Ratings based on 474 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Excellent food, accomindations and hospitality

Posted Jul 27, 2017
This was our first time at this hotel and it was such an amazing experience. Food was excellent with a lot of choices. Definitely do the Cocotal buffet breakfast. Staff is so friendly. Pools are beautiful and clean. The hotel provides a lot of beach beds so you never have to worry about not getting one. Staff is always around to help or get you something. We booked the casitas and it was well worth the money. Close to ocean, each section has its own pool and bar. Just loved this vacation. Will definitely be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
Great time.... went for wedding. Everyone was so nice and helpful. Would recommend
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Beautiful resort. Swim up rooms fantastic

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Breathtakingly beautiful and the ocean vies swim up room
Cons: Definitely need a casual snack bar choice during the day while swimming. Just want a quick bite without the menu and waiter option. Dinner ok.
Location: Already did all of the tours and things to do. Our 5th trip to Riviera Maya. We were here specifically for wedding and being with our friends
This resort is awesome for couples but can be frustrating for groups. Went for a wedding with a group and our rooms could not be put together and we were very far away from each other diminishing our destination wedding experience. Restaurant reservation for groups also very difficult. If you are looking for quiet and tranquil this place is for you. Lots of rules. Dress codes for every meal was difficult to comply especially when spending time in bathing suits. Why was there no choice of a snack bar for a quick bite in flip flops and swim suits. Gourmet food just ok. We did a lot of room service. Wish there was some type of entertainment at night and the bars were sparse especially when trying to spend time with our group. No tables and chairs in the bars for comfort to encourage congregating. Have to stand holding your drink. Did get a lot of bug bites. On a positive note, the place is breathtakingly beautiful. Top shelf drinks and wonderful service. We loved our ocean view swim up room and the cabanas even though had to get up at 6:30 a.m.to reserve otherwise no chairs available at the pool. Another challenge for our group.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Went on vacation and it was perfect. The food was delicious and the staff were so friendly. Even with 2 days of rain (which is unusual for this time of year) we had a blast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel! Highly recommend it.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff was extraordinarily friendly. Food and drink variety was an added bonus. Daily and nightly activities were always captivating
Cons: A/C in our room did not work well and rooms felt a bit muggy.
Location: No need to leave the resort. Plenty of enjoyable activities throughout the day/night.
We had a fabulous experience. The resort was very nice and the staff was super friendly. The number and quality of restaurants and drink options were much better than your typical all-inclusive resort. Great option for an adult-only resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice tropical resort with good entertainment onsit

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Cons: Keep water, hot coffee filled/topped off. Beach butler should come around more often then once an hour. Need more pool butlers on busy days.
We stayed at the El Dorado Royale. 4000 series buildings. Tried basic room. Pros/Cons listed are of basic amenities. They don't include potential affects that wedding parties (85 people+) that can/did occur and take over entire pool area nor the fact water quit working in our building so wife sat in shower with soap on for a while until it was restored. Those things can happen at other resorts so won't relate to that as a pro/con of this resort. PROS: Lush tropical view and ground kept up well. Friendly staff Food is good JoJo's drinks were the best. Volleyball (pool/beach) were fun Good room service and food CONS: Very bad/beach, no swimable ocean area, too rocky or weedy. If your use to the Cancun hotel strip beach and want the same or even somewhat close, don't come here. 4300 building/room balcony view is sub par. See very little out balcony, as extend part of building and another building hid almost any view, received little to no sun on balcony. Cant simply stroll and relax walking to/from areas, always have to watch your back for buggies (super long golf carts) are everywhere Restaurant service was ok. Most times left with empty water glasses (all places), cold coffee (breakfast time) as they came around rarely to refill, seemed understaffed. Waiting for food service was a bit long. Folks can lay beach towels on chairs (beach or pool)at 6am securing chairs no one uses most of day preventing others from using them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Orbitz
Nice place overall but seemed to be understaffed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Paradise

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/A..well Ok I did not like the food at the Infusion restaurant.
Location: Parasailing, swim with the dolphins
Everything I expected and more! What more can I say???
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good all inclusive

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Food very good. Staff great. Beach is okay but the man made water breakers are an eyesore. Martini bar is awesome. Fuentes is a must (culinary theater). Hammocks on your balcony a nice touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

Relaxation in the highest form

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Lots to choose from the food styles in different restaurants, as well a lot things to do. All the staff were all amazingly friendly and helpful.
Cons: some sort of "warning" bell for the carts that use the same ways as peds
Location: Resort location provides so much to do we didn't leave the location to go nearby.
A resort to relax or have lots of fun doing lots of "stuff". Whatever you need you have it here. Everything is taken care of. We like children but when we need a relaxing vacation we prefer not to be around children and this resort is made for "adults only" - we will be returning there time and time again.