Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great time at El Dorado Casitas Royale

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The hotel was super clean and that's already a great start.. We found the staff to be very helpful, we were able to get our room earlier than check-in time which was great.. Our personal concierge Carolina was really helpful with all of our needs. At the private check in counter for casitas, Carlos was very welcoming, we felt that we bothered him so much during our stay, in terms of asking for a late check out time and our luggage transportation..We also enjoyed a spa treatment and we were so happy and relaxed, thanks to Rafaela and Carmen. But our stay was made even better by our personal bartenders in our bar area, they kept our glasses filled with whisky and allowed us to play our own music and their attention was beyond the needs of a bar, they got us anything we needed, whether ice cream, snacks, games, snorkeling gear, in all they treated us with so much attention that we felt as though we were the only guests, Thank you Juan and Cesar...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas tx

Truly a gourmet inclusive

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The food, beverage and staff are all top notch. My wife and I have now been here two years in a row and are planning next years trip already!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Its just okay...

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Good: Pool bartenders Quiteness of casita area vs hotel Shower and outdoor shower Beach butler Outdoor bar on casita end of resort. Overall the staff is what makes this place. The spa and staff there is wonderful. Distance from airport and location are perfect. Maybe 2 restaurants good enough to visit twice. Food was fine. Nothing spectacular. Golf carts to shuttle guests around property. Resort is huge and it is a pretty long walk to each area. Lots of fun and friendly guests! Bad: Do not go here if you want to swim in a pretty ocean. Sandbags and concrete pillars in water along beach. It's an old resort with few updates in casitas. Our in-room jacuzzi was old and just kinda yuck looking. Our balcony furniture was old and tired. Small bugs on floor, lizard on ceiling. Not a big deal to me, just felt I should mention. All of the outdoor pools are dated. The back pathway and part of casitas area smell occasionally like sewer gas. (Not a good 6am wakeup call). Lots of singles/wedding parties, less couple oriented than other resorts we have visited. Our concierge was focused more on selling the vacation club vs service. Housekeeping was okay at best. Dishes outside door for at least 12 hours. Cat refuge on property. (Strange, but whatever.)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Guest, Hotel Management
Thank you for the time taken to provide us ypur review. Please know all your comments are very importnat and help us to improve the areas nedeed. We are looking forward to host you in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Best Honeymoon Destination!

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Location: We recommend Chichen Itza and the Cenote for excursions!
The hotel was gorgeous and very well maintained. We were greeted with glasses of champagne and shown to a very spacious casita suite. There was great housekeeping daily with cleaning and turn-down services. We were able to choose our pillows. The views of the ocean were breathtaking. The food was high quality and the drinks were delicious. The portion sizes were not overly large, so you could try more than one item at every meal easily. The staff, including concierges, room service, restaurant, bartenders, and everyone else, was amazing! Everyone was super friendly and made you feel important. The pools were warm, but still very nice. The nightly entertainment was awesome!! We made reservations for each night when we got there even though there were only 2 restaurants that required it. This was super helpful as many of the restaurants had waits up to an hour nightly for those that did not have reservations. Cocotal had the best breakfast buffet and the 24 hour room service was fantastic. We had some issues with our phones and TV, and they came quickly and replaced both brand new. The only issue was the shuttle service...sometimes we had to wait a LONG time for a shuttle, so it's important to be ready to walk everywhere and also to leave early for any kind of reservations. This was the best vacation ever!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Smith

Beautiful Villas close to the beach

Posted Jul 11, 2017
I had a really great time here. The staff was nice and friendly. The food was delicious. I stayed at el dorado casitas royale. The only complaint I have is the Shuttles need to be more available for customers that are Staying at El Dorado Casitas Royale. The cool thing About the property is There are like 4-5 Different hotels which means more Amenities And it's awesome to Go but a ride is needed to get There and sometimes a shuttle in 90 degree weather can take 20 minutes or more. Everything else is Great! The drinks are Amazing! And it's ADULTS ONLY at all the properties !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, AL

Beautiful Setting!!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Wow! We loved our stay at El Dorado. My husband I stayed in the casitas. It was slightly more expensive, but well worth it because of the individual service and privacy the casitas provided. We would not have enjoyed our trip nearly as much without the perks of being in a casita. Just a word of caution, the beach area is not exactly conducive to swimming, but you can certainly relax on the beach. Also, the portions of food in most of the restaurants was very small, so be prepared to order more than one entree. The staff was very friendly and eager to serve you. We would definitely return to El Dorado Casitas in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Food, beach, overall cleanliness
Cons: Consistency of housekeeping. Room service
Location: Na
This is our second trip to El Dorado which says a lot in itself because there are so many places to choose from. El Dorado Casitas Royale do a lot right, but there's a couple of annoyances that make me wonder if I will be back. 1. The room service is incredibly slow. I shouldn't have to wait 45 min for a pot of coffee. If the coffee was good in the room, I would have no issues about making it. They have a Starbucks onsite, but it would be nice if there was Starbucks coffee in the room. I paid a lot and don't feel I should pay for a decent cup of coffee. Come on, this is Gourmet All Inclusive. Why not include the coffee in that. The housekeeping I have to say is the worst only because you never know when they will clean and they don't do the turn down service consistently. The concierge asked when we wanted daily cleaning and turn down. Why ask if you cannot keep the time. We left our room every day from 10:00-3:00 at least and thrn had to wait for them to clean. Just annoying when we requested 10:00. They came one night at 10:00 pm for turn down and we had the do not disturb and they still knockd. These are just annoyances, the resort is lovely, clean, friendly and great food.
5 out of 5
by David

Paradise

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
It was paradise! Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

The casitas area is wonderful and quiet.

Posted May 11, 2017
Stayed in 3118 on first floor with own pool & sun shelf. Easy steps from pool to lazy river which horseshoes around to pool bar -each casitas area has their own, but 3100 has a gourmet lunch area that was great! Food was Much better than I expected for an all inclusive. Limo-golf cart shuttles run constantly to take you anywhere on the resort, but a walk on pathway along beach is nice too. 5 stars all around. Seemed more privacy on second floor pools, but on the first floor you get your own poolside service and easy access to the casitas pool/bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Celebrating 25 year anniversary, it was perfect.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The staff really made it special, they were genuine and friendly and really treated us like family.
Cons: Force people to make a reservation for their first nights dinner when they check in. Families showed up and made a scene when they had to wait.
Location: Circ Du Soleil was 5 minutes away, we had a great dinner and the show was awesome.
Accommodations, Restaurants and Staff were amazing. Spent most days on the beach beds reading with an occasional trip to the pool bar or the luncheonette by the pool. The staff at 32 was really great. The Naaya Spa was great also, still relaxed and it has been a week.