Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Richard from NY City

Give it a try!

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed a few days while there for my kid's wedding. The room was clean and functional rather than fancy. The staff was extremely nice and helpful with suggestions about places to tour and to eat. A nice little town with extremely friendly people.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Tahoe, Calif.

Disappointing amenities

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: It was close to everything in town and close to the freeway.
Cons: Update the furnishings and comply with what is stated in the amenities.
Location: As stated above. Close to freeway , restaurants, shops, etc.
Outward appearance seemed o.k. but the room had old fixtures, small T.V., uncomfortable chairs ,mattress and old carpets. It was not what I expected from the description on Expedia. It did not meet the amenities that were stated. They did not offer the continental breakfast when I checked in and I did not see any indication that they were serving it. I feel that the price of the room did not reflect what was offered. The only good thing is that the room itself was clean.
2 out of 5
by Robert from San Jose CA

Gold County Inn visit for the Casino

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
The man at the front desk was very nice. He greeted me kindly and inform me about a free shuttle service. The room itself was poor condition but with the price I paid for and comparing the other hotels. This room is decent and I will come back again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Get what you pay for.

Posted Apr 18, 2015
It is clean, quaint & serves its purpose. The staff is friendly & helpful. It is a fit for the area, an old gold mining town. This is not fancy by any means but you should happy with it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, Utah.

Close to downtown, and conveniences.

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Its in a fairly quiet, safe area of town. I stay there when visiting near the Sacramento Area because I feel safe there.
Cons: The rooms are showing a little wear and tear, and could use a mild make over to freshen them up.
Location: Marshal Historic Park in Coloma, is just a short hope on HWY 49. There is nothing better to peek the interest of kids than to visit real history.
I've stayed at the Gold Country Inn on several visits to the Placerville area. My room is always clean and acceptable. Its in a safe part of town. I like the easy access to the freeway. I usually take a run over to the Marshal Gold Discovery Park, while I visit. Its about 15 miles on scenic Hwy 49. Visit on the second Saturday of the month for a special treat. My grand children were thrilled to actually find gold from the very river where James Marshal found his that started the 1849 gold rush.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose ca

The room was confy and aseptable

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Was nice very romantic night they need to put more blankets and little more of ventilation system in the smoking rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

not so good

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Pretty clean.
Cons: Paint, update rooms, better continental breakfast!
Location: Had to drive to shops, restaurants & any activities.
Hotel was not in a good location, continental breakfast consisted of very weak coffee & not so great roll. Room was very out dated but pretty clean, thank goodness. Wifi was almost non-existent, could not stay on line!
3 out of 5
by Ricardo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by william from Wildomar


Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
No problem had a nice stay