Ratings based on 482 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia, USA

NOT A HOTEL AND NOT FAMILY FRIENDLY

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: The internet connection was pretty good, the area was lovely, highly convenient and safe. Plenty nice restaurants and places to see in the area.
Cons: About this "Hotel", everything except perhaps the internet connection. I will only recommend this "hotel" to a back-packer, not to a colleague.
Location: This "Hotel" is next to one subway station. You pretty much can go anywhere from there. Montreal's downtown is only about < 15 minutes away.
This is a HOSTEL rather than a Hotel. The place is pretty much unattended and it seems that somebody photoshopped the pictures to make the rooms look better than they actually are. The bathrooms and toilets room are shared and you pretty much may have a change of seeing somebody almost naked getting out of the bathroom, for if you take your clothes with you, most likely they will get wet because of the huge puddle formed after many people taking baths and nobody taking care of the mess. It seems that only a Venezuelan guy is taking care of the whole place, and if you need to check in, you have to pray that somebody will open the door for you, because the person in charge is apparently almost never there. To "fix" the issue, there is a phone number, which is posted inside the building, that you supposed to call in case you arrive or in case of an emergency. However, how are you supposed to contact this person if you are not able to even to get into the building, and you are not able to make a phone call from your own phone because you are coming from abroad? The beds are dirty and the room I was given was reeked of cigarette smoke. It has no air conditioner and there was a ceiling fan that I thought was going to fall over my bed anytime. The beds never got changed and I had to use the same smelly sheets for about five days. NO BREAKFAST was ever given even though it is advertised on the corresponding Expedia web site.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last resort. The receptionist is a telephone.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Never saw a human hotel staff. There is no continental breakfast (it was advertised). Pillows are skanky. You call someone from a hallway phone to find out where they hid your room key. You can only get to said phone if you're lucky enough someone passes by and lets you in. I wondered if there was hidden CCTV so the owner can keep tabs on us. Not enough safety devices like working fire alarms/ extinguishers. Kitchen was always locked even though there is a sign on the door listing the "open hours." The location is primo, but not worth the gross conditions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The hotel was clean but they didn't provide me the breakfast as it supposed to be.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Dirty hotel, noisy, room stifling, no air conditioning, tv not working, very bad bed , dirty carpet, no breakfast, very high stairs no elevator, no front desk, no staff at all, dirty bathroom, dirty washroom...etc I checked one night and I left this horrible hotel still waiting for my money to be rufund
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

misleading venue

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Poor experience with the staff, and misleading amenities
Cons: Almost everything
Location: The location is prime, nice hipster area of Montreal. Lots of things to do nearby
Terrible experience with check in process, parking is not really as advertised as you leave your car in a public lot a couple of blocks away from the venue (not the facilities parking!)
3 out of 5
by Todd

that which we are; we are

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Great location! It is what it is; a dorm/hostel type environ such as a B&B. My room was clean, there was a light snack for breakfast, and the service was friendly as advertised. Some of the other patrons seemed to be having issues? Came and went as I pleased, nice!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Ghost hostel

Posted May 3, 2017 on Orbitz
The place is very empty and under-manned. It was kind of like a hostel, but without the only major uplifting factor of a hostel: people and community. There was zero staff present for all of my stay, only a number to call with instructions given over the phone. There were even times when the number was unable to be reached with a full voicemailbox. The times I did speak to someone, they were nice and courteous, but the place is clearly severely under-manned.
4 out of 5
by Steve

Clean, Convenient, Adequate lodgings

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was quite adequate. It's in an area of Montreal that doesn't have hi-rise buildings, or more modern hotels. It's conveniently located right beside the Mont-Royal subway stop. Room was relatively spacious. Furniture was a weird mix of whatever they could find, but did the job. In fact, there was more storage space than you often get in fancier hotels. Wifi worked well. Sink in room, and shared toilets and shower down the hall. Free breakfast consisted of coffee, bread, peanut butter, butter, jam, yogurt, and apples. Toaster, microwave, and full oven/stove in the kitchen area. Variety of dishes you can use, with the expectation that you clean up after yourself. This place is not accessible -- you need to carry your luggage up stairs. Provided pillows are rather flat, so bring a travel pillow if that's a problem for you. For parking, they recommended a parking lot a couple blocks away (4353 Drolet St) that costs $12/night. Place was clean, guy running it was friendly. Nothing fancy, but if you want to stay in the Mont-Royal area, it's quite adequate, and at a good price. Would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location and terrible experience

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: It is a 30 second walk to the train station
Cons: Absolutely everything
Location: It is well located to the train
The front door needs a code to open which you're not given when you get there. There is no staff and the number of the door will only respond to text message which you don't know when you arrive. Another guest had to help me check myself in and the smell in the hotel was really bad. I've never given a bad review for a hotel but this was a special level of hell. Once the front door wouldn't open and there was a staff member in the lobby that refused to walk down the stairs to let me in.... IT WAS SNOWING!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pure location, nothing else

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
My first time sharing a bathroom. I found the shower door locked and nobody to ask about. Breakfast was poor, should be better.