Ratings based on 1,369 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Disco not a hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Its a nice location and has decent facilities
Cons: If they are hosting parties, they should let you know when you make the booking
I checked into hotel Arena and saw there was a party. I asked the receptionist if I can be in a quiet spot and she mentioned that the rooms are all quiet and that I am in the new part of the building. By 2am I was frustrated as there was constant beat and techno music, so I called and they said that it will be probably over by 2:30am (no apologies). It wasn't before 3am that I managed to sleep. It was like a Motel 6. I think its probably a good spot if you are going to party, but then it is not a hotel in a proper sense. Avoid it if you are traveling for work or hoping to get some rest. I asked to talk to manager at checkout and they said he wasn't there and that he will contact me during the week. No such contact.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Location, decor, staff
Cons: Pillows and mattress were hard. The hall way doors slam making it difficult to sleep as guests are arriving and leaving at all times of the day.
Location: Park is stunning, easy walk to central.
Beautiful hotel and location! Absolutely loved Hotel Arena. Staff was friendly and helpful. Only critic is that the beds are very uncomfortable, and the hallway doors slam making it difficult to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Team Hotel Arena, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Arena. We are happy to read you enjoyed the location of our property and the friendliness of our staff. We are sorry you did not have a good night sleep. Please do not hesitate to contact us in advance next time you decide to visit to our hotel so we can check with you how we can help you. We are sure there is something we can do for you to make sure you have a wonderful stay next time. Best regards, Team Hotel Arena
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, paper thin walls

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The hotel itself looks lovely, it's very well kept throughout. The rooms are nice, but I would say I wasn't expecting our room to be over two different floors. It wasn't a massive problem, and was quite quirky but definitely keep this in mind if you have issues with stairs. The room was clean, very nicely laid out. We weren't keen on the see-through bathroom though. There's being close in a marriage, and then there's too close! Also the cold/hot tap didn't work very well. If you put it all the way to cold, and full blast it went boiling hot. If you put it all the way to cold but had it on dribble it was cold. Also, the walls were paper thing. I don't know what it was but there was continual buzzing sound during the night, like drilling or something, that would start up and then stop, and start again. So I didn't really sleep very well at all. Also if someone walked past your room you could hear the entire converstion, and count their steps. You were also only give one, small pillow each, and we couldn't find another one in case we wanted it. Plus, one side of our curtain rail was damaged so we could only half shut our curtains. It is a nice hotel - the location is great, and it looks beautiful, but it was just a shame about the thin walls to be honest. Everything else could easily be fixed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Team Hotel Arena, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Arena during your last visit to Amsterdam. We are sorry for the inconveniences you encountered and we will try our best to make sure we fixed these issues. We are glad to know you enjoyed the location of our hotel and our rooms, and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards, Team Hotel Arena
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The hotel is beautiful, easy to take the tram and subway..! The staff could be nicer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Our room had been downgraded from what we had paid for but was changed upon complaint
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh-Durham, NC

Beautiful hotel in the park.

Posted Sep 3, 2017
We started with one of the duplex rooms that was situated on 2 floors, we switched from that to a room all on one floor and were very happy the rest of our stay. I especially liked the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

fantastic hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Location: very near to Metro and tram points. Only a 5 minute journey and you are in city centre.
we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Arena. Our room was fab, great food, really helpful staff and lovely setting in a local park. Nothing bad to say about it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dromore

Quite Amsterdam

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Away from the Centre and in a park surrounded by great bars & restaurants
Cons: Nothing
Quite Hotel based in beautiful park. We have stayed here a few times and have always had a lovely time. The restaurant is excellent too and the staff very helpful. We are staying again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australian

Close to all my requirements

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: As above and very helpfull staff
Cons: Description of the mezzanine bed
Location: Transport so close,beautifull location
As above, beautifull location,helpfull staff,weather great,wonderfull city,very friendly locals ,all very happy to copr with non dutch speaking person
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunfermline

Close to main tourist areas

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel is very comfortable and within walking distance of the main tourist area. Clean comfortable rooms. Good food served by friendly staff. Some of rooms not suitable for the elderly due to narrow staircase up to the bedroom area. This was our second stay and we would stay there again