Ratings based on 473 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Excellent resort, service and amenities!

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Excellent resort!! The service was wonderful and always friendly. The food was amazing! The resort grounds had a lot to offer, and was very well maintained. I would recommend this resort over and over again. To say the least, we will be staying at this resort every time we are in Mexico.
5 out of 5
by Jehan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Rajita

Disputing hotel charges for stay

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
The stay was okay but the El Dorado messed up our resveration and were unable to confirm our payment with Expedia/Hotels.com and charged us $5148.00 more for the stay. There seems to have been a site error on hotels.com which was fixed but the hotel did not accept that and charged he extra amount on top of the full payment we made to Hotels.com. We will be posting this on other sites as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LOS ANGELES, United States of America

Everything was amazing!

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Explor and Excaret was awesome!
Do as much activities as you can. The satff are wonderful. Please be generous and tip the staff they deserve it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Amazing lush vacation

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: The location is perfect, however, we didn't want to leave our resort!
El Dorado s a beautiful place with gorgeous grounds. The staff is very friendly and rooms are very nice. We so enjoyed our visit, ready to book a return trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great place for a wedding

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Environmental consciousness.
Cons: Seating and serving in restaurants needs to be faster
Service in bars and restaurants kind of slow, but it was a beautiful place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Riviera Maya at its best

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Unbelievable staff, facilities and food. Attention to every detail to make stay amazing. Look for Clemente at one of the bars. He was excellente!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Excellent, beautiful grounds, friendly staff

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Celebrating Anniversary. Wonderful, rejuvenating trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing, organized, and beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
We absolutely loved our stay here! All of the staff were so friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful time. The food was delicious at all the restaurants. There were plenty of activities to do all the time, and many of which were free of charge. Also easy access to pools and beach. The only thing we would have preferred was that there be a few more casual dining restaurants during the day, or a poolside snack bar because all restaurants required clothing and shoes. We were constantly in bathing suits and if we wanted a quick snack there wasn't really an option for that. Overall wonderful experience though and would definitely return!
5 out of 5
by edna laura from San Antonio, TX

Family Vacation

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Our third time there. That alone should tell you how great it is. The landscaping is amazing and just beautiful. They take such good care of and with passion. Everyone is friendly. Nightly entertainment is great. It last til 2am. I think. Anyway would be better if shut down earlier, even if you go to bed at midnight, you can still hear the music, so that's not good if that bothers you. We were very close to Jojos, mentioned that so when you book, maybe you would want to stay further away from the nightly entertainment. Bit of a wait to get a drink at the bar at Jojos, bartenders were a little too laid back at times. Overall is a great place to stay. Our children joined my husband and I this time, and they too were very impressed and we can't wait to go back again!