Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to town

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Close to town and reasonably priced. Hotel staff was accomadating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA, USA

Old hotel & try hard to be clean

Posted May 2, 2017
Just for a nite to stay, 2 walkable blocks closed to party street - avenida 5, PDC
4 out of 5
by Chris

Great Value and Location

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel location is close to Fifth Avenue and about three blocks from the beach. The staff is friendly and I plan to return next year.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edm.

Ready for the Wrecking ball.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: location reasonable
Cons: where do I start?
Location: one block from the local shopping zoo. Four to the beach.
Fixing broken stuff is not "remodelling". 3 days and a can of raid to get the 3" centipedes, ants and cockroaches under control. Roof terrace has broken and missing wood railings. Only reason to go up there is to get away from the smell of sewage that permetes throughout the bldg. every couple days. So called kitchenettes have no microwave, toaster, coffee pot/kettle, table or chairs to sit and eat. Just go find the rubbiest hotel in your home town. Wanna spend your hollidays there? Great, go back home and book the Caracol. Expect zero help from Expedia after arrival.
4 out of 5
by Laura

Cozy

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
Nice little hotel a bit older but in good shape. It was close to all major attractions yet still far enough away from late night clubs or bars to sleep soundly. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Restaurant has great breakfast for a good price. Overall for the price I paid I would recommend it to people on a bit of a budget.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

The location is excellent!!

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Great location! Close to everything. Beaches, clubs, 5th street, convenience store, Vegan restaurant around the corner,great sushi next door and the restaurant below the hotel is decent too! The room itself is just a room. The Ac worked fine, also had a ceiling fan and fridge! No hangars and crappy hair dryer but we made due. Staff is friendly but wished they spoke a little more English. Overall if on a budget it's worth staying. If you have a little more money to spend look elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mcallen, TX

Nice hotel, close to everything!

Posted Jan 3, 2017
The hotel is located on 10 Avenue, just a block from 5th Avenue, a very short walk to all the shops and restaurants!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mcallen, TX

The friendly staff was very helpful,

Posted Jan 3, 2017
The staff was very helpful, they would provide with the right information on where to go eat, what to do and see!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mcallen Tx

Hotel very close to everything

Posted Jan 3, 2017
5th Ave was a short walk from the hotel. The hotel is very clean and the friendly staff is always willing to help you with any issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver, co

good hotel close to beach and mamasita's,

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: willingness of management to accomodate my request for a different room
Cons: It rained pretty hard one night and the hotel was having water in the building, was told they were working to improve that issue
Location: It is a 10 minute walk to mamasita's beach club and close to the beach although it is a 20 minute walk to bus station and ferry
I had asked for a quiet room and when i was given a room on the street side, Gabby the manager was very helpful and arranged for me to get a quiet room on the upper floor despite hotel being fully booked so i was very happy that they were able to accomodate me in that regard, generally a decent hotel at a fair price in a decent location.