Ratings based on 1,201 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice fun, staff made stay very enjoyable.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff.
Cons: A dresser to put clothing in or a closet for a week stay wasn't really any place to unpack.
Location: Location was good, tram stops nearby so everything was close. There was a nice restaurant and coffee café across the street and supermarket as well.
Wouldn't do the breakfast buffet every day again or stay there for a week again. It was a great hotel and the staff was the best. The room was interesting but wouldn't spend a week there again. Maybe a weekend or 3 days. The breakfast buffet got old and there wasn't a lot of variety but otherwise great food! The steak I had for dinner was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel. On the canal. Clean and friendly.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
I love Amsterdam and have stayed in a few hotels - this hotel was clean and friendly with a different twist. We had the cheapest room that was like a mental institution room but it was fun. It is a good half an hour walk or a 5 minute tram ride to the station. Hotel has lots of history on the stairway but I wish it was in English!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too cool for school

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Awkward designed spaces, room facilities too cool for school or even to make a cuppa tea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

funky hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Funky hotel with great shared spaces to see art and design work. Lovely staff. Good location. But room stuffy with no natural light or air and no air con. Too hot to sleep and it wasn't even a warm day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Great artsy hotel on the outskirts of Amsterdam

Posted Jul 10, 2017
A really nice quirky hotel set in the outskirts of Amsterdam but not too far away. It took us about 40 minutes to walk to Centraal station and is perfectly located next to 2 tram lines that take you to the centre (Centraal) or around the outer ring (Rijksmuseum/ Heineken Experience/ Anne Frank Haus and the only windmill proper in the city area). We stayed in the Level 2 room and had plenty of space. Even on our grade (2 star) you could feel a lot of attention to detail and artistic quirks in the room. Breakfast was a bit on the pricey side but only if you're not used to Amsterdam prices. The free tea and coffee amenities were great and towels were provided (this wasn't on the hotel description but good to know in advance)! Overall we had a great stay, and I would recommend anything from Level 2 or above :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England, London

Artistic hotel not far from city centre

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Hospitable staff
Cons: Better flooring in rooms and sectioned off showers in the rooms
Location: City centre nearby
About 10mins tram ride to city centre so a great location. 30 seconds walk from a nice supermarket, friendly staff and quirky rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hollywood, Fl

PERFECT, WOULDN'T CHANGE A THING

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: See notes avove
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location, short tram to centraal station, or the passenger terminal.
perfect location, not to close, just a short tram to the Centrum. The Staff is OUTSTANDING!!! Robin and the front desk team went out of their way to accommodate an early check in for my sick wife and Flora in the cafe took special care of her with a great Ginger Tea and constant checking till the room was ready. The Facility is marvelous, historic and quaint with a rustic charm. when in A'dam again, we will be sure to Check In at the LLoyd.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Downgraded

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Wotif
We booked standard room, but when we checked in they advised us of an UPGRADE To room 4 in the basement above was some sort of reception room all we heard was foot steps from staff till 1.30 am and car traffic. They offered to shift us at 1.00 am and apologized but that was too difficult to do. We left at 6.00 am
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Great location in Eastern Docklands area with easy access to Centraal and Museum district by trams
5 out of 5
by Sergio

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
This was a cool place to stay in. The design was interesting and the history was fun. The restaurant is really nice as well. Only downside is the location, a bit far from all of the Amsterdam sightseeing....but you can rent a bike and see it all quickly.