Ratings based on 627 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, CA

Lovely hotel and beautiful little town.

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Friendly people, i wish we could have stay longer. But we definitely will visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Central location

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Pros: I like that we can have two bedrooms and room to spread out. We also like sitting on the balcony and people watching.
Cons: The sink in our bathroom is damaged @nd needs to be replaced. Old is great, but unattractive ness is not.
Location: We walk the El Dorado trail and have a choice of many great restaurants and shops.
I meet a friend here every year. We love the “oldness” of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Placerville, CA

Central location

Posted Feb 6, 2018
The staff was very friendly. They offered assistance with luggage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Chester, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lake Berryessa, CA

Vintage

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Pros: The "old" feel.
Cons: Mark the step down as you come out of the elevator into the lobby.
Location: Love the little shops. Could use a decent mani/pedi shop.
Love the vintage looking rooms. Very peaceful. Nice sheets and pillows.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Nice historic hotel...that lost our reservation

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Pros: Beautiful.
Cons: Check in staff in evening not knowledgeable. Not acceptable on a busy Friday night.
It's a nice historic hotel, but you have to understand what you're getting into. They lost our reservation, then couldn't put us into the suite that we had reserved due to 2 of the rooms not having been cleaned. The first one they gave a us key to had a "do not disturb" sign hanging on the door. We eventually ended up in the bridal suite which would've been fine if we weren't traveling with our 6'4" son, who had to sleep on the small rollaway bed. Being on the 4th floor, the hot water never arrived. Not a horrible experience, but I'm glad we were just looking for a place to sleep for the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Cary House Hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Pros: We loved everything about this hotel. Absolutely everything.
Cons: I didn't run across anything that needed improvement that I can think of.
Location: GREAT location, right on Main Street. We met a group of friends and bounced from restaurant to restaurant on an appetizer/cocktails evening.
Everything about the Cary House Hotel was excellent. We were fortunate enough to stay in the Honeymoon Suite. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nevada

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Very nice and relaxing stay. The staff was so accommodating . it was truly a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento ca

Feels like Disney’s Haunted Mansion

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Great experience! Nice hotel. Cool history. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Very nice and pleasant place to stay. We enjoyed ourselves and this nice town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Very nice historic hotel. The room was clean. The staff was very friendly, & helpful. Very nice pleasant experience, & we will be back.