Ratings based on 494 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice hotel, excellent location

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Location and comfort.
Location: Main Street Placerville is charming and the hotel was close to shops, restaurants and Highway 50.
We spent two very comfortable nights at the hotel. The staff was friendly and the room was good. The location was the best. The days we were in Placerville the temperature was over 90 so it was wonderful to be able to sight see for a while and then go back to the hotel. We'll stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Charming Hotel, center of Historic District

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Lot's of historical data available in throughout the building.
Very clean and comfortable accommodations, quiet, slept like a baby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Will come again!!

Posted May 23, 2017
Location: The Winesmith is a wonderful and very friendly little bar near the hotel! Definitely recommend going there for after dinner drinks and music!!!
Never stayed here before, but it will be definitely our go to place when we are in Placerville!! Awesome location to restaurants etc!! All within walking distance. Your elevator did scare me with the stops and starts, but I made it, so it's ok!!! Just keep up the warning!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun place to stay

Posted May 22, 2017
Great location! Nice helpful staff. Rooms were comfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno

Old charm

Posted May 20, 2017
For the most part we enjoy staying here as long as it's during a time when the rates are reasonable. This particular visit was disappointing in that the only two rooms available were either right on the street, or in the back near the ally, the garbage truck was emptying dumpsters at 3:30 am. Also, there was one small bar of soap to share between the sink and shower, and only one bag of decaf coffee (which we didn't realize until the morning). Overall, for what they charge, they could provide better amenities. We had to unplug the refrigerator at night -- too noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yerington Nevada

Historic and cozy

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: I would say parking but given the size of the town and its age and historical origins, that's really not possible.
Location: So much. Little shops, antique stores, restaurants, historic mining sites. So much. Stay for a few days!
We had spent the previous night at a flee trap of a motel in Sacramento that was the same price as this one. Dirty, loud, bad staff, bad guests, you name it (we did not book that one through expedia). We arrived at the Cary House about an hour be for they were going to lock up the main entrance, the desk clerk had just called us to leave contact info so they could get us checked in if we arrived late He helped us with parking info, restaurant info, showed us the layout and made sure there was nothing else we needed before he closed up (guest can still come and go of course) the hotel is 170 years old so it's not the Marriott. If that's what you are looking for then make your reservations there. If you want to step back in time this is the place. They have modern conveniences, WiFi, TV's, cable, etc., but it is old. The rooms are small but well furnished and comfortable. The building creeks and grains during the night but so does my husband. There are rumors of ghosts but I think a lot of that can be credited to the aforementioned creeks and groans. My daughter and I had a thoroughly restful night dispute being on the second floor overlooking the town's main street. It was great and we do plan to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Tahoe

Walk everywhere in Placerville

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Historical signifigance
Cons: na
Location: Good shopping and food were close.
Nice hotel..but Expedia needs to accept my review without other information or I will not take the time or effort to review the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Historic Placerville at its best

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Loved the history of the hotel. Beautiful lobby decorated with interesting artefacts, wonderful old elevator and personalized bedrooms.
Only stayed one night (en route back to SFO) - wish it had been longer! Placerville is a delightful little town and this is a lovely old hotel to stay in..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Great value

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Great to be in the middle of the main street in the historic gold rush town of Placerville.
Location: Lots of nice antique shops and restaurants surround the hotel on Main Street. Close to Marshall Gold Discovery State Park.
Great to be in the middle of the main street in the historic gold rush town of Placerville.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute place in history.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
This is a cute hotel that give you a big piece of history. Located downtown Placerville its right in the heart of this lovely little town and its great shopping and food. The hotel itself is very quaint and clean. The rooms are old fashioned and like being at a great aunts home with their decor and history but they are clean and tidy and ours had a small kitchen. It's not the Ritz but it's good for the price and we'd stay there again.