Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

This one... a GEM, unlike any other!!

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: What we enjoyed the most were beachfront suites with indoor/outdoor showers and jacuzzi and pool. Well thought out.
Cons: Resort: improve shuttle service, extend hours of operation, increase pick-up frequency, add more shuttles. Expedia:Fully explain resort credit in adva
Location: Centrally located to Mayan ruins, Play del Carmen, Cancun, Coba, and Cozumel is not far.
Overall, our experience at Casitas was magical! This was money well spent for our 15th wedding anniversary. In the past, we have stayed at other resorts, condos, luxury hotels, but none are quite like this gem. We've had our share of terrible vacation experiences, so when it comes to accommodations, its not negotiable. After reading excellent reviews, we thought this could be the one. It truly was! The property was immaculate all around! We didn't have to compromise on anything. Our room was incredibly clean, fresh with ocean/ sunrise view, private jacuzzi, indoor/outdoor shower, private pool, could hear/see the waves crashing from our balcony! OMG!! Staff... extremely friendly. Food...delicioso. You must try their street tacos located at the Lounge. These are true TACOS! Location... central. However, there is so much to do on the premises, you may not want to venture off. In terms of constructive criticism, they should improve their shuttle service which transports guests throughout the resort and stops at 8pm unless you request in advance. There were times when we waited as long as 20 minutes for a shuttle or because our room was located towards the east end, walking 20 minutes to get to/from our room. But I'll take the walk on the beach anytime. All the couples we met commented that when they visit the area, they stay at Casitas. We cant' wait for our next stay! Muchas gracias Casistas, for making this such a special and memorable experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cortlandt Manor

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Our stay at El Dorado Casitas was absolutely beautiful. We spent 7 nights in paradise thanks to all the attentive staff at Casitas 30 who made our stay incredibly comfortable. We were grateful to have Alejandro at concierge, Cesar and the bartender. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great time at El Dorado Casitas Royale

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The hotel was super clean and that's already a great start.. We found the staff to be very helpful, we were able to get our room earlier than check-in time which was great.. Our personal concierge Carolina was really helpful with all of our needs. At the private check in counter for casitas, Carlos was very welcoming, we felt that we bothered him so much during our stay, in terms of asking for a late check out time and our luggage transportation..We also enjoyed a spa treatment and we were so happy and relaxed, thanks to Rafaela and Carmen. But our stay was made even better by our personal bartenders in our bar area, they kept our glasses filled with whisky and allowed us to play our own music and their attention was beyond the needs of a bar, they got us anything we needed, whether ice cream, snacks, games, snorkeling gear, in all they treated us with so much attention that we felt as though we were the only guests, Thank you Juan and Cesar...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas tx

Truly a gourmet inclusive

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The food, beverage and staff are all top notch. My wife and I have now been here two years in a row and are planning next years trip already!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Attention to details missing

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Cons: Attention to details.
Celebrated our 32nd Anniversary at El Dorado Casita Royale. We had a good time. The staff was very friendly. Our stay was missing the attention to details that we experienced at the Excellence Riviera Maya the year before. Layout of Grounds: Just want to let you know their is a lot of walking involved. We stayed in room 2902 and it was 0.7 miles to Cocotal where we ate breakfast. I also noticed that there was not much color to the grounds. There was a lot of greenery but not many flowers. The general appearance of the lawn was OK compared to other resorts we have visited in the past. Room: We had a swim up suite. The pool was just outside our door which was great. We were not impressed with the size of the room. There were also quite a few ants. It was just not up to par to what we were expecting. We also had to call the front desk for them to stock the refrigerator and toilet paper. Overall we had a great time but were expecting much more. There are much better options available based on our experience. This was our 5th time to an all-inclusive resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Guest, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words detailing your recent experience, please apologize any bad reflection cause, with hope you will provide us a new opportunity in the future to surpass last expectations
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Its just okay...

