Tiny insects which have a vicious bite. Great hotel with great staff and the pier is amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Denis

It's a nice 4 star hotel with friendly staff

Posted May 26, 2015 on Orbitz
It's a bit far away form Placencia village, but hotel provides free shuttle. A bit of a pain to wait for the driver to bet back, as they are not always on time. Rooms are clean and restaurant is great. One issue - we couldn't use the pictured pier with a gazebo and bar much (if ever) because there was a convention there and they kept other tourists off that pier, while kids from convention occupied the pier of breakfast, lunch, dinner and all activities.