Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Great room close to the beach and pool

Posted Mar 7, 2017
We just stayed in the individual casitas and it was amazing. It was close to the beach and pool. The staff is very friendly and the food is terrific. The only downside is there was no place to swim in the ocean as it has been eroded away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Had a wonderful week.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Beautiful grounds and quiet in our area. Nice restaurants and many options to choose from.
Cons: No complaints. Room service pickup was not very prompt for us (though my daugther next door was removed quickly) so cats enjoyed it overnight once.
Location: Swim up river and nearby beach were great and where we spent most of our time.
We were in a swim up casita for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a very short walk to the ocean and each morning we got up to see the sunrise as we had coffee. Our section was quiet and peaceful. After breakfast at the Cocotal Restaurant we would walk around the resort - nice walk from north to south for distance and beautiful sightseeing. My only concern was the speed of the shuttles zipping around. Felt like we had to be alert as they come up behind us pretty quietly (electric). Drivers are friendly and didn't see anyone get run over! But maybe should slow down some! All the staff is very friendly and service is prompt. Checkout went smoothly and easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Beautiful resort on the beach

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The resort was amazing. The staff truly goes above and beyond. My only 2 complaints would be the beach being unswimmable due to rocks and such and also, there doesn't seem to be enough restaurants to accommodate the guests. We were turned away from a couple restaurants or there was over an hour wait. Other than that, the resort was great, and the staff superb.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornelius NC

Over Rated

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Every activity, every meal expect some sort of problem or delay. Menus are too hard to choose from. At checkin nobody took me to my room, or showed me anything about room. For example: The patio door can't be opened from outside when closed behind you . When walking property toilets are hard to find. Personal concierges are useless , when available !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from syracuse

Paradise

Posted Dec 20, 2016
This was a very last minute trip i booked after a trip to puerto vallarta i had planned got canceled due to flight cancellations... all i can say was that hands down this was the best all inclusive i have been to in Mexico...the service and the food were beyond exceptional...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Do not stay in the Casitas!

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Lovely hotel, nice pools, great waitstaff, good restaurants, Lots of things to do and tons of cabanas. We spent very little money once there.
Cons: SHUTTLE SERVICE, running more shuttles and running them later for people who want to stay out longer.
Location: We never left the resort, so many things to do we didnt feel the need to leave and do any excursions.
We were meeting some friends in Cancun who have stayed in this resort before. I can say it is absolutely one of the nicest resorts I have been in, however, most of our time here was miserable. We upgraded our room to stay in the higher end Casitas. Which by the way, rooms were very nice, lovely view, pool on our balcony (which we never got in) outdoor shower was amazing, large indoor shower, huge romantic tub next to the bed, high ceilings, sitting area inside and out. BUT, we were located in the last building which was a 20-30 minute walk back to the El Dorado royale Jr suites and main pool and entertainment area. We were told there were shuttles, however, everytime we looked for a shuttle they were going the other direction, were full or just didnt come by. Shuttles supposedly ran from morning to 11pm. So every meal we ended up walking 20-30 minutes to breakfast or dinner to arrive there sweaty from the heat and walking and exhusted and with blisters on our feet. Then in the evening, we would have to cut our night short trying to get a shuttle back to the room which never happened. Or if one of us left something back at the room, it wasnt worth it to make the long walk back so we would have to go without it. Our friends stayed in the Jr. suites which were almost as nice and in the middle of everything so they were very happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Second vacation to this resort.

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Our visit overall was excellent. There are many restaurants to choose from and the staff are very friendly. The resort is well maintained. We only had a complaint about our beach butler which was pretty much never around and the shuttle service was par at best. This is surprising because we didn't have these issues on our first visit. I would recommend considering the weather as this is the rainy season for the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Cons: The room service menu was very limited.
We stayed on the Casitas side which was all adults. Very quiet, not busy, and easy access to everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suburban Philadelphia, PA

Exceptional resort....beyond all expectations!

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Beautiful facilities and grounds right on the beach front. We stayed in the Casitas area and loved the private pool and bar, plus the proximity to the beach. The food was all gourmet and delicious .... Attention to detail was amazing! Staff went above and beyond....very friendly and helpful. Rooms were large, comfortable, and well equipped. Gorgeous resort!