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Good: Pool bartenders Quiteness of casita area vs hotel Shower and outdoor shower Beach butler Outdoor bar on casita end of resort. Overall the staff is what makes this place. The spa and staff there is wonderful. Distance from airport and location are perfect. Maybe 2 restaurants good enough to visit twice. Food was fine. Nothing spectacular. Golf carts to shuttle guests around property. Resort is huge and it is a pretty long walk to each area. Lots of fun and friendly guests! Bad: Do not go here if you want to swim in a pretty ocean. Sandbags and concrete pillars in water along beach. It's an old resort with few updates in casitas. Our in-room jacuzzi was old and just kinda yuck looking. Our balcony furniture was old and tired. Small bugs on floor, lizard on ceiling. Not a big deal to me, just felt I should mention. All of the outdoor pools are dated. The back pathway and part of casitas area smell occasionally like sewer gas. (Not a good 6am wakeup call). Lots of singles/wedding parties, less couple oriented than other resorts we have visited. Our concierge was focused more on selling the vacation club vs service. Housekeeping was okay at best. Dishes outside door for at least 12 hours. Cat refuge on property. (Strange, but whatever.)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Guest, Hotel Management
Thank you for the time taken to provide us ypur review. Please know all your comments are very importnat and help us to improve the areas nedeed. We are looking forward to host you in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Best Honeymoon Destination!

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Location: We recommend Chichen Itza and the Cenote for excursions!
The hotel was gorgeous and very well maintained. We were greeted with glasses of champagne and shown to a very spacious casita suite. There was great housekeeping daily with cleaning and turn-down services. We were able to choose our pillows. The views of the ocean were breathtaking. The food was high quality and the drinks were delicious. The portion sizes were not overly large, so you could try more than one item at every meal easily. The staff, including concierges, room service, restaurant, bartenders, and everyone else, was amazing! Everyone was super friendly and made you feel important. The pools were warm, but still very nice. The nightly entertainment was awesome!! We made reservations for each night when we got there even though there were only 2 restaurants that required it. This was super helpful as many of the restaurants had waits up to an hour nightly for those that did not have reservations. Cocotal had the best breakfast buffet and the 24 hour room service was fantastic. We had some issues with our phones and TV, and they came quickly and replaced both brand new. The only issue was the shuttle service...sometimes we had to wait a LONG time for a shuttle, so it's important to be ready to walk everywhere and also to leave early for any kind of reservations. This was the best vacation ever!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Smith

Beautiful Villas close to the beach

Posted Jul 11, 2017
I had a really great time here. The staff was nice and friendly. The food was delicious. I stayed at el dorado casitas royale. The only complaint I have is the Shuttles need to be more available for customers that are Staying at El Dorado Casitas Royale. The cool thing About the property is There are like 4-5 Different hotels which means more Amenities And it's awesome to Go but a ride is needed to get There and sometimes a shuttle in 90 degree weather can take 20 minutes or more. Everything else is Great! The drinks are Amazing! And it's ADULTS ONLY at all the properties !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, AL

Beautiful Setting!!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Wow! We loved our stay at El Dorado. My husband I stayed in the casitas. It was slightly more expensive, but well worth it because of the individual service and privacy the casitas provided. We would not have enjoyed our trip nearly as much without the perks of being in a casita. Just a word of caution, the beach area is not exactly conducive to swimming, but you can certainly relax on the beach. Also, the portions of food in most of the restaurants was very small, so be prepared to order more than one entree. The staff was very friendly and eager to serve you. We would definitely return to El Dorado Casitas in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Food, beach, overall cleanliness
Cons: Consistency of housekeeping. Room service
Location: Na
This is our second trip to El Dorado which says a lot in itself because there are so many places to choose from. El Dorado Casitas Royale do a lot right, but there's a couple of annoyances that make me wonder if I will be back. 1. The room service is incredibly slow. I shouldn't have to wait 45 min for a pot of coffee. If the coffee was good in the room, I would have no issues about making it. They have a Starbucks onsite, but it would be nice if there was Starbucks coffee in the room. I paid a lot and don't feel I should pay for a decent cup of coffee. Come on, this is Gourmet All Inclusive. Why not include the coffee in that. The housekeeping I have to say is the worst only because you never know when they will clean and they don't do the turn down service consistently. The concierge asked when we wanted daily cleaning and turn down. Why ask if you cannot keep the time. We left our room every day from 10:00-3:00 at least and thrn had to wait for them to clean. Just annoying when we requested 10:00. They came one night at 10:00 pm for turn down and we had the do not disturb and they still knockd. These are just annoyances, the resort is lovely, clean, friendly and great food.