Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great Choice, if you like old stuff...

Posted Jan 15, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Glenmorey Inn. The breakfasts were fabulous. I made the reservation in a hurry and so did not fully understand this is a very old house. The floors are creaky, the heating system (we were there in winter) ad hoc, and the mattresses soft and lumpy. If you like antiques and history, this is the place for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Great Location, fun stay

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: A very charming BnB. Located in a perfect spot for walking to downtown Placerville yet far enough away to give you space.
Cons: The bed in our room was awful. Every time I moved it squeaked and groaned. It simply wasn't put together well. Also, the hot water valve in the tub was broken and we only used it once...long enough to discover it was broken.
Location: Great location. Easy walking distance to downtown. Close to the many ranches, orchards and wineries in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Tom is the best. Wonderful breakfast. Great location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Conveniently located near Old Town Placerville

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Old Town Placerville and nearby Apple Hill Orchards.
We were greeted warmly by our B&B host. He gave us a tour of the home and then gave directions for walking to Old Town Placerville. One of his recommendations for dinner in OT was the Heyday Cafe, and we were delighted with the healthy food choices and the gracious service. The prices were reasonable, as well. Our B&B room had a lock and key for it's main door, but the patio door to our room was not able to be locked. It appeared to be broken, and I shared my concern with the host when checking out. The breakfast table service, which was set on an attractive fabric tablecloth, was eye candy. However, the breakfast appeared to be the "heat and serve" type. In all fairness to the host (we never saw the hostess during our stay), I do not know if my perception was true. Of the four plates served that morning to guests, each egg dish was cooked exactly the same and looked exactly the same after being plated. Even though tasty, the eggs, deli ham, and toast did not taste freshly cooked from scratch. My husband and I enjoyed our leisurely conversation with the other couple at the B&B breakfast time. One of the benefits of a B&B is in meeting people from all over the world and the USA, sharing a meal together at a leisurely pace and in a pleasant atmosphere. To me, this is one of the most memorable blessings of staying in a B&B.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Full of Charm & History

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
I was amazed when we pulled up to this B & B. I felt like I was transformed back in time when I used to visit my great-grandparents home. This place was full of charm, and was built in the 1850's and everything about it brought us back in time. The Innkeeper made us feel very welcome, and was very helpful and polite, and made wonderful breakfasts for us. We will make this an annual trip in the Fall because of the apple picking, and we will definitely stay at the Glen Morey Country House B & B Inn when we go back each year!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Posted Oct 8, 2016
This B&B is located on a very steep and narrow rd in Placerville - you could drive down the hill park and take the overpass into town which was convenient during the day. The breakfast was very good - everyone ate at a table for 8 - I was surprised that there wasn't an extra blanket in the armoire in the bedroom - it became quite chilly that night. Also the shower was in an old tub - not that convenient for anyone who might have trouble getting in or out with no rubber mat to avoid slipping.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara

Comfort and character

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
This is a beautiful place stay if you like older style (19th century) homes. The owners are very welcoming and Tom cooks an excellent breakfast. (Caramel apple french toast!) It has a nice living room area with an extensive library, some board games, and even a few toys for kids. We definitely got more than we expected during our stay. The location is only a couple of blocks from Main Street in Placerville with numerous dining options. It's also a very convenient place to stay if you are planning to go rafting on the American River, which we did.
4 out of 5
by David from Hayward

Whitewater Rafting and Wine

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
A little hard to find but very nice B&B. Tom, or host, was very gracious and knowledgeable about the area. The room was very clean and decorated with lots of old pictures & antiques, mostly of Scotland and the British Isles. The breakfast was delicious with quite a variety, generous portions and served piping hot. I would recommend this B&B if staying in the Placerville area or when whitewater rafting on the American River. Don't forget to go wine tasting in El Dorado County. The wines are excellent and fairly priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey Bay

Picturesque BNB walking distance to town

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: The comfort and safe feeling and lovely picturesque location. Also loved the close proximity to town. Can't stop there. Loved Breakfast!!!
Location: Located on opposite side of Hwy 50 from downtown Placerville but quite near the walking overpass to town. Placerville has great restaurants and shops
I chose the Glen Morey for a weekend with my granddaughter to celebrate her 12th birthday. I was coming from 3 hours away and her family lived down the highway 20 minutes in the big city. I wanted us to have an 'experience' different from a hotel in Sacramento yet I did not want to drive far after coming up from Monterey Bay and needing to return the next day. The Glen Morey was picturesque, quaint, comfortable, safe for two girls and in a lovely setting. I was very pleased to find, once we got there, that we could walk a short distance over the highway on an enclosed walkway to downtown Placerville also. We felt very welcomed and were shown around the premises and told some of the history of the place. The grounds are lovely. The bathroom was quite large. The bed was comfortable for a full nights rest. There are 4 rooms yet none back up to each other so it was quiet. We were shown where to turn on the coffee maker should we awaken earlier than the other guests, which I did. There was a nice living room area to read. We loved our breakfast of scrambled eggs, sausage (although I don't eat meat it was available) and yummy apple cinnamon french toast served with OJ and more coffee. We ate in town at Farm to Table and that too was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, Ca

Bed and Breakfast

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Location near the old town With-walking distance
Cons: Heater in bathroom Water pressure Rug in the sitting room needs replaced
Location: walking to old town. Love the old town. Apple Hill
Very nice warm family as Host and Hostess Wonderful and quiet place to stay. Will stay again if we need a place near my Daughters home.