Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Large hotel perfect for a wedding

Posted Sep 15, 2017
We stayed at the Azul Beach this September for a wedding and had a great time! We had the swim up essence suite and loved it! The hotel is big enough to accommodate a large group and there was a good variety of restaurants. Staff was all friendly and the hotel was beautiful and clean! Would recommend this for large groups for sure!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by MC, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope our wonderful team were able to make your stay most comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great resort! Just lacked welcoming

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Lacked welcoming and having the guests get to know the hotel. Eg. I was left walking around for 45mins to just find my room. Feel it was because I didn't speak Spanish as to why I was treated differently Overall though great place to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by MC, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope our wonderful team were able to make your stay most comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Azul Fives Sept 2-9, 2017

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The "gourmet-inclusive" experience with food and service.
Cons: There were a few bugs, but it is Mexico! Maybe a little construction noise control near the beach.
Location: This resort is central to most all the excursions, as well as Playa Del Carmen.
Absolutely phenomenal food and service the entire stay. A little construction going on but that seems to be the norm in the area for about any resort. I was a return guest so I was rewarded with a few special amenities. My room was totally unexpected - a "sky suite" with a full kitchen, dining room, living room and rooftop patio, 2 Jacuzzis, 3 bathrooms, what else can I say!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful grounds, great people, excellent food!

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Grounds were beautiful, room was very nice. People were terrific. Pathways, pools, beach, amenities, chairs--all terrific. The food was exceptional.
Cons: It took some time to have issues addressed. Check in and check out took a long time.
Location: We were there for a wedding and didn't leave the grounds--didn't need to, so much to do. Tour operators and transportation on site if you need them.
This resort is spread out--beautiful, impeccably kept grounds of lush greenery, charming pathways, etc. More pools than I could count, lots of space and chairs by the beach, more restaurants and bars than you can enjoy in a few days and the food is cooked by real "chefs" not short-order cooks--the presentation is lovely and the quality was unexpected for an all inclusive, especially! All of the employees were super nice, always put a smile on their face and said Hola! Wifi was fast, they have a spa, some shops on site, and even when it's rainy (as it was our whole visit) there are covered areas and things to do. They had a teen club. From our villa it was a 5 minute walk, maybe 1/4 mile, to the main pool/restaurants/beach. It's a walk I enjoyed, but they also have golf carts riding around to help if you need a ride. (I wouldn't recommend this resort for someone who can't get around very well on is own.) They try to talk to you a lot about tours and I think timeshares, I avoided. :) TV was not working, but who goes to Cancun to watch TV?
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by MC, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope our wonderful team were able to make your stay most comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice resort, great suites.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Rooms, decor, drink choices , variety of pools.
Cons: Some of the food can be improved. Most staff were very attentive but we did find a few that were not. We waited for a waitress or waiter for 25 min
Location: Town is close
The resort is very nice however very spread out. We did get a lot of walking in. Restaurants are good for the most part. Italian and Thai were our favorites. Mexican was good for breakfast. Suites are very nice and we were happy with how clean and new ours was. Downside was we felt the size of the beach was small compared to the resort size and the public beach is next to the resorts beach. For the most part we were happy with our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South San Francisco

They Treated Us Like Royalty!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Everything !!!
Cons: Allowing guests to put "Do Not Disturb" door hangers outside so housekeepers and beverage personal don't just knock and come in.
Location: The location is ideal. The beach is nice and has a wall surrounding that keeps the water calm. One can arrange tours to do many things
We chose this fine resort after reading the positive reviews on Expedia. After spending 5 nights here we were very satisfied. Hated to leave. The staff here was not interested in just filling up rooms. They went above and beyond to meet all our needs and make us feel welcomed. This resort is nicely set up with a personal concierge situated near our room. Our concierge, Erica, was fabulous in helping us with tours etc. etc. Enjoyed all the restaurants and the friendly wait staff. Our room was a Essence Suite that was almost 1200 square feet. Our back sliding doors lead to a pool that was ten steps away. Which was convenient to go back and forth. We were so impressed with this resort we become Prestige Members so we can return and enjoy this experience again and again!!! We stayed July 8 to July 13, 2017
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg, PA

Hotel "bumped" us out of our room.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Rooms (after we finally got into the one we paid for) is spacious and clean. Pools are nice.
Cons: Hire new front desk management.
Location: Nothing to say.
Upon arrival at the resort, we were informed our reservation was not confirmed through Expedia and we were being bumped from our upgraded room, which was paid in full, to a much smaller room and the resort would try and put us into the upgraded room as soon as possible. They claimed it was all Expedia's fault even though we have confirmations from Expedia and the resort from reservations made five months ago. The resort even tried to make it up by giving us a two hundred dollar room credit that happened to change daily according the the value of the peso, which they did not inform us of. The management of this resort is "sneaky" and dishonest. We will contact Expedia later and get their side of the story.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Customer service - Karisma hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Tombel we are truly very sorry for your experiences on arrival, we can assure you that this is not a true reflection of the service and vacation experience we provide. we are truly very sorry if you did receive any changes to your original reservation ; please do not hesitate to contact the customer services at Karisma hotels and we will be more than happy to review your experiences
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Great food friendly staff. Everyone willing to help tons of dinner options very accommodating
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope our wonderful team were able to make your stay most comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon."
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, good selection of restaurants.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Beach area pretty packed, good selection of restaurants, we loved the fresh juice shop. Very picturesque Thai restaurant with outdoor wicker bulb seating. The sushi restaurant is included and quite good. There is a new section of condos and the units are smaller, but the finishes are modern. The older section has larger spaces, but room service tries to prohibit parties by sending only alcoholic drinks 6 (max) at a time with food (must order with food). The sky lounge would be amazing if they didn't blast classic rock all night, gin bar was cozy, but not the same beach vibe since it was further into the lobby area of the hotel. Overall, we had fun, the staff was quite nice and very attentive. We had a large group (50 people) for a wedding and everyone seemed to be relatively happy. I just wished we got a more modern suite or since we got the larger (older) suites, we could have had a party. The older suites are not necessarily very spectacular (a 3 star back home) and the jacuzzi in the sky suite was mainly inoperable, just a heads up if you were going to pay extra for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Family Friendly All Inclusive

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and friendly service were top-notch. Food quality and service at breakfast and lunch were also perfect.
Cons: The dinners were OK. Food quality was fair and service was hit-or-miss.
Location: We did not leave the resort. Our stay was six nights, but if it were longer, we probably would have ventured out.
Really enjoyed the resort. We loved the pool at the beach and spent the most time there. But we also enjoyed the beach itself and some of the quieter pools nestled among the villas. Lots of different vibes to choose from to spend your days in the sun and water. A few things that really stood out: the service in the breakfast buffet was fantastic every morning; the women who worked in the kids club were wonderful - so friendly and cheerful and kind; the quality of food at breakfast and lunch was excellent; the lunch options on the beach (tacos, burgers, and the beach club with ceviche bar) were perfect. The fire show was wonderful entertainment!