Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF East Bay, California

Absolutely a charming place!

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: Comfy bed and cozy sheets!
Cons: aaahhhh, always room for improvement, so I'd have to say a Buy 1/ Stay 1 free would be great. I could live here! Lol
Location: Just minutes from downtown and Apple Hill. What more could you ask for????
This is a charming home conveniently located to downtown Placerville and Apple Hill. Rita, the inn keeper is wonderful. She fixes an awesome yummy breakfast and is just fun to chat with. The bed was super comfy and I LOVED the sheets. I forgot to ask about them :( and where I can get some. We will be coming back!!!! Thanks Rita
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Walking distance to township. Very comfortable and most helpful staff/owners.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elk Grove, Ca

Hotel right next to a main street

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: The bed was comfortable, the hostess was very nice and a great cook
Cons: the location is right off a main street that is used to go to coloma, can be very loud with car traffic if you are on the street side.
Location: Nice little foot bridge to get to downtown placerville. Cool little shops and some rafting and hiking opportunities in the area.
Basically was just to get away far enough from the kids, but still close enough to home. Think i could've gotten a hotel for much cheaper, but wanted the bed and breakfast experience. The breakfast was to die for, but don't think the money i spent made the breakfast that dynamic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz

A wonderful place to stay

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Cons: There is little room for improvement at Albert Shafsky House.
Location: We spent the days tramping around the woods. As a result we missed out on the interesting shops but the restaurants were open and excellent.
The house itself was as expected; very clean, decorated with lots of antique train stuff in the room we had. Very pleasant and comfortable. What came as a surprise was the food. You would have to go a long way to find a breakfast as elegant as the ones Rita served us. I look forward to staying there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

The Albert Shafsky House

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: The Friendliness of the owners, and the whole feeling the home and decorations give you.
Cons: Parking can be a chore, but not a major issue
Location: We visited the downtown and found many shops to explore, especially the hardware store as it takes to back in time.
The Albert Shafsky House is a stately Victorian close to downtown Placerville and staying there takes you back to the early years of Placerville. The location is perfect to explore the downtown and it is easy to travel to local attractions. Rita and Stephanie are fabulous individuals and make you feel like part of the the local community. The breakfast creations are awesome and we enjoyed conversations with other guests as we ate. A remarkable experience and we plan to visit again. Very Romantic!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome Stay

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
The women who run this bed and breakfast are wonderfully hospitable. The food is excellent in the morning. Wonderful time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lodi, Ca

Cozy B & B

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Small, nice, personal touch
Cons: Nothing
Location: Stayed in
Very nice stay - the owners were very pleasant and Lily was a good pup
5 out of 5
by Tereza from Mountain View, California

Cozy and Friendly B&B

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels
My friends and I stayed here for one night before heading out to a rafting trip. The B&B was cozy and the hosts were friendly. I would highly recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay! Great Breakfast!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Stayed in Placerville for two days. Hotel is close to historic downtown. Walking distance. Very friendly innkeepers. Wonderful breakfast. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy access to downtown Placerville

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: It was nice to be able to take a 5-10 minute walk to downtown and eat at the many good restaurants there.
Location: Cascada, a high end Mexican restaurant, was excellent. It was nice checking out the small local museum to get a flavor of the history of the area.
Very attractive B+B with a welcoming hostess. NIce breakfast.