Ratings based on 1,761 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2018
The quality of every element was met, including the outside resort adventures. I would absolutely do this again if I had the opportunity. This travel is well rounded and can involve either you and your significant other or a group of friends. Fun for everyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2018 by Sandy Pfeil, Director., Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Bavaro Beach. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Sandy Pfeil Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Barceló Bavaro Beach - Adults Only

Posted Apr 20, 2018
Wonderful vacation and experience. Resort was awesome and well kept. Would definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2018 by Sandy Pfeil, Director., Hotel Management
Dear guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Sandy Pfeil Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lewisville Texas USA

Stuff & Food

Posted Apr 20, 2018
Very nice place. People are so friendly.They can't speek English very well but they can give very good service in all departments. & food are so good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cary, NC

Beautiful Grounds

Posted Apr 20, 2018
We stayed a week at this hotel. This was my first time in the Dominican Republic. The hotel was absolutely beautiful, well kept, the staff was extremely friendly. Not sure we understood each other with the language barrier however, just smile and nod and enjoy everything the hotel has to offer. We had great meals at the restaurants, enjoyed eating at all the different places they had to offer. The water in the Dominican Republic was so clear and crystal blue. The staff was very friendly and courteous and accommodating. If you needed a drink at the pool side they were right there. The only bad experience we had was not with the hotel, but with the Expedia counter downstairs booking a boat trip and taxi back to the airport. Let's just say we paid for a ride, didn't come, late to the airport and had to pay extra costs to take a taxi. The only good thing about that was we were late and our plane was delayed. Thank goodness. really enjoy Barcelo hotel, they upgraded us to a better room and it was lovely. If you need anything in the room, just ask or show them what you need. Take your time if you go and make sure you see all of the grounds, they are beautiful. Note - you are safe at this hotel, I lost three things and someone turned them in and I got them back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Posted Apr 20, 2018
We had a great experience and will return. The staff were excellent! We enjoyed taking the train to the family resort. Kenny at the Escape Room was great we had so much FUN!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2018 by Sandy Pfeil, Director., Hotel Management
Dear guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Sandy Pfeil Director
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Barcelo Bavaro Beach

Posted Apr 7, 2018
Check in was difficult, we went to three different counters before we were directed to the VIP area, which was great, however, the wait is very long to check in after a long flight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2018 by Sandy Pfeil, Director., Hotel Management
Dear guest, First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló Bavaro Beach hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. We have taken good note of your remarks related to the service you received upon check in and apologize for the exceptional wait you expérienced upon your arrival, we will do our utmost to improve on this aspect of our services and extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your loved ones. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Sandy Pfeil Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing resort!

Posted Apr 7, 2018
The resort was amazing! We just wish the food was better. Besides that, we will definitely be returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2018 by Sandy Pfeil, Director., Hotel Management
Dear guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining expérience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Our restaurant team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes on your next visit. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Sandy Pfeil Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, GA

Perfect location.

Posted Apr 6, 2018
This was my 10th year coming here and it is always a pleasure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2018 by Sandy Pfeil, Director., Hotel Management
Dear guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Sandy Pfeil Director
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Just an OK resort

Posted Apr 5, 2018
Pros: the beach location
Cons: the cleaning of the rooms better food better stuff update the rooms better entertainment
we went for our mini- honeymoon, despite the fact we booked a king bed room, they gave us a 2 small beds. I explained to the stuff that it is our honeymoon, they mentioned they will see the day after to change the room, nothing happened till we left When we arrived the room was went, they just finished the cleaning and the bathroom was full of hair everywhere (in the floor, on the bath..) I stepped out and find a cleaning lady, I asked her if she can clean our bathroom, she gave me a "hell no" look and stood there looking at me with disapproval, I informed the reception (that's when they send someone to clean again ..still half way job though) the are is nice (great beach) but the hotel is so-so (quite old) , not as much activities as I expected, in 4 days stay we say couple of games around 11am, one pool party one day the evening show are OK, not the most high quality I ever seeing the nightclub is in the other resort, it was the spring break so mainly kids all over the dance floor) overall OK hotel but nothing spectacular if you are looking for some luxury or more fun PS: the expedia expert there is very unprofessional, he is a total harassment trying to get you to excursions but when it comes to facilitate the transport (that we paid for) he was no where to be seeing and we almost missed our flight because of him ..still didnt hear a sorry from him or expedia ...dont book your transfer via expedia !
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2018 by Sandy Pfeil, Director., Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Barceló Bavaro Beach hotel, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests. We regret your disappointment for not being able to provide you with a proper king bed during your stay however we would like to take the opportunity to point out that all rooms are advertised as having twin beds on our website, nevertheless our housekeeping team will make the beds with double sheets joining the mattresses upon request. We first would like to extend our sincere apologies for the imperfections of service you describe in your review and although your comments do not seem to match the usual feedback we receive both onsite and online, we will make sure to discuss your review internally so as to avoid giving this kind of impressions from our dedicated employees. We are sincerely sorry to read your dissatisfaction with the cleaning of your room, at Barceló we strive to provide total confidence in this area being fully aware that hygiene and cleanliness are aspects of major importance for our guests to feel 100% comfortable in our hotels. We sincerely regret reading your disappointment with our entertainment program mostly because our team strives to provide our guests with a varied assortment of activities throughout the day and live shows in the evening, nevertheless we will make sure to discuss your comments with the head of enteratiment for information and improvement. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Best regards, Sandy Pfeil Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Apr 4, 2018
We had a great time here overall. Some of the food definitely needs to be improved because some of it was gross. The beach was truly beautiful and we enjoyed going to it every day. The pools were also spectacular. The staff did a great job taking care of us. We were also somewhat concerned with the excursions. We went snorkeling and it seemed a tad unsafe? The boat barely started, and the gentleman only took us to one location to snorkel. Then they tried to force us to buy souvenirs at a shop. We also would not recommend leaving the hotel because several people told us it is unsafe to do so.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2018 by Sandy Pfeil, Director., Hotel Management
Dear guest, The vision of our clients is the key to complete guest-satisfaction, therefore we are very grateful for the time you spent writing this review We were very saddened to read your disappointment with the dining expériences, at Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience therefore we will make sure to take your comments into account to improve in this aspect of our services. Moreover we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our pool and beach area. I am grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and I promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel. Best regards, Sandy Pfeil Director