Ratings based on 523 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Had a pleasant stay at the Tropen hotel. Transportation was very close and east to get to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from poenix, AZ

Terrible hotel, overpriced

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Very small rooms and bathrooms NO air conditioning in the room Very old dated decor through out the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Perfect location and great stay

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I cannot recocmend this hotel enough ! From the minute we walked in to the minute we left the staff couldn't have been nicer and the hotel couldn't have been cleaner. The room was spacious with very good facilities however the only complain/recommendation I would have for the hotel is that there wasn't a mirror with a plug socket near in the room. There was a lovely mirror area in the bathroom however there wasn't any plugs next to it so was complicated trying to dry hair without a available mirror. However this was only a mirror complaint about the hotel and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Amsterdam. The location is perfect and is easily accessible by the number 9 tram which stops outside the hotel and the walk is clearly lit at night. The room was emasculatly cleaned every day with fresh towels and bedding. One day we even left our safe open by mistake (which you get for free) and everything was in it when we returned therefore the staff/cleaner was very honest and decent. We never ate breakfast in the hotel as it was quite expensive (12€ per person per day) however there are loads of close by shops/cafe's that offer a great selection to eat (especially LOUIE). The park next to the hotel is beautiful and we enjoyed a walk through there in the mornings. Overall I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough overall as it offers a great facility for the money and was extremely pleasant to stay in. Thank you again for a great stay!! :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Houssein, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Budget Friendly Hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: It was in more of a residential neighborhood and great location for public transportation. Very safe and not noisy.
Location: Convenient tram right outside the hotel. Two pubs within two blocks and a great public park right outside the hotel. Restaurant De Kas nearby.
The Tropen is located beside a lovely park that is about a 15 minute tram ride from Central Station in Amsterdam. There are several pubs and a bakery across the street that are convenient. The breakfast buffet was great with lots of fresh bread, fruit, eggs, sausage, juice, etc. The bed was comfortable and room was clean. Make sure to bring your own soap, shampoo, etc. and wash cloth.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by Jady Kreyenbrink , Hotel Management
Dear Pat, Thank you for your lovely words. Nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.k

Great hotel with fantastic staff.

Posted Aug 2, 2017
A great hotel with fantastic staff who were all most helpful during our stay at the Tropen Hotel. We had a great 3rd floor family room overlooking the park which has lovely views, the cleanliness of the room was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by Jady Kreyenbrink , Hotel Management
What a lovely review ! Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. Hope to welcome you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to the city

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: very friendly and helpful staff
Great time friendly and helpful staff in a good setting
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by Jady Kreyenbrink , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your kind words. I have shared them with the staff. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

great location

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Nice hotel, in a great location. The staff were all so friendly and would cater to anything we would need. Highly recommend this hotel. Tram line right outside, or a walk of about 20/30 mins into central Amsterdam. Would definitely stay here again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by Jady Kreyenbrink , Hotel Management
Dear Kelly, What a lovely review and kind words! I have shared them with the staff. We would love to welcome you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely hotel, on the edge of the centre

Posted Jul 19, 2017
A first trip to Amsterdam So glad we chose the Tropen Hotel Not pretty on the outside, but it is the inside that counts Fab room, spacious clean and well appointed. Wonderful staff, always helpful with a nice nature. Great views from the eighth floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Houssein, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from hoddesdon

nice hotel near to nice park

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: just about every thing
Cons: not much
Location: great location near to park and bars
nice break near to centre of town great park next door
3 out of 5
by Babak

Not worth the value

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
The problem is mostly that the photons are not representative of the reality! The hotel is an old building that would collapse down in the near future, the balconies are closed to access with the risk of being unsafe. Regardless of the staff try, it would remain unclean looking. I appreciate the help of the staff upgrading our room to a bigger one so the baby cot could fit. Probably you can find a better deal with the same money!