Ratings based on 787 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Lovely Hotel - couple of disapointments

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: very clean, very nice staff and modern rooms
Cons: room size needs to be bigger
Location: out of the main center - 25-35 minute walk... Not sure on whats close as we couldnt find anything
we booked the hotel last minute after being let down on an apartment, arrived early and was able to check in at around 10am which was great (check in is normally 3pm) - The Staff were extremely friendly, the rooms were extremely clean and the beds were very comfortable... The pillows however were abit too big, and the room was Extremely small, im talking we had around 30cm around our bed, a small walk way from the door to bed and when you sat on the toilet your knees were touching the wall.. the shower was also very small, but in general it was very modern.. We also wasnt aware that there was a refurb going on, which was the case when we arrived.. this meant there was scaffolding all around the building (Directly outside every window)- and the reception had been moved in to a ground floor room with the 'communal' area / reception chill area being shut off most of the time... We also thought the hotel was slightly closer to the center than it was, it was a good 25-35 minute walk from dam square, which we thought it was only 15 minutes, but thats our mistake!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Hans, Hotel Management
Dear Luke, thank you very much for writing your review and for your comments. Kind regards, Hans
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norwich uk

lovely stay

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Nice clean tidy hotel, walkable distance to center. There are trams available just over the road. Would recommend the hotel and if I was to visit Amsterdam again would most deffinitly stay at the Lancaster again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Hans, Hotel Management
Dear Lucy, thank you for writing your review and for staying with us. Kind regards, Hans
5 out of 5
by hannah

Great hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
Just out of central amsterdam so its a nice quiet safe area, we walked to central amsterdam was a nice strole around 15/20 minutes so we decided to get a tram pass as there was a stop right outside the hotel! We bought a pass from the hotel it was 12.50 euros for 48 hour and was 5 minutes to the centre dam square. Hotel was lovely they let us have our rooms early and clean and modern we booked just a small double room but there was plenty of room i wouldnt class it as small at all. Great stay will definalty stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Hans, Hotel Management
Dear Hannah, thank you for your review and for your kind words. Best regards, Hans
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gain

Never again

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Coffee machine
Cons: service and amenities
Location: poor location. far from city.
Hotel did not take responsibility for the power outage in our room which damaged my Macbook, almost causing the room to catch on fire. They were unaware of what an incident report was and gave me the run around. There was no air condition no iron. Pretty much a hostel with carpets.....Never again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Hans, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, thank you for writing your review. We spoke at the desk about the macbook and the fact that there was smoke coming out of your charger. I explained that the power could not have caused the smoke but the charger might be the problem. You went to the Apple store to check this and you would let me know the results but I never heard from you again. You mentioned in an earlier review that you thought that airconditioning should be available in a hotel and I explained to you that we do not have this and it is not shown any where on our website. I asked you where you had seen this on the website and your answer to this was not a very nice one. I am glad that you emjoyed your coffee and hope that you enjoyed your trip. Kind regards,
3 out of 5
by Kwadia from Scotland

Good hotel, good location but small rooms

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel with good location. Rooms are of a smaller size but that's expected in older Amsterdam buildings. Our bathroom was tiny and cramped. Our room was on lower level so very noisy with street noise and tram rumbles. The staff were kind enough to offer us an alternative the next day but we didn't bother. We got free breakfast both days as a courtesy from the hotel. Overall 3 Star is the perfect rating!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Hans, Hotel Management
Dear Kwadia, thank you for writing your review and thank you for sharing your comments. Our rooms are small as advertised on the websites. I am happy to read that my colleague from the reception desk contacted you after reading your review on the internal review app and he could help you. I hope we may welcome you again. Kind regards, Hans
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value for money!

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Modern-ish rooms, travelodge standard. Friendly staff, had a slightly late start, but the staff were fine with it, did not hurry us. Fantastic location, so because of that I would say amazing value for money, 5 minutes on the tram and you can be anywhere you want in the centre! Good chinese restaurant outside, kebab shop...nice park to sit outside the hotel and have a smoke...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Hans, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for your review. It is good to read that have had an enjoyable stay with us and I hope that we may welcome you again in the near fjuture. Kind regards, Hans
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Great location and well maintained building. Breakfast was very good, including the attention of Maria. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Hans, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for your review and for the compliment to Maria, I will certainly pass this on to her. Kind regards, Hans
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta,, georgia

Nice hotel close to tram stop

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Mohammed, Mohammed. He gave my wife and me a pleasant memory of our stay in this hotel.
Cons: Try to get more Mohammed to this hotel.
Location: Pleasant location, opposite the zoo and you can see the flamingos from the street if you are too cheap to pay for zoo entrance
My most enjoyable stay in this hotel was because of the reception staff. His name is Mohammed Mohammed charted the way for me to see all exciting sites in Amsterdam.He gave me a lot of tips from taking taxi to whatever I wanted to know about the city. He is courteous, likeable and has a very pleasant personality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Hans, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Madam, thank you very much for writing your review and for your kind words towards Mohamed. I will pass your review on to him. Thank you for staying with us and I hope that we may see you again in our hotel. Kind regards, Hans
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel for a short break to Amsterdam. Perfect location within walking distance of popular spots including rembrandtplein and dam square and right next to a team stop if you don't fancy walking. Stayed in the basic twin room which was a perfect Base for our holiday. Good size with comfortable beds and a very clean shower room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Hans, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Madam, thank you very much for rating us with 5 stars and for your kind comments. I hope we may welcome you again in our hotel. Kind regards, Hans
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted May 12, 2017
Perfect for family stay. It is very close to Central Station, situated just opposite to Artis zoo and with in walking distance of De Gooyer Windmill. The Tram stop is 3 min walking distance. The staffs are very well behaved and helpful. I personally recommend everyone to try this place out if visiting Amsterdam.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Hans, Hotel Management
Dear Indranil, thank you for taking the time to write your comments and thank you for your kind words towards our staff. I will pass this on to them. Kind regards, Hans