Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gambrills, MD

Cpt Josiah Cowles Place-Historic &beautiful

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: This is a beautiful Inn owned by a couple who gave great hospitality & service. This is an Inn-B&B which is on the National Registry of Historic Bldg
Cons: I can't think of anything right now.
Location: Great restaurants!
This is a beautiful old home (c 1730), that is now used as an Inn-B&B establishment. It is very beautiful, clean and the owners provided a great breakfast and great hospitality ....which included the owners hand made Maple syrup made from the owners' Sugar Maples on the property. It was quite an experience, a real treat to be vacationing for a night in a home/Inn that was built before the Revolutionary War was even thought of and on the National Registry of Historic Homes/Buildings......It still had a lot of the old historic charm, but there also modern ammenities. We would go back again. Thanks to Mary and Dave!
5 out of 5
by Hanna

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
What a wonderful place! Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

The perfect fall weekend!

Posted Oct 27, 2015
What a lovely place! An old historic house yet so well kept. Clean, warm, cozy, it just invites you in to relax and enjoy the beautiful views of fall foliage all around. The room was big, spacious and very clean. The bed and sheets were definitely not what you usually find - so soft and comfortable, we had the best sleep!! Big screen TV with hundreds of cable channels. The bathroom was very clean and pretty. We were touched by Mary and David's warmth, kindness and hospitality. Breakfast was wonderful, with fresh fruit, juices, delicious farm eggs, light fluffy pancakes and homemade syrup! We even brought home a jar, so yummy! The location was exactly what we wanted - a small charming CT town yet very conveniently located. Drugstores, markets and great dining options are within walking distance. We chose to drive to dinner because it was cold at night, only a 5 min drive. All in all it really was a perfect fall weekend in CT, it felt like we were staying with old friends. Wonderful, I highly recommend this place!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Feel at home while travelling for business

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: The little touches, like a personal welcome sign and a very accommodating breakfast menu and schedule.
Location: Several restaurants provided very satisfying meals in walking distance. Two words: craft beer!
I have been working in CT periodically and typically stay at a Best Western or similar. I spotted Captain Josiah's on Expedia and could not have been happier with the difference! The room was very comfortable, private, and peaceful. Breakfasts - pancakes (with their own homemade syrup), omelet, quiche, and fruit - were delicious, and hanging out with Mary and Dave was lovely. Mary went out of her way to ensure that I got to sample some other local treats, which was much appreciated. After being in a car all day for work, I was very pleased to find that within walking distance, the village of Plantsville had plenty of restaurant offerings to satisfying even me (a vegetarian) for three nights.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wonderful b and b

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: the people
Cons: nothing
Location: came at night, left in the morning
wonderful host and hostess who are more than accommodating and generous and just delightful
5 out of 5
by Andy from Boca.

Different, but better.

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels
This was a great little bed and breakfast, not your typical stay. After booking, I got a call from the owners just to introduce themselves, and when I got there, my name was on the door of the suite. Yes, a suite, not just a room, and one of the most beautiful and comfortable suites I've stayed in. Fantastic for the price, quality personal service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Very Lovely.

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: The fact it was a Bed and Breakfast. very cozy.
Really enjoyed the stay here. The host was very nice. They made us feel right at home. The PANCAKE's ! Well take our word they were very good.
5 out of 5
by Breda from Massachusetts

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels
This was our third stay with Mary and Dave Potter at their B&B. They are truly the most hospitable hosts we have ever come across. Dave met us at the car, offered to help with our bags, and introduced us to the other couple staying at the B&B. The next morning, Mary welcomed us as if we were long lost friends and enjoyed a cup of coffee with us while we had our breakfast. She remembered minute details from conversations we had had together during our previous stays, and inquired about family members who had poor health this past year. We HIGHLY recommend that others plan to visit Mary and Dave, even if it is merely to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. During our getaways we've gone canoeing, visited the local amusement park, toured a winery, and quite simply enjoyed ourselves.
5 out of 5
by Chris M. from Brooklyn< NY

Fantastic, Quaint Spot

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels
It was a really quick visit , but the small B&B just off the highway in Plantsville was a spectacular night's sleep. Mary and her husband were so hospitable and the PANCAKES or breakfast were among the best I've ever tasted. Will be here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great owners. Wonderful food.

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: The couple that own it. We also enjoyed the best pancakes ever served with maple syrup made from their own trees.
We were very impressed with the owners of this B & B. They made us feel welcome and they provided us with an over-the-top great breakfast.