Ratings based on 466 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel! Highly recommend it.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff was extraordinarily friendly. Food and drink variety was an added bonus. Daily and nightly activities were always captivating
Cons: A/C in our room did not work well and rooms felt a bit muggy.
Location: No need to leave the resort. Plenty of enjoyable activities throughout the day/night.
We had a fabulous experience. The resort was very nice and the staff was super friendly. The number and quality of restaurants and drink options were much better than your typical all-inclusive resort. Great option for an adult-only resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice tropical resort with good entertainment onsit

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Cons: Keep water, hot coffee filled/topped off. Beach butler should come around more often then once an hour. Need more pool butlers on busy days.
We stayed at the El Dorado Royale. 4000 series buildings. Tried basic room. Pros/Cons listed are of basic amenities. They don't include potential affects that wedding parties (85 people+) that can/did occur and take over entire pool area nor the fact water quit working in our building so wife sat in shower with soap on for a while until it was restored. Those things can happen at other resorts so won't relate to that as a pro/con of this resort. PROS: Lush tropical view and ground kept up well. Friendly staff Food is good JoJo's drinks were the best. Volleyball (pool/beach) were fun Good room service and food CONS: Very bad/beach, no swimable ocean area, too rocky or weedy. If your use to the Cancun hotel strip beach and want the same or even somewhat close, don't come here. 4300 building/room balcony view is sub par. See very little out balcony, as extend part of building and another building hid almost any view, received little to no sun on balcony. Cant simply stroll and relax walking to/from areas, always have to watch your back for buggies (super long golf carts) are everywhere Restaurant service was ok. Most times left with empty water glasses (all places), cold coffee (breakfast time) as they came around rarely to refill, seemed understaffed. Waiting for food service was a bit long. Folks can lay beach towels on chairs (beach or pool)at 6am securing chairs no one uses most of day preventing others from using them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Paradise

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/A..well Ok I did not like the food at the Infusion restaurant.
Location: Parasailing, swim with the dolphins
Everything I expected and more! What more can I say???
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good all inclusive

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Food very good. Staff great. Beach is okay but the man made water breakers are an eyesore. Martini bar is awesome. Fuentes is a must (culinary theater). Hammocks on your balcony a nice touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

Relaxation in the highest form

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Lots to choose from the food styles in different restaurants, as well a lot things to do. All the staff were all amazingly friendly and helpful.
Cons: some sort of "warning" bell for the carts that use the same ways as peds
Location: Resort location provides so much to do we didn't leave the location to go nearby.
A resort to relax or have lots of fun doing lots of "stuff". Whatever you need you have it here. Everything is taken care of. We like children but when we need a relaxing vacation we prefer not to be around children and this resort is made for "adults only" - we will be returning there time and time again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Excellent resort, service and amenities!

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Excellent resort!! The service was wonderful and always friendly. The food was amazing! The resort grounds had a lot to offer, and was very well maintained. I would recommend this resort over and over again. To say the least, we will be staying at this resort every time we are in Mexico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LOS ANGELES, United States of America

Everything was amazing!

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Explor and Excaret was awesome!
Do as much activities as you can. The satff are wonderful. Please be generous and tip the staff they deserve it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Amazing lush vacation

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: The location is perfect, however, we didn't want to leave our resort!
El Dorado s a beautiful place with gorgeous grounds. The staff is very friendly and rooms are very nice. We so enjoyed our visit, ready to book a return trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great place for a wedding

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Environmental consciousness.
Cons: Seating and serving in restaurants needs to be faster
Service in bars and restaurants kind of slow, but it was a beautiful place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Riviera Maya at its best

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Unbelievable staff, facilities and food. Attention to every detail to make stay amazing. Look for Clemente at one of the bars. He was excellente!